We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
HL Paradise Island
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Just come back from a week in Paradise. Not sure what people want. But this was a great location for kids. Took four grandchildren aged between 16 to 8. All had a great holiday with plenty to do and good choice of food. Walked into Playa Blanca two nights and looked around the shops. Also walked the volcano adjacent to the hotel. Great views from the top and well worth the half hour climb. Would be very hard to find fault. Rooms were a bit tired but you only go in there to wash change and sleep, so no real hardship. Well worth paying the 10 euros each for pool towels. Saved on weight in cases and trying to dry them each day and you can change them if they get too wet. You get your money back at the end of your hols so doesn't cost you anything really.

Room Tip: We had 505 which was far enough away from entertainment so you could go to bed undisturbed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chocnibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Chocnibbler,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about the HL Paradise Island.

We are very happy to hear that you have spent a fabulous family holiday with us.

It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another fantastic family vacation.

With best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,328 - 1,334 of 3,228 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Ok, let's be honest, it's not the Ritz, but it's hardly Ritz prices is it ? I just spent 10 days there with wife and 2 kids and it's exactly what I expected it to be for the money spent. Yes, the food hall is busy, yes, the entertainment is rep standard ( but fun if you join in ) and yes, the hotel is clearly a few years old. But as an overall package it's absolutely fine.

If I'd spent £8,000 ( which I've done before ) then things would be different but I DIDN'T !!!

The hotel is kept clean ( ish ), the pool is fine for kids and the food is perfectly ok with lots of options every day.

Trip advisor is full of people who want champagne lifestyle on fish and chip money, go to paradise island, make friends , get involved with the reps and have a great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear john g,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at HL Paradise Island and for your review on Tripadvisor!

We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again for this refreshing review, we sincerely hope to have the pleasure again to be your host in the near future!

With our best wishes,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I've just returned from 10 nights at paradise island hotel in playa blanca and let me assure you it's far from paradise !!! The rooms are very basic and not particularly clean , beds were very uncomfortable and very uninviting.

The pool areas and water parks are great for the kids and there is lots to do for them , however there is far from enough sun beds and they are the type that only lie flat . Also there is no one during the day going round picking up all the litter as there is a total lack of bins and as every thing in the pool area is served on paper plates and plastic cups by the end of the day the pool area looks like your local council tip !

You will also never ever see any one drunk as the beer is alcohol free so you can drink all day and night and wake up with a clear head !!!!!!!!!!! the wine is also watered down and the soft drinks are always flat , We ended up purchasing our own beer and wine from the on site shop and you you guessed drinking it out of a small plastic cup !!!!!!!!!

The restaurant had very low standards Food was very repetitive and often cold . Staff were rude and the restaurant manager was also rude and arrogant and far from helpful . Over all eating in the hotel was from from relaxing, in fact it was more like a cattle market ! Too small , very hot and a total lack of food to chose from .... The chef in the Chinese restaurant side had the best job ever !! Cooked a few cold noodles and standing there texting on his phone night after night I could not believe my eyes

The reception staff are also less than helpful and moan about there customers once they have left the front desk ( may be this is just the Spanish way )

This hotel is far from a luxury hotel , it's very basic and not worth it's 4 star rating at all , I really don't think this hotel management will ever learn from there feed back or ever change anything in this hotel as reading back through past comments there are lots of people saying the same time and time again

I didn't actually speak to anyone else in the 10days that really had a good word to say about the place I've now been put off the all-inclusive option in my future holidays after my family's stay at this hotel ..
I will never ever stay at this hotel again and never recommend this hotel either .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Gary B,

Thank you for your feedback.

Thank you for your praising words of the water park and the general facilities.

However we deeply regret to hear about your disappointment in certain aspects.

Please note that we do provide branded beer (Amstel) that is in no way alcohol free. Alcohol free beer can be provided on request.

It is not at all our intention to make our guests feel like they have to get up early in order to occupy sun beds. Therefore it is not permitted to reserve sun beds and our pool staff do control the compliance of this policy, i.e. whenever our pool attendants remove towels from sun beds and place them on a table, our guests are free to occupy those. Our pool staff is also doing their best to keep all the area clean and free from plastic cups.

I am very disappointed and astonished about your comments concerning the restaurant. It is the aim of the entire team to provide a friendly and efficient service and it is much to our regret to learn that you felt differently.

We are truly sorry that your holiday was not everything you have hoped for and we wish to assure you that we will follow up on all your comments.

Thank you again for furnishing us with a feedback, which helps us to improve our services every day.

Best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was our first visit to Paradise Island and will certainly not be our last. We found the staff very helpful and hard working. The pool area was great fun for the children during the day with music and games. The water park is amazing. We were very pleased with our room which was cleaned daily by lovely staff. Everyone in our family enjoyed the food each day with plenty of choice and was always well cooked and very tasty. Thank you to everyone at Paradise Island for a fantastic holiday. We look forward to returning very soon.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank thepowells1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear thepowells1,

Dear Kim,

We truly appreciate your 5* review of your recent stay with us and wish to thank you for your friendly comments.

How lovely to hear that your family enjoyed our variety of culinary offerings as well as the attentive service rendered by our team. We are very glad to have been able to contribute to a fabulous stay!

Again, thank you for this wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Having read some reviews before we left home we were a bit worried about our holiday however we had a really great time. Our children (aged 9 & 11) loved the water park and pool - both very clean - however if you want a sunlounger in the morning by the pool best get up early as people reserve them (even if they aren't using them until after lunch!!!) Good choice of food and staff friendly and helpful. Room clean and had aircon and fridge which was great - rooms cleaned every day except Weds & Sun (per the hotel info). Would definitely recommend this hotel for a family holiday.

Room Tip: our room was good for us being near the pool and water park however was a bit noisy in the evening a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank 592Colin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear 592Colin57,

Thank you very much for having chosen our HL paradise Island and for taking the time to review your recent stay.

We are glad to hear that you spent a great family holiday and that you particularly appreciated our water park, the pools and the attentive services provided by our team.

Our pool staff is always happy to help locate free sunbeds, or remove towels from unused sunbeds. Additionally, we have more sunbeds available in our water park.

Once again, thank you for your friendly and helpful review and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned from a very enjoyable week at the Paradise island and must say I'm surprised at some of the negative reviews I had read before our visit. It probably isn't 4star but is a very good 3star rating. Check in was very smooth and we requested our 3 rooms to be together and this was quickly sorted for us. Rooms were very nice and right by the water park which is a quieter part of the hotel so this suited us fine. Small issue with air con leaking mid holiday but this was quickly rectified. Pool area was excellent, usual selfish types who get up mega early to reserve beds but never had any problem getting some. Beer soft drinks and coffees on self service and rarely any queue. Kids loved the water park and beds always available here. Food in the main restaurant was adequate always found something nice to eat, the Chinese restaurant was very enjoyable but the Italian on the night we visited was not up to much. Daytime entertainment was good our kids spent quite a lot of time at the miniclub doing various things with the dedicated staff. Evening entertainment a bit less so with a bit of bingo overload going on,kids disco from 20.00 to 20.45 was great and they loved it but could do with a few visiting acts like a magician or similar to follow this. On two occasions out of the seven this did happen once a band who were good but the other was a hideous wild bird show which was not entertainment at all more of a money making racket by the guy doing it at the expense of the unfortunate birds, the kids can have photos taken only if they bring their parents with them he sneered really meaning their wallets. 10 Euros each please don't buy them. I'm no expert but I'm sure they don't enjoy a camera flash in their eyes every 15 seconds. Hotel offers a free bus to Playa Blanca and return at regular intervals and is a "must do" in my opinion the beach is stunning and some very pleasant chilled out bars to visit, bus sometimes a bit busy but only 4 Euros in a taxi anyway. So to sum up we really enjoyed our stay here and our kids are already asking if we can return next year and we may well do. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Dave817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Dave817,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

It is a pleasure to learn that our hotel has to met your expectations. We are glad that we were able to fulfil your room request and that you enjoyed the quiet apartments.

We are very happy to learn that your children enjoyed our water park and the daytime animation. We noted your remarks regarding our evening entertainment and will discuss this right away with the respective departments.

Once again we wish to thank you for your helpful feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Having returned from the paradise we were surprised at the negative comments before we went, 15 of us stayed at this hotel, ok its not a 4star it is a good 3.
We were greeted on arrival with a cocktail, the check in was fast, our room was in the 200's which was right next to the main pool. My kids loved the pool area especially Dino water park, what amazing few days we spent down there.
The food we thought was plentiful, Chinese was an added bonus. The Italian too!!
The entertainment staff are very good with the kids, all ours were on the stage every night in the mini disco. Once that finished 20:30 the kids are a bit lost on things to do as they start the bingo & adults entertainment....
But the music & stuff going on do keep them amused!

The staff at the hotel work extremely hard to keep this hotel clean considering the size of the place it's huge!!
We did a few excursions , the volcano bus ride is a must!!
The beach is about 25-30 walk or A free bus takes you from the hotel for a10 min ride away to the crystal clear waters on the sandy beach. Beach was stunning!
All in all we were worried about coming to this hotel because of the reviews before we left, if you enjoy family time, good food, great company clean & bright hotel with lots to do, trust me you won't be disappointed!
All 15 of us enjoyed playa blanca as a whole. Will be back one day thanks paradise!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WelshJenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear WelshJenks,

On behalf of the entire HL Paradise Island team, we would like to thank you for your kind review.

We are very happy to read that everything lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed the good food, the water park and our attentive service.

Thank you also for recognizing our efforts to keep all areas spotlessly clean, this is a great motivation for us!

Once again, we would like to thank you for recommending us and we are looking forward to welcoming again in the near future.

Sincerely,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.5 mi away
HL Club Playa Banca
HL Club Playa Banca
#31 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,753 reviews
1.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lanzasur Club
Lanzasur Club
#23 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,723 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Paradise Island

Address: P- 28 Calle Montana Casa, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £101 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HL Paradise Island 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a slightly elevated location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, approx. 1500 mtrs from the beach and approx. 2000 mtrs from the village centre with it’s bars, restaurants and shops. A free bus shuttle service to the Playa Dorada beach is arranged several times a day. The hotel consists of 290 modern apartments (renovated 2015/16) which are allocated in two story apartments. The main building offers a lobby with reception, bar and TV corner. It also offers three restaurants - an international, an Asian and an Italian one. The facilities includes as well a mini market, a pool bar, a gym and a disco. In the well kept gardens you will find 4 swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas (free of charge). Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. The water park “Dino Park”, which is opened daily, is attached to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HL Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paradise Island Hotel Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Lanzarote
Aparthotel Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Playa Blanca
HL Paradise Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing