We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,382)
Filter reviews
4,382 results
Traveller rating
3,016
915
296
94
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,016
915
296
94
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisla de loboskiko landfamily blockdon giovannila haciendablock dthe main hotelhalf boarda la carte restaurantsguest relationstapassoft playsea viewkids clublower poolturn down servicefantastic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
2,515 - 2,520 of 4,382 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed for one week had quite a few problems so the bad first. Asked for 2 suites together as we had young children were told they were together and when we went to the rooms they were miles apart, we had to swop rooms the following day. We booked half board it took until the day before we left to actually get this. I made 3 calls to get someone to come to the room as the lock was not working. No kettle in the room but there is a microwave???? Very strange. If you wanted a Sunbed you needed to be out at 8am. The hotel was full and it felt like a holiday camp on occasions, there was no personal touch at all. It strikes ms that efficiency and pleasantries do not go together. Tried to get a table for lunch one day and was told it would be one hour. Rooms are basic but very clean. Now the good the kids absolutely loved it. Lots for them to do Kikoland was great (not so sure that the staff are actually qualified though) great football and tennis coaching. Considering the price I would expect more.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STAFFSMOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Our holiday in March was our 3rd at this hotel- we have returned as with 2 children and the youngest at this point 8 months old we wanted the easy and familiar. Having stayed before we were aware of a few of the drawbacks and on checking in asked where our room was- it was going to overlook the burger king- i asked for an alternative but the only available was a ground floor, decided to stay with the original but on seeing the room again took the ground floor. So after much faffing we settled on the ground floor but was not happy as so shaded- the foilage is so high- we got virtually no sun on the patio- couldn't even dry the washing! Our daughter also developed chicken pox and customer relations could have been so much more helpful but...... The long and short of it is that it is a real lottery on which room you get as it can totally affect the type of holiday you have. Some of the waiting staff were quite off too when you made any request- not good enough for a 5 star. Saying all that we go again in a couple of weeks!! But will be the last- take too many chances on such an expensive holiday. Will complete a new review after that one!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VBT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Not much to add to what is already on here other than to say that we loved it. Fantastic looking place the scale of which is hard to describe. This means there is something to do for everyone at all times. Our kids just happened not to take to kiko land but loved spending a couple of hours in the supervised ball park each morning. One time upon collecting the kids we were handed a fantastic caricature of them drawn by one of the multi talented carers. Our teenage daughter was also very happy and made friends easily.

Tp pick up on a couple of common themes.. There are a lot of selfish sunbed hoggers but there are so many sunbeds and places to go it really didn't bother us. Also our room was very quiet and we slept extremely well.

Bars and restaurants are fabulous. My personal tip, try a mojito in the Cuban bar. You will thank me! My wife also rates a massage in the spa very highly.

We have never repeated a family holiday before but there is a unanimous vote to go back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We had a lovely time at this hotel we loved it. The rooms were spacious and immaculately clean. The hotel was very well maintained with great attention to detail including the lovely scents pumped throught the air con. Bubbly on arrival was also very welcome . The only negative was some noise from the nearby disco , first time we just passed it off because it was the weekend and people were just enjoying themselves. On our last night it was terrible , a live band started at about 4.30 am... Who books a band for that time in the morning? NO we are not boring old ..... but I didnt think the police allowed windows to be open in discos after 12 ! We had a call from the customer service team to apoligise but I think the hotel needs to deal with this problem strenuously to avoid putting people off returning.

I must say I would really like to go back to this hotel and Playa Blanca so I do hope the management take the appropriate measures to tackle this problem. Dont let it put you off but have it in mind and maybe mention it when you check in. We were asked if we wished to move prior to the events of our last nights stay. We declined but if I had been staying longer than a week I would have taken them up on the offer.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arthurprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I think this hotel is great the only thing that let is down from our point of view was the Thomas cook side of things.

The hotel is located about 30 mins from the aiport and the transfer seems quite quick. we arrived in the evening and were given an upgrade to 2 suites - brilliant. We also had the problem with the beds being together for the 2 teenagers with us (brother and sister) they came and changed this round for us. ( I think the people who dont get this action is probabley the way they speak to the staff) for us nothing was a problem. we had a prob with the safe and a light bulb and they were there within minutes to sort this for us.

Room was cleaned daily and we had more than enough towels so there was always a dry one. They have pool towels but not sure why people hung on to them for the week when you take them back to kioisk if they are too wet or at the end of the day. they give you your card back and then you get a fresh oe the next day.

Some of the reviews moan about the restauarnts. We only ate in Kampai as a treat one evening (due to cost for 4 of us) but is was amasing and fasinating to watch. We didnt eat in the others in the evening but did rotate for breakfast. Even thought I have seen a review complaining they rotate so one is always shut there are many many places to eat outside the hotel even just outside the back gate. ( I suppose if depends on your willingness to walk for a few minutes.) We walked to marina rubicon (10 mins walk along promonade) to aphodite little italy.

We also walked the other way and went to the timanfaya restaurant on the promonade - (make sure you go early or try and book. not fancy food but good food cooked well.)

We visited the midaor del rio to see the views - amasing how much you can see. even if it was a little cloudy when we went. we liked los hervideros with it nice views and also like Peurto callero (which is really pricey)

The grounds of the hotel ate beautiful and very well kept no litter and we saw it been cleaned daily.

so the let down - Thomas cook transfered us to the hotel. no sign of a rep. next day no sign of a rep and no invite to welcome meeting. note stuck under our door while we were out having a look round saying they will be there for half an hour but that was the only time it said and when we got back that time had passed. no sign of a rep after that and no time noted in the thomas cook book when they would be in so we sorted out trips through the hotel.

day of departure thomas cook transfer turned up 15 minutes late drove slowly to the airport. check in wasnt a long queue but took over and hour so they had the gate number up before we went though. we only had a few mins to grab a snack before boarding on the last call. I didnt get time to take my medication before i got on the plane. It was a great hotel and a good place to be ruined by the lack of co-ordination by thomas cook. I did conplete the questionnaire but i dont suppose for a minute that we will hear anything about it.

still atleast our baggage and we got home safe even if it took gatwick over and hour to actually get the baggage off the plane. :(

Room Tip: Make sure you contact hotel before you go if you want a twin room as they are normally made up as a double
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freckles22Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews