We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant therapist at the Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
THB Tropical Island
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We spent 10 days at this resort on a self-catering basis and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff were very friendly & courteous and the apartment facilities were most pleasing. I want to particularly recommend Carolyn Curtis, who was the therapist at the Spa there. I had 2 reflexology treatments with her to help with my extremely painful & inflamed knee, and she succeeded in reducing the pain, so that I could walk with greater ease. As a result, I am a firm believer in this form of treatment. This lady really knows her stuff and if you visit this resort, I can thoroughly recommend a Spa treatment!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mozidotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,672 - 1,678 of 2,936 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Just got back from 10 night stay overall the hotel was good, very clean, helpful friendly staff, lovely gardens. We were there all inclusive drinks average, breakfast and dinner by far the best compared to the evening meal which was poor, food was only just warm ok there was a microwave to heat food up but that's not the point! We ended up eating out most evenings. Entertainment was what you would expect for this type of hotel but we wasn't around much to see it. Pools we didn't use the main one as preferred the quieter ones dotted around the complex. Maybe they could have done with a sports bar as well?? Overall the only big lat down was the evening meal

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NottsSarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I arrived home last night and have already planned to go back in May this time for two weeks.
From the time you entered the hotel you where made to feel welcome the apartments where fantastic and cleaned spotless every day. The trips you can book are great. I must have put on a stone in a week the food was fantastic and to complement the food the drink and entertainment was good especially with the youngsters dancing before the adult shows. Please go and enjoy this hotel the place was awsome.

Room Tip: All the rooms are only two floors high
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fatsdelight25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

where do I begin, me and my friend stayed for 1 week, it felt like 1 week too much, we both classed it as a butlins sort of holiday with sunshine,
The room was nice once we found it, untill we started using the shower, and sink, both leaked !!
Turned on the sink tap and ants came out of the tap.
The view from the apartment wasn't good, we was faced with trees, so in the shade all the time, not good, we couldn't sit out etc, also went to the pizza place for a meal, it was horrid,,
We spent most of our time at the beach, on trips, eating out etc, we did enjoy that part of our holiday,,,
I do love Lanzarote, but won't stay there again ...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

What a time we had in Lanza. The food was good & plentiful, which suited me as I eat like a pig. I liked the self service kebab machine I saw on a lovely day trip to the neighbouring island of fueteventura. Well worth a visit, the island that is!

As for the entertainment team, what can I say they made my holiday! The scouse joey essex (lovely young steven), rachael (there's only one rachael!), gemma (lovely girl, funny seeing dizzy the dolphin chase her with a bucket of water!), blonde kim (her impression of a sealion for the poolside show of 'Sun Trops Got Talent', was Oscar winning!), Jen (me being a scouser, her manc accent was annoying but she was cool, loved her kanye dance)

Also Natalia the Receptionist call me ;-) one thing I will say, apartments were very clean & tidy, very impressed, well done cleaners on a great job! You deserve a medal. Would be nice if had Bungalows to stay in, now that would be cool.

I would highly reccomend a trip here

Lots of love

Kerry & John xx

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J0hnNyj0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Second visit here though several years apart.this time took 4year old grand daughters. Self catering everything you need nice room nice location with nice gardens. Considering the size very quiet even being just across from one on the bars. All staff were very nice and friendly. Plenty of pools from big to small and several play areas for the kids.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We've been here a week staying at this hotel, absolutely loved Lanzarote and the hotel was just absolute what we wanted. There are three restaurants, a pizzeria, tapas and chicken restaurant, after booking onto the tapas the last night, we had a nice evening there. Pizzerias and chicken we have in Sweden, so we saw no reason to book it in Lanzarote. The room was nice and spacious. Overall the hotel was OK and we could be returning, since the value was much higher than the price. The village of Playa Blanca is lovely if you want to outside the hotel area. The gym was as expected in a three star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.1 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,337 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.6 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Tropical Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Tropical Island

Address: Fragata 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £54 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Tropical Island 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THB Tropical Island is a spectacular resort of 102,000 m2 located in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. Designed especially for families and groups of friends, it has everything you need so you can enjoy an unforgettable holiday within resort itself and just steps away from your apartment. In Hotel THB Tropical Island everyday fun is guaranteed. Our guests can enjoy 14 swimming pools, sports facilities, bars, theme restaurants and plenty of activities both for adults and children in the hands of our entertainment team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your THB Tropical Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tropical Playa Blanca
Sun Tropical Lanzarote
Holiday Village Sun Tropical Lanzarote
THB Tropical Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing