We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H10 Timanfaya Palace
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here over Christmas and on arrival we waited ten minutes for check-in which we thought was ok considering the amount of people arriving and there were four staff on. The reception staff were polite and informative which we found throughout the holiday. There were champagne glasses on a table, but there was no welcome drink or anyone to greet us.

We didn't upgrade and had a ground floor room, which we liked. The room overlooked the pool and garden and the terrace was a little sun trap in the afternoon when it went a bit cooler by the pool. The wardrobe is large and had plenty of hangers. There was a safe inside which we used and it cost €17 and you got €5 back deposit. The room was clean, but the bathroom suite could do with updating as it was showing signs of rust. Due to the tiled corridor it was quite noisy and we heard guests walking up and down the corridor and it was especially loud when people were pulling cases past.

The pool area was nice and they did remove left towels before 9:30am which we wish all hotels would do. There were plenty of beds and the garden areas were well kept. The staff in the pool bar were very friendly and efficient, but we did only get drinks from here so can not comment on the food.

The entertainment at night was ok. We relaxed in the piano bar where they had various musicians playing piano/saxophone etc... We went to the disco bar twice and we would recommend the Il Quarto show. The service was very good and the staff were friendly. We were all inclusive and the drinks menu was extensive including lots of imported spirits and cocktails.

The restaurant was large and there was plenty of room. The staff were very polite and friendly. We are vegetarians and we found plenty to eat at breakfast as there were lots of choices, unfortunately lunch and evening meals were not the same. There was a sign explaining the codes for various dietary needs however, the food itself was not labelled. Some dishes just said pasta - we did not know if this contained meat and we don't like to ask so we chose not to try it. The gala dinner was also poor for vegetarians and there was little choice, although the copious amounts of alcohol helped. The food was cold at times and on one occasion I picked up a dirty plate. The hotel does need to sort out the labelling of the food.

The holiday itself was relaxing and we had a lovely time. Overall we would recommend this hotel for the more mature couple and with just a little bit of work this hotel could go from being very good to excellent as the staff are excellent throughout and made the holiday very enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sime_and_Jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Sime_and_Jude,

Thank you for your review!.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,371
    1,390
    376
    110
    52
See reviews for
385
4,208
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,959)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Just returned from 7 day break at the Timanfaya from Boxing Day to 2nd January. We had a lovely relaxing stay, good food, good service.
Unfortunately this was marred by the theft of my husband's Ipad from our hotel room. We did not have time to inform the police as we discovered the Ipad was missing as we were packing on the morning of coming home. Hayley, the Thomson Rep was very helpful but we are still waiting to hear from the Hotel to see if they take any action with regard to further investigations.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garfield1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Garfield1907,

I'm very sorry if you lost your husband's Ipad. I can asure you none theft it from your room. None from our staff has ever taken anything from the guests because they know big risk they get if they do: not only inmediatly fired, also they get a black mark on the record and can never work at a H10 Hotel or entreprise related with us... that means, surely they never get a job in Lanzarote again.
Moreover we have a computer system with the card key and can know who exactly came into the room and at what time.

The guests items are so important to us, that even the presents that guest give to staff, we control them. The department manager sings a authorization with the item, room number and worker name, that the worker must give to the watchman when he goes out. We do with every item, even gel or champoo...

So, I'm sorry again if your lost your Ipad anywhere, but, please, don't acusse my staff.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, W Yorks, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We often stay away over Xmas, as "empty nesters" in our 50's, but this hotel in the evenings made us feel about 80 yrs old, an interpretation of adults-only we had not expected! The hotel lobby has lots of areas seated facing others, and the entertainment is definitely on the staid/repetitive side, we therefore ate out / went out for drinks 3 - 4 evenings, so as not to feel too institutionalised.
Almost al the staff (including reception, despite others disappointment in that area) are faultless, smiling and very professional & helpful, we stayed 10 days over the Xmas period, and almost felt that they treated us like repeat customers, overall excellent! Lou from Thomsons also v good!
Now to the negatives...despite emailing 3 times over 3 months we could not get confirmation of whether and what kind of room upgrade we might be successful in obtaining, much as we wanted an upgrade!
When we arrived we were allocated a third floor room 345 (which had a side sea view) which we were asked to keep for 3 nights before upgrades may be available. Although the room had massive beds (bigger than our eventual upgrade), was refurbished & very pleasant it was around the furthest "turret" corner, in complete shade and very windy. The room transfers, as noted elsewhere, are not very smooth - with a pack up of bags required by 10.30 - and no other room to view or settle in until 3.30pm. We just hoped the sea view/ garden view promised would be fine, and room 218 gave us a nice garden view, but was in no way any different to our first except that a Nespresso machine was in the room (which we did not use).
On the subject of coffee, a mention for Mike's coffee house in the hotel, best huge slices carrot cake ever tasted, pity its situated a bit gloomily at back of a foyer adjacent to pools & sunbed area!
One more plus is that on half board, by calling at reception the evening before, you can swap your dinner for lunch - if you want to dine outside the following evening.
There does seem to be a massive variation in room satisfaction/selection, there can be very long walks to get to the foyer/restaurant areas, past all the "Silence" notices, and there is a shortage of rooms with large balconies, which is what we look for when upgrading.
Overall a good 4* hotel, but we have been to better, and with the hotel being so large there is only dining indoors (which is a bit disappointing), and despite good selections of food, can feel canteen like.

Room Tip: Be prepared to spend 16-20 euros on drinks in order to get a small fridge to use. Plenty of room tip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puschka01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear puschka01,

Thanks for your review.

When the hotel is full, as usual, we never confirm a wish of room or area, because it is possible it is not free the arrival date and them we can get complaints.

I see you got after some day room 218... it is a nice superior one.

About the restaurant, yes, it is big, very big, as we have a big hotel. You can find a quiet atmosphere in our a la carta restaurant, with never more than 60 guest in one 3 hours service...

Gracias. Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here in Jan., 2013 and having had some initial problems over room allocation we then got lovely room on 4th floor. The hotel oozes style and luxury. Most nights in Disco Bar entertainment was fun. Piano Bar was wonderfully relaxing. We went all inclusive, food does get repetitive but always plenty of choice. Was not happy with majority of staff in dinning room, they never welcomed you and we're always grumpy. We were entitled to 2 nights in other restaurant but only went to one night as we were far from impressed. Food not good and staff not friendly.

Staff everywhere else very nice. Pool was cold so we swam in sea.

Never any problems with sun beds as people didn't leave stuff on them for hours but we always sat in outside beech area facing the sea and watching the world go by.

Since Hotel is on board walk we enjoyed daily walks to lighthouse and in the opposite direction to town .

Playa Blanca seems very quite place but that suited us. This is certainly a hotel we would return to.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view. Don't get put on ground floor as apart from being dark you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLAREOC_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear CLAREOC_1,

Thank you for your review and your rate of 5 points.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife and I have just returned from spending 10 days over Christmas and New Year at the Timanfaya Palace and had a wonderful holiday from start to finish.

We arrived on Monday 23rd and had booked a transfer online with Last Minute who were waiting for us in arrivals and swiftly transferred us direct to the hotel, I would highly recommend Last minute for anyone arranging their own transfers in Lanzarote.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were checked in swiftly by the reception staff who gave us all the details that we needed for our stay at the hotel. Having read some of the recent reviews and some of the comments made regarding the reception staff at the hotel, I must say that we had no problems whenever we approached the staff on reception which we did on a number of occasions during our stay. I always found the reception staff to be friendly, helpful and professional. The reception does get very busy at times and the staff do try to deal with everyone as quickly as possible.

The hotel offer many different board basis and room options and what I will say regarding some of the comments made in previous reviews regarding room upgrades and AI supplements, the choices are there for a reason and depending on your lifestyle and how you like to spend your holiday will determine whether the upgrades are worth it for you. We upgraded to privilege when we booked and we were very happy with the extra options that this gave to us at the hotel and we found it value for money.

As privilege guests we were given a sea view room on the 2nd floor. The room was very big and clean and had a fabulous view of the pool and sea. The room was cleaned daily and we were also offered new towels twice daily if needed. We made use of both of the fridge and safe during our stay (included as part of the Privilege service). The only comment I would make regarding the room and the hallways are that they are quite loud due to the tiled marble floors. This is not a major issue but if you are a light sleeper like me, noises can echo through the hotel and rooms. For example, we had a lot of noise coming from the floor above (chairs being moved, people walking around etc) so I will be asking for a room on the top floor next time.

The hotel is lovely throughout especially the lobby, pool and ground areas and were always kept clean. The hotel is in an excellent location in a quiet area but only a 10-15 minutes walk into Playa Blanca along the beautiful coastal path. The hotel was at full capacity during our stay but it never felt that way at all. It never felt over crowded at any stage.

All the staff working across the hotel are fantastic and really make the holiday. The staff are so friendly, hard working and are will always go out of their way to ensure that you are happy. On top of this, the managers Jose and Javier could always been seen around the hotel making sure things were running smoothly and were very approachable and helpful also, always asking if we were ok.

We used all the restaurants and bars in the hotel and had excellent service in all of these. Staff in the main restaurant and the Kasbah are very attentive but we have to give a special mention to Alfredo and Joaquin who really go out of their way to ensure we had a first class dinning experience each time we ate in the Kasbah. The food was excellent in all of the restaurants and we can honestly say we never had a bad meal during our stay. The bar staff and drink servers worked tirelessly and we would often see the same guys who were working all afternoon in the pool bar then working all night either in the Piano bar or Disco lounge with the same enthusiasm. Asun in Mike's coffee shop also deserves a special mention too for the superb and friendly service and excellent cappuccino's, latte's and cakes!

The hotel is fairly laid back and the entertainment team are non intrusive but work hard to keep you entertained during the days and evenings. Kelli from the Thomson team and Olivia, Mayte and Agata from H10 team worked well together and do a superb job keeping you entertained with various games and activities during the day. The activities range from French bowls, rifle shooting, archery, aqua aerobics, walks, darts, shuffle board, mini golf to Paella and Pizza making competitions (my wife won the Paella making competition!). We enjoyed getting involved with the activities and the team always made the activities fun and it we found it a great way to meet lots of different people.

Generally the evening entertainment is fairly low key but this is what the hotel is aiming for, saying that I felt in the 10 days we were there there was a good mix of evening entertainment varying from special guests should as the Il Divo and the Drifters tribute acts, the Magician and the Spanish Folk group to the resident duo who played live music every evening.

We were at the hotel for both Christmas Day and New Years eve and on both occasions we really enjoyed the Gala dinners that the hotel put on. The food was lovely with plenty of choice and the staff worked so hard on each of the nights to make it a really special occasion. We particularly enjoyed the New Years eve celebrations, the hotel really put a lot of effort in to ensure that everyone enjoyed the occasion with different entertainment available during the night in both the Piano bar and disco bar. All the staff worked so hard and joined in the celebrations at midnight with the guests which was really nice to see.

We met some wonderful people during our holiday both staff and other guests staying at the hotel and everyone we met or spoke to were really friendly. It is worth pointing out that a lot of the other guests we spoke to are returning guests which speaks volumes for the hotel and its staff.

We would highly recommend the H10 Timanfaya Palace and we already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Risk A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Risk A,

Thank you for your nice and complete review and your rate of 5 points.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt Norfolk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We, as a couple spent Christmas and the New Year here. Throughout the holiday everything was brilliant. The food was always good. They really went out of their way to make the Christmas Day and new Years Eve gala dinners special.

Or room was always kept spotlessly clean so no complaints there.

I have read some of the negative reviews - all I can say is do they really know what they want?Everyone we spoke to were more than happy.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the 5th. Floor. We had 510 which was very good with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear david280,

Thank you for your review and rate of 5 points.

If anyone is not happy, can be, they have the possibility to speak to us and we find a solution...

Gracias.

Kind regars,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel from the 8th -22nd December and had a great time.

ROOM
We stayed in Room 527 (Sea View Room) which had views overlooking Montana Roja, the lighthouse and also had beautiful sunsets. The room was a bit of a trek from the main part of the hotel but this didn't bother us. The room was spotlessly clean and we loved the contemporary design. The cheapest way to use the fridge was to order 10 bottles of mineral water (approx €16). There was a fairly decent selection of a English TV channels but there was only so much I could take watching Judge Judy and Wonder Woman on CBS!

Also we weren't too bothered but there were deliveries between 7-8am most morning with a little bit of noise disturbance

RECEPTION
Check In was fast, friendly and efficient and the glass of bubbly on arrival went down a treat. I always found the reception staff very welcoming and informative.

POOLSIDE
Personally, I think the pool area is the best part of the hotel (just a shame the main outdoor pools are for decoration only as they are freezing) Beautifully maintained grounds, plenty of space to lounge by the pool. Loads of activities if you wished to join in. The newly installed indoor pool was an added bonus but you have to get down early if you want to swim lengths before the herds of swimmer descend and swim round in circles! ;)

The best areas by the pool to avoid the cooling winds are near the jacuzzi, gym and privilege lounge or behind the new indoor pool building.

BARS
As with the rest of the hotel, this area has been refurbished to a high standard. There are some very comfortable seats around the a Piano Bar and then there are some not so (the giant wire chairs that remind me of a baby bouncer as an example!) the staff are very friendly and efficient. The bar prices were reasonable too. The entertainment in this area was good, but sometimes lacked a little bit of atmosphere and was maybe a bit to quiet for us on occasions.

RESTAURANT
We were on the half board option and found the food to be of a high standard generally. Breakfasts consisted of great range of Fruits, Cereals, Pastries, Deli items, Smoothies, Breads, Cooked food and show cooking options and as with all hotels the toasters are never fast. They did range from putting your bread through 3 times on average up to 6 on one day - which became more of a joke amongst guests than anything else.

Evening meals were good with a wide range of options and theme nights, we liked the little welcome drinks on arrival. The range of wines was good with the house wine starting at approx €11.20. We did find at lot of the white wines on the list leaning towards medium/sweet rather than the stated dry. But not end of the world stuff for us.

The staff were always friendly and welcoming and they work so hard, despite having to serve a few grumpy so and so customers who need to lighten up a little!

OVERALL
A beautiful, clean, friendly and welcoming hotel. We had a great time with other guests but On reflection we did feel that the "Adults Only" age group of the guests was a little bit too old for us.

We will return to the Timanfaya Palace at some point but want to try out some of the other H10 Hotels. So in August 2014 we're staying at the H10 Barcelona Marina, December 2014 (on the advice of the reception staff) we will be staying at Conquistador both in a Privilege room.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Batterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Batterby,

Thank you for your review and rate of 5 points, and thank you for keeping H10hotels.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
2.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,605 reviews
1.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#9 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
12.5 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Timanfaya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Timanfaya Palace

Property: H10 Timanfaya Palace
Address: C/ Gran Canaria, 1 | Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Timanfaya Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, H10 Hotels, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your H10 Timanfaya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Timanfaya Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Timanfaya Palace Playa Blanca
Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote
H10 Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing