We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at the rubicon!”
Review of H10 Rubicon Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
H10 Rubicon Palace
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
bedfordshire, england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at the rubicon!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed early August for two weeks with two children aged 9 & 6. We were very impressed with the hotel generally and are looking to return next year.

The Positives
Immaculately kept hotel. Staff work very hard and are very pleasant!

The food, fantastic choice, never bored or lacked variety. Pleasantly surprised. The main buffet could do with another ice cream station and perhaps the deserts could be expanded but small niggles!

The pools. Amazing selection of pools, we sat round the main one which was salt water and it was very salty, it would be fantastic if it was a normal chlorinated pool.

The rooms. Clean functional and the maids were very efficient! Perhaps more storage ie chest of drawers are needed, actually for a family they are a necessity!

Location

It is a lovely 40 minute stroll to playa blanca harbour or just 4 euros in a taxi. Was really nice not to be in the centre of things for a change.

Negatives

Kids club

My little girl is normally quite sociable but she tried mini club twice and didn't get on there. Not the fault of the lovely ladies who run it but maybe need to slow down a bit when speaking to little English children as they struggle to understand!

Evening entertainment

Now I hope this does get noted by the management. This is my biggest gripe with a hotel of this size! The outside acts brought in were amazing but sadly the animation team although they work incredibly hard weren't upto standard. I really didn't want to write this in but feel if they got the entertainment sorted in the evenings, they have cracked it and made a perfect hotel!!!

We would also like to thank the hotel staff especially Reyes (I think that was what her name was) when my husband was taken into hospital ( not the fault of the hotel) they were great at supporting us as a family and helped us sort out done issues at the hospital. Thank you so much! We hope to return next year!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monkeymagic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear monkeymagic1,

Many thank's for your review on Tripadvisor about the H10 Rubicón Palace.

We are very happy after reading that you had a great time with us and we take note about your suggestions, they help us to improve day by day.

It will be a big pleasure if we can welcome you during your next holiday period.

Best Regards,

Marc Balañá
Subdirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,742
    2,635
    1,007
    335
    211
See reviews for
3,197
3,402
107
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,849)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plaisir, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Rubicon is a very nice place for a 1 or 2 week vacation at the Canaries Islands. I highly recommend it. The staff is really nice, the restaurants are good and the pool area is great! They have several restaurants and 2 huge buffet. There is a theme for each day at the buffets, which is a nice idea!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jujublonde78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Jujublonde78,

Thank you so much for your review and for the recommedation!

We all celebrate that the time spent at the H10 Rubicón Palace has been great and you enjoyed your holiday.

Will be a pleasure to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,

Marc Balañá
Subdirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

As above our sixth visit in 3 years. This time we had two rooms as our children are older. We noticed a few improvements generally in the restaurants where you now have 3 speciality restaurants you can use as opposed to one last year. They have added an Asian and Italian restaurant in addition to the Mediterranean.

Food in main buffet was good as always.

Food in the Asian restaurant was OK but could be improved, the new Italian was and new menu in the Mediterranean was very good.

Staff in the pool side bar deserve a special mention. they work so hard and yet are always friendly.

My wife used the Spa this time and was very impressed at the treatments she received. The hotel grounds are very well kept with beautiful flowers.

The only problem with this place, and it is minor, is the lack of toilets around the main sea water and heated pool. They get very busy in the day and really need improvement.

We again used the Dawn Dives Scuba Centre based in the hotel for our diving, once again it was great!

We look forward to our 7th visit next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are a good size and most have a sea view. Privilege rooms get coffee makers and bath robes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich_Sue_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Rich_Sue_UK,

Many thanks for your nice review and visiting us 6 times in 3 years!

Your opinion is very important for us, because you could personally check all the improvements we have made and the good result of those efforts!

We look forward to see you soon for another great stay!

Best Regards,

Marc Balañá
Subdirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks in August with our two children- aged 11 & 12.
Our room was located near to the main pool and we were never disturbed by noise at all. The room was as it stated in the brochure and was just what we needed although some privacy from our kids would have been nice, maybe a dividing wall or door. But I was told this was a family room. 2 weeks in one room was a little long for my liking.
We hired a car for 3 days and managed to see most of the island, which is so beautiful, we really enjoyed these days out of the complex. 2 weeks would be too long if you don't venture out.
The hotel was pretty clean, tidy and the staff were really friendly, especially in the restaurant which was sometimes so busy.
The food was OK, I can't fault it as there was plenty of choice and it all seemed fresh most of the time, but buffets are not really my thing. Breakfast was probably the best with fresh bread, croissants and pancakes daily. The salads were also really good and plenty to choose from.
There is a very strong breeze constantly and to be honest without it would be unbearably hot. We loved the breeze, but remember to bring pegs to keep ur towel still.talking of towels - very irritating that the guests insist on reserving beds - sometimes too many!! You have no choice but to do the same but it is ridiculous.
The location was awesome as about half hour walk from town so quiet and picturesque. A run a long the promenade was a wonderful way to start the day.
All in all, a fabulous holiday was had by all. Would definitely go back in a few years time.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank cloggy1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear cloggy1401,

Thank you for your nice review! We really appreciate what you said about the H10 Rubicón Palace.

It will be a big pleasure to welcome you very soon for another great stay!


Best Regards,

Marc Balañá
Subdirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a fantastic holiday, the staff were friendly and helpful, the only thing I would comment on was the activities for older children, the football wasn't managed well and when my husband took my 14 yr old son to the activities it was closed? I think that the football pitch/basketball needs a bit of care and there should be more than one pitch. All in all the hotel was everything we expected.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dizzydani10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Dizzydani10,

Thank you for your review about the H10 Rubicón Palace and for sharing with other travelers your experience with us!

Our main goal is the customer satisfaction and we feel proud of yours.

Looking forward to see you soon,

Best Regards,

Marc Balañá
Subdirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We have just got back from a 10 day stay at the Rubicon Palace as a group of 8 with children from the age of 7 up to 17.

We found all the staff to be very friendly & polite.

Reception were always very helpful & the animation team were also very good with lots of activities to join in if you wanted to. The animation team also did a day trip where they took the teenagers in our group to a water park which they really enjoyed.

I am unable to eat gluten and was concerned that this may cause me problems whilst I was there, but I need not have worried. The staff in the buffet restaurants were very good. I was brought a gluten free breakfast every morning & they would take any orders I wanted for lunch & dinner and cook it separately & bring it to our table each day straight from the kitchen so there was no risk of contamination. I would particularly like to thank Salvador who always made sure that everything was ok.

I think there a just a few things the hotel could do to improve their standard:

More storage in the apartments, one wardrobe for 3 of us was not enough space. A chest of drawers in the room & some shelves in the bathroom would have helped.

It would have been nice if bottled water was left in the apartments (we have always found this is done in any other AI hotel we have stayed in)

Reserving of sunbeds, although the hotel says you are not allowed to, we found if you did not reserve a bed by around 7.30 in the morning it was very difficult to get a bed with shade.

Overall we had a very good time & don't normally return to the same hotel but we would consider coming back here again in a few years.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank debm2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We got back from the Rubicon Palace on Thurs after a 10 day All Inclusive holiday, with two kids aged 4 & 6. This was the first time we had taken the kids abroad and chose this hotel based on its "Premier Family" rating with First Choice.

Firstly lets start with the hotel. As soon as you walk into the reception area you are impressed with the size and decor. The Piano Bar is also located on the same floor. The hotel itself is huge, and you could spend a few days exploring all its areas. There are 6 pools, one of which is a huge salt water pool with a snack bar located by it. It has the little bonus of two glass panels in the floor which you can swim under. Due to the age of our kids, we spent most of our time down by the kids pool which has a pirate ship with two slides and is shallow enough (0.75m) to let your youngsters splash around on their own. There are plenty of areas to go and relax away from the poolside. There is a large sun terrace by the piano bar and a shaded terrace area on the fourth floor.

Rooms - The rooms are large and have good facilities, including fridge, tea/coffee making kit, satellite TV, toiletries, A/C and safe. They are cleaned on a daily basis and fresh towels are provided when needed. We had a balcony looking towards Playa Blanca with a view of the Timanfaya Palace and the sea.

Location - I've read a few reviews saying that the hotel is isolated and that there's no shops, bars or restaurants nearby and it was a 40-45 min walk to the nearest shop. Firstly, that's a load of nonsense. If you go out the gate on to the promenade and go either left towards Playa Blanca or right towards the lighthouse, you will hit a bar within 2 mins. There is more towards the Playa Blanca direction though. Like I said, a few minutes walk takes you to a sports bar. There is also an Indian restaurant, Argentinian steak house, an Italian and also a dive centre located in a little row by a small beach area (check out google maps and see for yourself!!) Secondly. If you are paying the extra money to go to an "All Inclusive" resort then why are you worried about nearby bars and restaurants!?

I went for a few runs along the promenade while we were there and distance wise, the lighthouse is a mile away (from the gate on the promenade) and Flamingo beach was just under a mile away in the other direction. You can judge how long it would take to walk those distances at your own pace. Opposite the hotel is Mount Roja, which is an extinct Volcano and well worth the trek up. Don't do what I saw some people try and do, which was walk across the road and try and climb directly up the volcano. Instead, go towards the new villas and find the path that slowly meanders up the side. Once up the top, there is a path all around the ridge and one going straight through the centre of the crater. Be aware, it is very windy at the top, but the views are spectacular. Distance wise, it was just over three miles from the hotel, to the top, all around the crater and back to the hotel.

Facilities - There is plenty on offer for all ages if you want to get involved. The entertainment staff work extremely hard all day and night and put on a load of games by the main pool. You can also try your hand at archery, shooting, aerobics, mini golf, football or use the onsite dive club. There is a kids club, and the kids go off and do various activities throughout the day. It seemed popular, but there wasn't many British children sent there and we went on holiday to spend time with our kids, not get rid of them for the day! There was a mini disco for the kids at 8.15pm every night and was always a good laugh with lots of participation from the parents. You'll be a master of all the songs/dances by the end of your holiday! (Chu Chu Ua, for example) After the mini disco there is normally a cabaret act on. If that's not your scene, then head up to the piano bar to chill out and listen to a singer. There is also an "Irish" bar on site, which only opens at 6.30pm until 1am. The only thing Irish about it, is a couple of posters on the wall. It still serves all the same drinks as the other bars! It does have Karaoke on a Monday night if you're in to that. There is a gym, which has good facilities and is free between 7-10 am and 6.30-9.30pm and is 5 euros any other time. We never tried the Spa, but you can pay for various treatments and it did look nice and had its own private pool/sunbathing area.

Now for a few bad bits!

Sun Loungers - I go on holiday to have a few drinks, chill out and relax......not set my alarm for 6 am to get up and put my towels on a sun lounger! Unfortunately that seems to be the case with so many of the guests at the hotel. Even though the staff say your not allowed to reserve beds and they will remove towels from those that do - they never bother. What makes it worse is that some people don't bother coming to the beds until the afternoon. We always managed to get beds down at the kids pool though, so if you have young kids, you'll be alright!

Restaurants - There are two main restaurants, a snack bar by the pool and three a la carts. If you want a stress free eating experience, head to the restaurants as soon as they open, when they are quiet and the food is fresh. If you leave it late, the place is heaving and you struggle to find a table or you find a table, but there is no cutlery and you need to try and grab the attention of one of the staff, who by this time are stressed out and rushed off their feet clearing plates and getting rid of the huge amount of waste food left by some people. Also, as a few other reviews have said, the longer you leave it, the more flies are buzzing around and landing on the food. The food though is of a high standard, although it did get a bit repetitive by the second week of our stay. I think if you are a fussy eater or your kids are, they may struggle with some of the dishes on offer. My wife is vegetarian, and some of the so called veggie dishes contained meat, so be careful if you are that way inclined.

We only tried one of the a la cart restaurants (the Italian) as the oriental was adults only? and we didn't fancy the other one. The staff let us go to the Italian twice though, wish was a nice touch. The food was exceptional in here and I would highly recommend it. You can choose a starter, main and desert from the menu and the waitresses will come round with the house wines. You can ask for beer/soft drinks and these are provided at no cost.

Toilets - The one big thing for me that let the hotel down was the lack of toilet facilities by the pool areas. There are plenty within the main hotel, but there is only one by the main pool. And when I say one, I mean one. One toilet for men and one for one. When you look at the size of the resort, to only have one toilet cubicle for all those people it is really bad. We had to take the kids back to the room or join the cues for the cubicle.

All Inclusive drinks - The only place to get drinks from during the day was the two main restaurants, piano bar or snack bar. The piano bar had a staffed service who would make whatever you wanted and were always really friendly. The other places were self service. And with the restaurants only being open for set meal times, this meant the only place to get a drink was at the snack bar. You can imagine the cues and it also didn't help one day when the soft drink machine packed in, so you had to wait in line for a bar service. Also, you cannot get bottled water as part of the "AI" package, so they charge you 2 euros for a 500ml bottle. Don't get conned by this. Head to the local shop, opposite the hotel next door, where you can buy the same bottle for 50 cents and then fill it up at the self service taps.

Irish Bar - Not open during the day and when it is open it didn't show the Premiership games, instead showing La Liga. This is probably down to the fact that the Brits are in the minority at the resort with only a 30% uptake. If the bar was open during the day, it would give guests who stayed over that side of the hotel or who were using the two nearby pools somewhere to get a drink or use the toilet.

Overall, we had a great time. The kids loved the pool with the pirate ship and also the one with the waterfall as it had a shallow end (1m) that they could play in. The would look forward to the mini disco every night with "Daisy" and the entertainment team and loved heading up to the piano bar afterwards for a hot chocolate or chocolate milk with cream on top!

We also went on a trip to Timanfaya, which was a half day trip. The first part of the trip was really good and we all loved the actual volcano and bus tour around the national park area, but then the second half was a let down and turned into a sales pitch trying to get us to buy cheap trinkets or wine. When we were told we were visiting a vineyard to do wine tasting, we expected to have a choice of a few varieties of white, red, rose. Instead we got a 5 ml shot of either dry or sweet white and were then expected to buy a bottle. One gent in front of me asked if he could try some red, as he doesn't drink white, and was told, no, that's all you're getting. Shocking!

We would definitely go back to the Rubicon Palace if they upgraded the toilet facilities by the pools and made more areas to get drinks from.

Room Tip: Get a water bottle to fill up at the self service machines Get to the restaurants early to avoid cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kufdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear kufdam,

Thank you for your review and for sharing with other travellers your impressions about our Hotel.

We really appreciate your comments because is the best feedback we can get. We work hard in order to improve every day, and we know where we have to focus.

Once again, thank you for your comments! Would be a pleasure for us if you decide to visit us again to see the improvements we do year by year.

Best Regards,

Marc Balañá
Subdirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.9 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,965 reviews
2.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
14.9 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
9.6 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Rubicon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Rubicon Palace

Property: H10 Rubicon Palace
Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — H10 Rubicon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 584
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your H10 Rubicon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Rubicon Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Rubicon Palace Playa Blanca
Rubicon Palace Lanzarote
Rubicon Hotel
Rubicon Lanzarote
H10 Rubicon Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca
Hotel h10 Rubicon Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing