We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
H10 Timanfaya Palace
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned from our holiday to Timanfaya Palace. Our first impression of our hotel was good. We were greeted with a glass of Cava and although we had missed dinner, they provided us with a prepared meal.

We were disappointed with our initial room as Thompson advertised the room as having a garden view with a balcony. We were the bottom floor and looking around, probably had the worst view in the hotel. We had a wall with a tree in front. However, when we queried this with the Thompson reps, they explained that a garden view room is basically any room without a sea view so it is pot luck which view you get. They did however move us on the next change over day and we had a much better view overlooking the volcano.

We went half board as we aren't huge drinkers and didn't spend half of what we would have spent if we went all inclusive. Everything is reasonably priced. We had a glass of house white, a bottle of beer and a still water with dinner which cost just under 6 euros. Cocktails are priced at 6 euros. If you want to change your dinner to lunch one day, you can, just go to reception. Lunch isn't expensive there either or you can choose to go down to the beach front.

The day time entertainment has been planned to appeal to different people. Yes they have a drinking competition but this is only held once a week I believe. They also have archery, shooting, aqua aerobics,mini golf, free scuba diving trials in the pool, sangria and mojito demonstrations and much more. You can choose what you want to do and the entertainment team aren't pushy. The activities don't interfere. The entertainments team are great with a good sense of humour. We thought Hector and Christina were particularly good. Evening entertainment was varied and we chose what we went to and what we didn't fancy. We liked the Beijing acrobats, the illusionist and enjoyed the Spanish pool party.

The food was excellent and the choice varied. Each night, there is a different theme but there is still plenty of choice for even the fussiest eaters.We didn't notice any preferential treatment and found the waiters to be very efficient at clearing the plates and serving drinks.

As other people have previously mentioned, we didn't agree with having to pay for the safe or the fridge. We did get the minibar instead of the fridge which is free if you buy 10 items. The cheapest being water and you pay less than you would for the fridge on its own.

Overall we had an excellent holiday. We also wanted to mention one of the waitresses, Angeleas, who we thought was not only great at her job, but had a good sense of humour to go with it. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Nicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Nicki S,

Thank you for your review.

You picture is from a standar room first floor.

Some reviews comment they don't recommend the Zero floor. I personally prefer Zero floor, because they have a bigger garden and the room inside are better almost as good as the privileges.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,815 - 2,821 of 5,927 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

My family and I stayed for a week in August 2014 and returned on the 24th. The whole experience was wonderful. Though we have visited Playa Blanca a number of times we chose this hotel due to the adult only requirement and the positive reviews from other former guests. To our surprise, on check-in we received a complimentary upgrade to a superior room and a double room both with beautiful sea (and sea & mountain) views. A bottle of red wine was in each room - which was a really nice touch. Check in was swift in the beautiful entrance and all information explained carefully. The rooms were spacious, very clean and nicely air conditionned: a powerful and refreshing shower too. Our only very small gripe were the pillows :) A fridge and safe were available with a small charge or deposit. The wifi was a little patchy, especially during the evenings. The hotel is set within a lovely location. The exterior key-accessed gate takes you to the promenade and a 15 to 20-minute walk to the harbour and shops/restaurants. The hotel staff were extremely friendly, attentive and helpful (Jaison was a delight in the restaurant and Naomi too in the pool bar). Hotel Management were often visible and spoke at length with the guests. We were always met by restaurant management as we arrived from breakfast and dinner. That gentleman are required to wear long trousers for dinner is something I fully support. The food was outstanding, often with theme nights (Italian, Mexican etc). You never felt rushed. There was plenty of variety and it was very obvious that the chefs took real pride in the preparation and presentation of the food to guests, that was fresh and of real quality. Our compliments to them too. The requirement that loungers not be reserved before 9.30am is something other hotels would do well to copy. Your towels will be removed prior to this time!! There were always loungers available - even after morning walks and there was sufficient shade should this be needed. The area around the pools was very peaceful and we often remained their until until 6.30/7.00 in the evening to sunbathe and swim. The pool bar offered a good menu, though a little limited if you are half board. Though a tad chilly first thing in the morning, the pools were very refreshing indeed and typically quiet which allowed relaxing swims and paddles. We particularly enjoyed the 'jacuzzi' pool. Though not entertainment fans, there was something on offer each evening. The two male guitarists were very good at pool side. The piano bar was also very relaxing and we recieved a complimentary cocktail on our first night. We were able to gain a complimentary courtesy room to shower and change on the afternoon of departure and our pick-up was on time. In sum, this was a lovely week and if you are looking for a relaxing break for adults/couples only - then look no further than this. You really notice the noisy hotels with children when you stroll along the promenade. We will be back....as soon as we can!!!

Gary

Room Tip: Choose a high floor (level 2 or 3) with a balcony & sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Gary K,

Thank you for our nice review and your rate of 5 points!!.

As you write, come back soon, please!! ; )

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week at the beginning of August 2014. Generally the whole holiday was fantastic and would stay again at the drop of a hat. I would like to raise a point though. I have been reading some of the comments that have been left on trip adviser and I disagree with some of the comments when it comes to the restaurant. The staff are very competent in clearing plates and the waiters service is second to none. What really gets my goat is when people write on hear about this so called preferential treatment by the staff. The reason guests are being shown round by either pepe of a member of his hard working staff is that people have food allergies. And they need to be told what they can and cannot eat. Hence a prime example coeliacs disease. Which is what my wife suffers from. You give her wheat she ends up going from 0 to 9 months in about 5 minutes. So without there kind and considered help my wife would not be able to enjoy her holiday. It really sickness me when people talk rubbish about preferential treatment. Anyway had a lovely holiday and would recommend the hotel and staff to anyone looking for a relaxing couples holiday. Book it you will love it

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jaytom1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Jaytom1970,

Thank you very much for your review and your rate of 5 points. It was a bit difficult for me to understand it, but all in all, I get you were happy and find very good our waiters.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our 2 week stay didn't start too well - had an early flight from Exeter after leaving home 3am we arrived at the hotel at 12 mid day checked in to be told the room wont be ready until 3pm ! 3 hour wait ! never had this happen in 25 years of booking with Thomson no matter what time we arrived - almost like your not expected not much of a welcome ! Took this up with Thomson to be told its in the small print in their T&Cs as you signed them you have accepted them - so basically we got your money don't care (0 out of 10 for Thomson Customer Care). If you due to arrive befor 3-4pm you may also have this issue.

Couples only Hotel lifts to all levels situated on the outskirts of Playa Blanka (quiet resort) faces out to sea with a pedestrian promenade/walkway running along the front (turn left out of the pool gate 2 mins to nearest Bar/Super Market/ Beach)Thomson brochure pictures are accurate. 4 pools small covered pool, good size larger free form pool (but v cold) ,
smaller round pool, a Jacuzzi pool and small shallow round pool all set around the pool bar/restaurant. Crazy golf course,giant chess set and rifle range(air gun) in the grounds.
Got the key to our room at 3pm - room clean and tidy comfortable table and chairs on the balcony rather than the usual white plastic - slight noise issue from rooms above dragging furniture on the floor and trolleys/luggage and high heels from the corridors tiled floor.
Food is on a par for Hotels with this rating, Breakfast very good evening meal ok never went hungry different themed evenings ie Mexican/Italian/Canarian etc Buffet style help your self service.
.
Facilities in the hotel all very nice, gym and sauna on the pool level with Hairdressers and Spa/Massage treatments along with Coffee shop and Ala carte restaurant (at additional cost) Piano bar at reception level and the Disco/Entertainment bar one level below, Wi-Fi is free you just ask at reception for password etc worked ok in our room 206 but apparently doesn't cover all rooms). Main restaurant (level 2) recently refurbished to a very good standard.

Service: very good in the restaurants and bars, varies a little at reception depending on who you speak to, the Manager is very visible walking around the Hotel and is in the restaurant most evenings.

Entertainment : Hotel animation team very active various demonstrations/games organised see the board outside the main restaurant for whats on.
Piano Bar varied from poor to good - Andy Solo Guitarist was superb plays 3 nights a week dont miss him , Solo Saxophonist also good but the lady pianist and Maximo another guitarist may be worth missing.
Disco Bar: resident duo Luna Fall a bit hit and miss Cerri (i think) the entertainment co-ordinator has a good voice the acts were the usual mix singers singing to backing tapes, illusionists,acrobats etc of varying quality - the good acts were too short just as the better ones got the crowd going they finished ! Why in an adult only hotel did all the shows finish so early ?

Located on the sea front the Promenade provides walks in both directions turn left out of the pool gate you pass a small golden sand beach lined with a couple of Beach Shop/supermarkets along with Bars and restaurants less than 5 min walk from the hotel, keep going in this direction towards the harbor about 10 mins walk from the hotel where there is a small complex of bars,restaurants, Spar Supermarket and Santander Bank . Walk past the Harbor another 3-4 mins to the main shopping area with the usual mix of shops/restaurants etc.
If you turn right out of the pool gate you can walk all the way out to the modern light house the last mile or so is surfaced couple of bars/restaurants 5 mins from the hotel then your walking past hotels and apartments until the surfaced path ends and a track continues out the the lighthouse.

Points to Note:

1. You cant reserve the Sun Beds with Towels until after 9:30am - Life Guard removes them and any other belongings keeps them with him where they can be reclaimed if not claimed they are kept at reception.

2. Cant pay cash in the hotel all food/drink booked to your room - bill settled when checking out.

3. If you arrive and your room isnt ready (if you are due to arrive befor 3-4pm) there is a baggage storage room - pool towels 20 euro deposit from reception and there is a changing shower room available and changing facilities beside the main pool and in the gym - We were not offered any of these when our room was not ready found out after - We did ask what do we do until the room is ready ? we were then offered to put our cases in the luggage room but were not made aware of the other facilities we could have used (again this may vary depending on who serves you at reception).

4. Thomson Reps - Not at the hotel full time at the desk in the morning and again in the evening , usually arrival meeting 10.30am on your second day/first full day.

Overall enjoyed the Holiday its is a small quiet resort the Hotel is generally very good - Lanzerote can be quite breezy gusts blowing towels of the sun beds something you need to consider if choosing Lanzerote for your holidays as opposed to Teneriffe or Grand Canary.

Room Tip: All rooms face onto the Pool & Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My partner and I returned from a weeks stay on 14th August in the H10 Timanfaya Palace, from the moment we entered the hotel and were greeted by the delightful smell we felt welcome. There was a large queue in front of us but reception staff got through them quick enough (for others who are saying reception staff are slow), the girl who checked us in informed us of everything we needed to know and answered all of our questions.

The hotel itself is lovely decorated, large white walls and tall windows, long tiled hallways and a rooftop view over the island.

We stayed in room 356 which was at the end of a long corridor but right beside the stairs with easy access to the pool; upon entering the room it was very spacious and very clean and well kept, we also discovered that we had a bottle of champagne and a bottle of red wine because it was our two year anniversary! Was a lovely touch - we weren't expecting anything at all and to get those two things meant the world to us.

The only complaint we had about the bedroom was that (i found) the bed to be quite uncomfortable and woke up with a sore back some mornings, i was glad to return to my own bed for a good nights sleep. However my partner had absolutely no complaints about the bed.

We then unpacked and wandered around the hotel and to the dining room - a manager? who had greeted us when we were checking in took the time to show us around the restaurant and explaining how the table service etc works.
Food in hotel is fabulous - i loved all the different themed nights, fresh fish daily and huge selection of breads readily available.
I also liked that if you were eating out in the evenings you could swap your evening meal to lunch (as we were half-board). The pool bar is also fantastic, tapas every day with beers and cocktails - they also free pour spirits so always order a mixer!! as they are very strong (not complaining!)
Poolside was very chilled out, beds did fill up quite quickly each day after around 10am. Pools were quite cold in morning but nice in the afternoon after the sun heated them a bit.

There isn't much around the hotel as for shops etc, we took a walk down the prom one night and went to a couple of bars which was nice to go to a lively atmosphere just for a change of scenery.

The piano bar is lovely, chilled out, fresh and clean and staff are very friendly and always up for having a bit of fun.

The no-kids in hotel is the BEST THING EVER - everyone was mature, no screaming kids around the pool or in the restaurant, we noticed how noisy the kids were everywhere after we left the hotel!!

The staff in this hotel are a real gem to the H10 group, so friendly, will stop and have a chat and can't do enough for you in restaurants. Would recommend going to the Kasabah restaurant - food very different but very good, and you get a 40% discount with the half-board option in hotel.

The hotel is cashless which can be a bit risky, after a few drinks you may sign your life away! At the end of your stay you are presented with a bill which to our surprise wasn't as bad as we thought it was going to be! Hotel drinks and extra food is very reasonable and we found it would of been more expensive for us to go all-inclusive.

I can't wait to return to this hotel, we would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Higher floors great view and away from hustle and bustle of main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank adairl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear adairl1,

Thank you for your review and your rate of 5 points!.

In your next visit, if you have any difficulty with your bed, please, let us know and we'll find a solution.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a great holiday , Hotel was A1 very clean tidy the staff were always pleasant plenty of space around you so never felt crowded , The food was fantastic with themed nights would like to return again . Thank you Thompsons .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daveydavey69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

First time we have stayed in this hotel and have to say probably wouldn't return. Every year we stay in a 4/5 * couples only hotel. Staff are very nice and helpful. There was a good choice of food each day although the themed nights were not totally themed with only a few choice from each country. The 'live cooking' is a very nice idea but they need to have more chef the poor girls cooking were overwhelmed every morning. lunch and dinner. Generally as with most buffets the - which were replenished with great frequency- it was tepid at times.
The room we had was very spacious but was in need of redecoration by no means 4* at all.

I found the pool 'activities' reminiscent of a club 18-30 holiday with a competition of how many beers can you drink.

beautiful views from hotel overlooking the sea if a bit windy.

Room Tip: Get a room on floor 1 or above with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IJG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

DearIJG2014,

Thanks for your review.

I appreciate if you send me in private details why you consider we are not a 4 star hotel. Surely it helps me or makes me think about it.

Regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,530 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,891 reviews
0.5 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Timanfaya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Timanfaya Palace

Address: C/ Gran Canaria, 1 | Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £105 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Timanfaya Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, H10 Hotels, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your H10 Timanfaya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Timanfaya Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Timanfaya Palace Playa Blanca
Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote
H10 Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing