We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantastic break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
THB Tropical Island
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a fantastic break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I arrived home last night and have already planned to go back in May this time for two weeks.
From the time you entered the hotel you where made to feel welcome the apartments where fantastic and cleaned spotless every day. The trips you can book are great. I must have put on a stone in a week the food was fantastic and to complement the food the drink and entertainment was good especially with the youngsters dancing before the adult shows. Please go and enjoy this hotel the place was awsome.

Room Tip: All the rooms are only two floors high
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fatsdelight25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    933
    599
    228
    161
See reviews for
1,400
602
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

where do I begin, me and my friend stayed for 1 week, it felt like 1 week too much, we both classed it as a butlins sort of holiday with sunshine,
The room was nice once we found it, untill we started using the shower, and sink, both leaked !!
Turned on the sink tap and ants came out of the tap.
The view from the apartment wasn't good, we was faced with trees, so in the shade all the time, not good, we couldn't sit out etc, also went to the pizza place for a meal, it was horrid,,
We spent most of our time at the beach, on trips, eating out etc, we did enjoy that part of our holiday,,,
I do love Lanzarote, but won't stay there again ...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 187069Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa Blanca hotels

Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

What a time we had in Lanza. The food was good & plentiful, which suited me as I eat like a pig. I liked the self service kebab machine I saw on a lovely day trip to the neighbouring island of fueteventura. Well worth a visit, the island that is!

As for the entertainment team, what can I say they made my holiday! The scouse joey essex (lovely young steven), rachael (there's only one rachael!), gemma (lovely girl, funny seeing dizzy the dolphin chase her with a bucket of water!), blonde kim (her impression of a sealion for the poolside show of 'Sun Trops Got Talent', was Oscar winning!), Jen (me being a scouser, her manc accent was annoying but she was cool, loved her kanye dance)

Also Natalia the Receptionist call me ;-) one thing I will say, apartments were very clean & tidy, very impressed, well done cleaners on a great job! You deserve a medal. Would be nice if had Bungalows to stay in, now that would be cool.

I would highly reccomend a trip here

Lots of love

Kerry & John xx

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnNyj0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Second visit here though several years apart.this time took 4year old grand daughters. Self catering everything you need nice room nice location with nice gardens. Considering the size very quiet even being just across from one on the bars. All staff were very nice and friendly. Plenty of pools from big to small and several play areas for the kids.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlskoga, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We've been here a week staying at this hotel, absolutely loved Lanzarote and the hotel was just absolute what we wanted. There are three restaurants, a pizzeria, tapas and chicken restaurant, after booking onto the tapas the last night, we had a nice evening there. Pizzerias and chicken we have in Sweden, so we saw no reason to book it in Lanzarote. The room was nice and spacious. Overall the hotel was OK and we could be returning, since the value was much higher than the price. The village of Playa Blanca is lovely if you want to outside the hotel area. The gym was as expected in a three star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Initially was allocated a room that was already occupied, was given another room which was very run down, could not get another room as hotel was full, had maintenance to repair leak through ceiling, room very tired, no maid service or clean towels until we complained.
Pool area was very good, great for families.
Food was very basic and not very nice, used poolside snack bar everyday which did not change from one day to another.
Had cockroach crawl across the table on the third night, ate out in town after that.
In summary we liked playa blanca, would highly recommend stone grill restaurant on the front.
Staff generally pleasant and good humoured.
Outside space was kept very clean unfortunately did not continue to inside rooms.
Shops and bars are about twenty mins walk or 4 euro in taxi.
Temperature in late October was very pleasant, breeze most of the time.
If you visit this hotel consider self catering
If I revisit lanzerote I would choose a different accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing one of the block swimming pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisanLez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a week staying at this hotel, absolutely loved Lanzarote but the hotel was an absolute disappointment....where do I start.
Arrived at the hotel to be told the room was not ready and we should store our suitcases and belongings in their secure(unlocked and door wide open) storage room and go get some food in the canteen.
Now this is where it all started, greeted by dinner options such as goat chops, "pork" in sauce(pork being used loosely here, there was no pork in the dish...think more the bits of soggy skin and innards people throw away after roasting) soups that looked more like a vat of crude oil and cold chips(infact may I add, everything was cold, undercooked and disgusting)
There are three restaurants, a pizzeria, tapas and chicken restaurant(which was never open) after booking onto each thinking that they could surely be better, we were wrong.
Upon arrival at the pizzeria 10minutes before our booked time we were shouted at and told to come at the correct time, once sat down we waited about 15minutes before we even got asked what drink we would like, after that another half hour wait before we were asked our order...on arrival after what felt like a lifetime, was pretty much a Tesco value pizza. To add to all this, the atmosphere was horrendous...everyone asking each other how long they had been waiting, some couples completely being ignored and to too it all off, the waiter ordering a group to leave because he needed the table space to which a fight nearly broke out.
The tapas restaurant was a complete joke, only being able to order two dishes per person(which is fine) but you are then told that these "main dishes" are simply items on the salad bar to which you had to go collect yourself thus wasting your choices because anybody was free to collect from the salad bar, same with the paella(which was tepid)....to top it all off we had "breaded fish in champagne sauce", which sounded quite nice until tasting...the champagne sauce was essentially hot tuna mayo which nearly made us both vomit. Last but not least we had the "canary potatoes"(which we knew we liked as had tried before elsewhere) these were basically unwashed, muddy, furry new potatoes...we did not even try these as visually they turned our stomach so much we left to find food in town to which we subsequently did from then on.
Entertainment would be fine if you were lacking in the brain cell department and just wanted to get drunk by the pool/dome and be larey(may I add, the wine my partner was given was so off even smelling it made me feel ill)
The room was nice and spacious and would of suited our needs perfectly fine if it didn't have loads of little ants crawling all over the kitchen(on the worktops, cooker and even inside the kettle)
Majority of the staff were very rude and dismissive, very poorly managed. You could definitely get the impression that they were all overworked, underpaid and undervalued to which it definitely showed.
Overall the hotel was a massive letdown and we will never be returning or recommending which is a shame as upon first glance it looks great....loads of pools, spacious rooms, quite pretty, but further inspection reveals a much darker picture.
The resort of Playa Blanca is lovely which was a lifesaver as it was only a short walk into town to which you could buy edible food at a low price and deal with friendly local staff.
Advice would be if you are after all inclusive - go elsewhere, do NOT even contemplate this place.
And to any management that might respond to this I will not listen to the lies to which have been responded to previous unhappy quests, nothing has changed and for the foreseeable future I don't think ever will.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.1 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#30 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#31 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
#25 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
20.6 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,661 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Tropical Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Tropical Island

Property: THB Tropical Island
Address: Fragata 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Tropical Island 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THB Tropical Island is a spectacular resort of 102,000 m2 located in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. Designed especially for families and groups of friends, it has everything you need so you can enjoy an unforgettable holiday within resort itself and just steps away from your apartment. In Hotel THB Tropical Island everyday fun is guaranteed. Our guests can enjoy 14 swimming pools, sports facilities, bars, theme restaurants and plenty of activities both for adults and children in the hands of our entertainment team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your THB Tropical Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tropical Playa Blanca
Sun Tropical Lanzarote
Holiday Village Sun Tropical Lanzarote
THB Tropical Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing