We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Island Playa Blanca”
Review of HL Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HL Paradise Island
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned from a very enjoyable week at the Paradise island and must say I'm surprised at some of the negative reviews I had read before our visit. It probably isn't 4star but is a very good 3star rating. Check in was very smooth and we requested our 3 rooms to be together and this was quickly sorted for us. Rooms were very nice and right by the water park which is a quieter part of the hotel so this suited us fine. Small issue with air con leaking mid holiday but this was quickly rectified. Pool area was excellent, usual selfish types who get up mega early to reserve beds but never had any problem getting some. Beer soft drinks and coffees on self service and rarely any queue. Kids loved the water park and beds always available here. Food in the main restaurant was adequate always found something nice to eat, the Chinese restaurant was very enjoyable but the Italian on the night we visited was not up to much. Daytime entertainment was good our kids spent quite a lot of time at the miniclub doing various things with the dedicated staff. Evening entertainment a bit less so with a bit of bingo overload going on,kids disco from 20.00 to 20.45 was great and they loved it but could do with a few visiting acts like a magician or similar to follow this. On two occasions out of the seven this did happen once a band who were good but the other was a hideous wild bird show which was not entertainment at all more of a money making racket by the guy doing it at the expense of the unfortunate birds, the kids can have photos taken only if they bring their parents with them he sneered really meaning their wallets. 10 Euros each please don't buy them. I'm no expert but I'm sure they don't enjoy a camera flash in their eyes every 15 seconds. Hotel offers a free bus to Playa Blanca and return at regular intervals and is a "must do" in my opinion the beach is stunning and some very pleasant chilled out bars to visit, bus sometimes a bit busy but only 4 Euros in a taxi anyway. So to sum up we really enjoyed our stay here and our kids are already asking if we can return next year and we may well do. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Dave817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Dave817,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

It is a pleasure to learn that our hotel has to met your expectations. We are glad that we were able to fulfil your room request and that you enjoyed the quiet apartments.

We are very happy to learn that your children enjoyed our water park and the daytime animation. We noted your remarks regarding our evening entertainment and will discuss this right away with the respective departments.

Once again we wish to thank you for your helpful feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,288 - 1,294 of 3,171 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Having returned from the paradise we were surprised at the negative comments before we went, 15 of us stayed at this hotel, ok its not a 4star it is a good 3.
We were greeted on arrival with a cocktail, the check in was fast, our room was in the 200's which was right next to the main pool. My kids loved the pool area especially Dino water park, what amazing few days we spent down there.
The food we thought was plentiful, Chinese was an added bonus. The Italian too!!
The entertainment staff are very good with the kids, all ours were on the stage every night in the mini disco. Once that finished 20:30 the kids are a bit lost on things to do as they start the bingo & adults entertainment....
But the music & stuff going on do keep them amused!

The staff at the hotel work extremely hard to keep this hotel clean considering the size of the place it's huge!!
We did a few excursions , the volcano bus ride is a must!!
The beach is about 25-30 walk or A free bus takes you from the hotel for a10 min ride away to the crystal clear waters on the sandy beach. Beach was stunning!
All in all we were worried about coming to this hotel because of the reviews before we left, if you enjoy family time, good food, great company clean & bright hotel with lots to do, trust me you won't be disappointed!
All 15 of us enjoyed playa blanca as a whole. Will be back one day thanks paradise!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WelshJenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear WelshJenks,

On behalf of the entire HL Paradise Island team, we would like to thank you for your kind review.

We are very happy to read that everything lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed the good food, the water park and our attentive service.

Thank you also for recognizing our efforts to keep all areas spotlessly clean, this is a great motivation for us!

Once again, we would like to thank you for recommending us and we are looking forward to welcoming again in the near future.

Sincerely,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel was not what we expected and we were disappointed in many areas. I went with Thomas cook who told me this was a 4* hotel only to find it is a 3* . Upon arrival our room had a disgusting smell and the water was not working amongst other things. After complaining we were offered an alternative room which was at least brighter and smell free. The food was repetitive and often undercooked. The entertainment during the day and in the evening was targeted towards children 7 or younger, except for the one night when the Thomas cook team had a night off and the hotel provided the entertainment. The waterpark was the best part of the holiday. Overall I found it deceptive that Thomas cook should advertise this as a 4* hotel when it is probably more of a 2*-3*.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank savitha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear savitha k,

First of all we wish to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays. Thank you for mentioning the good work of our entertainment team and our amazing water park.

We regret that we were not able to meet your expectations regarding the equipment of our rooms, the dining experience and the entertainment.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival regarding any requests, wishes or doubts.

Thank you once more for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our HL Paradise Island. We regret not having been able to achieve our main objective with you, which is our guests´ satisfaction and we hope that you give us a chance to prove that we can do it much better.

Kindest regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We are at the hotel now and have been here for 4 days our experience has been nothing less than fantastic. The staff are all so helpful and friendly and the food is amazing! We are in a party of 13 with children age 6, 8, 10 and 12 and they are all having a great time in the aqua park and the swimming pools. Everywhere is clean and tidy and we have a sea view to die for. I would recommend this hotel to our friends and family as brilliant value for money.
The Darby family.

Room Tip: Any room beginning 100 is amazing but all good sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Darby Family,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review!

We are very happy to learn that you are having a fantastic time here with us. It is a great pleasure to read your kind words, and rest assured that we will share your feedback with the entire team!

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

First of all, any negative comments do not reflect the attitude and helpfulness of any of the hotel staff. They were all excellent and friendly and we can't speak highly enough of them!

Serial sun lounger reservers! Note to hotel - having a policy but never enforcing it means there is NO POLICY! I know of myself and others that will now read reviews on how this is managed to help decide our next holiday location!

Restaurant choice. There is too much deep fried food and not enough healthier options (other than basic salad). Balance the fried options with more boiled or grilled options. The pool bar menu only serves to increase the heart attack risk if you ate there every day!

Rooms. Dated and in need of refurb. Was helped though that the maid did clean regularly. The days the rooms are not cleaned are advertised so you can't complain. Also, if you help the maids, they help you, so moving your personal stuff out of the way means they will clean more of the room! Air con remote is only 10E deposit, so as long as you don't break it you get this back!

The pool, restaurant and bar cleaners do a fantastic job, despite the number of families that think all inclusive means they can get drunk or sunburnt whilst not monitoring their kids awful behaviour and disrespect. You can't mention it to the parents as they are as feral as the kids judging by the responses!

The watermark is great fun, if not a little bumpy for some! It is in need of a pool area within the park though as you couldn't spend all day up and down slides!
Note, be careful in the park as some areas are treacherously slippery when wet!

Thomas cook rep was helpful and informative, more than previous experiences with first choice reps! Maybe a little more information/honesty on the content of some of the excursions would be nice e.g. Rancho Texas comes with lunch, but you don't find out this lunch is either a burger or a salad! Knowing this beforehand may have led to us taking lunch or planning differently! On another note though, the Atlantic adventure is exactly as described and great fun and recommended! Hotel entertainment were more approachable though!

Thomas Cook daytime entertainment suffered from the usual favoritism that these reps seem to have at most resorts I have seen, if you are not in their click they are not interested! Even heard one of them being quite rude behind one the guests back, straight after being nice to their face!

Kid Club, cant fault them. Very friendly and approachable. My daughter always wanted to attend so that says enough for me! Also, they clearly take their jobs very seriously when taking responsibility for your child so that was good to see.

All in all, there wasn't that much that went wrong. The disappointments in the food and entertainment we made up with trips out and walks, taxis or buses to the local beach.
I guess our real dissapointment is that we expected a 4* hotel at a 4* price, but didn't really meet these expectations. Would we return? If they dropped the prices, or addressed the comments I mentioned here - then yes, otherwise, we have been to better hotels in Playa Blanca (Rubicon Palace, Lanzazur)

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a high end number e.g. 168 or 668 as these are on the outskirts and will kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Jack_Sparrow1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I paid £3500 for 2 adults and 2 children for all inclusive. The hotel is ok but the evening entertainment was poor, food was ok and lifeguard not very attentive.
The rooms are a nice size if a little tired. I think the sheets were only changed once, maybe twice in two weeks. Towels are changed whenever they are placed in the bath or on the floor in the bathroom. I asked for an upstairs room which I got. I don't think the floor in the room was mopped.
The area is kept clean and the staff work tirelessly to keep it clean and serve you drinks.
As always it is difficult to get a sun bed in the morning as the usual selfish people keep them all day and don't sit on them. However you can always get a sun bed in the dino park which the kids absolutely loved.
The restaurant is clean and food is average. There is plenty of selection including some vegetarian. However cheap cuts of meat are used and the restaurant is more like a canteen and is very busy.There is nothing fancy like king prawns or salmon on offer. The chinese is authentic and the Mexican night is a refreshing change. Staff work very hard to keep the tables clean. The jams, Nutella and yoghurts were in large bowls served as slops and not individually packaged. The jams were poor quality and it is unknown how many times the bowl was topped up and cleaned so we avoided them all and bought our own.
We thought the Thomas Cook kids club was better than the hotel run one as the animation staff just left them play in the dino park one day. A big shout to Alan from Thomas Cook kids club. The kids loved him. They were also strict on signing in and out which was good.
The entertainment was non existent some nights. The area is too small and if you don't have dinner at 7 pm you may not get a seat in the small enclosed entertainment area. That leaves you sat outside in the pool bar area and it is cold and windy there. Otherwise there are seats upstairs in the main bar. I don't know what can be done with the small entertainment area but please mix it up and bring in outside entertainers once or twice a week, ie magicians or dancers etc. There is also a 20 ft drop on one side of the entertainment area. A child could easily fall between the wooden beams especially as the entertainers encourage them to stand on chairs. This needs to be rectified.
The speaker was broken for 5 days which meant there was no pool or evening entertainment . The rep blamed the hotel?
The pool is large with areas of invisibility. The lifeguard did not seem to pay much attention and if he was there he was emptying the bins. If you have a non swimming child keep a close eye on them. I believe in peak periods this pool should have two lifeguards so that the other can have a break, empty bins and have lunch.
Oh and there are stray cats. I didn't see them for a week and then one was meowing all night outside my patio doors for some reason.
The hotel is away from everything. The nearest shop is 20 mins away by the nearest beach which is lovely. Playa blanca is a bus ride away on the courtesy bus which runs in the day. In the evening the taxis are only. 4 euros.
Overall the hotel was ok but nothing special. It could do with improving entertainment, life guard, mopping room floors and improving food quality.
Tip: if you want to pay twice as much for the same trip use Thomas Cook. I used last minute.com in playa blanca. They charged 60e for volcano and 24e for the market. Thomas Cook was 130 e and 48e respectively.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank eggheadCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a good time whilst here and thoroughly enjoyed our selves, the pool side entertainment was fun and Jordanne and Lauren were very funny! Although I write from the point of a teenager(14), next time we would definently like to see some entertainment directed more for our age group as there was much on that teenagers could get involved in. The beds were very good! And the AirCon was interesting to use, as you are given a remote mounted to the wall in your room anyway! Although the ones that you can get from reception allow you to control the speed and all the weird functions. The Hotels animation team conflicted with the Thomas cook entertainment team which was a shame as the Thomas cook dudes were so much better! Shout out to Martin - YAH MAN! Jordanne and Lauren were epic! and very funny! The waterpark was a definent win!

Bruce -- James :D

Room Tip: Dont have a room near the stage or pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear James G,

Thank you very much for having chosen our HL Paradise Island and for taking the time to review your recent stay.

We are glad to hear that you spent a great family holiday on and that you particularly appreciated our entertainment team and the Dino Park.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,831 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.4 mi away
Lanzasur Club
Lanzasur Club
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,364 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,309 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Paradise Island

Address: P- 28 Calle Montana Casa, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £98 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HL Paradise Island 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a slightly elevated location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, approx. 1500 mtrs from the beach and approx. 2000 mtrs from the village centre with it’s bars, restaurants and shops. A free bus shuttle service to the Playa Dorada beach is arranged several times a day. The hotel consists of 290 modern apartments (renovated 2015/16) which are allocated in two story apartments. The main building offers a lobby with reception, bar and TV corner. It also offers three restaurants - an international, an Asian and an Italian one. The facilities includes as well a mini market, a pool bar, a gym and a disco. In the well kept gardens you will find 4 swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas (free of charge). Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. The water park “Dino Park”, which is opened daily, is attached to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HL Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paradise Island Hotel Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Lanzarote
Aparthotel Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Playa Blanca
HL Paradise Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing