We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
THB Tropical Island
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“better than expected”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

don"t let the bad reviews put you off, what a nice friendly complex everbody had a smile lovely&clean grounds sunbeds show signs of ageing but look alright with towel thrown over plenty of pools so not quashed,rooms are basic but clean (our room had good view of a palm tree but we didn't go to sit in room= t330)we went to Spanish dome most nights as no queues for bar entertainment was ok. playa blanca town was a short 15min walk with pushchair lovely little town with nice beach,we hired a 7 seater car(77 euros for two days) went to papagayo beach brilliant stayed all day red hot even when windy.and visited many attactions in the area..stayed as party of 7 5adults +2 kids,we would go back to playa blanca and back to tropical island thank you for lovely stay..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stephen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us .
For your next reservation, if there is something we can arrange for you before you arrive just let us know beforehand and we will be glad to arrange anything we can for you. You just need to contact us .
I.We are looking forward to welcoming you back in THB Tropical Island, and thanks one again for your kind words.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    948
    610
    228
    163
See reviews for
1,427
611
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Bromwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The rooms are very basic and look well worn but are clean and the beds we found were very comfy.In our apartment we had a fridge cooker coffee maker toaster and kettle.There is a hair dryer in the bathroom.All staff seemed friendly and helpful.We had a pool outside our room,others had small spa.The main pool has a couple of water slides however all pools were freezing !There were plenty of sun loungers but many were dirty and broken,you could lie on them but not adjust the backs.The pool snack bar is very basic offering burgers hot dogs chips cheese salad and sometimes jacket potatoes.Food in the main restaurant is what you expect chicken salad fruit etc and although a bit repetitive we always found something to eat .Drinks were awful,couldn't drink any of the spirits,although the lager was ok.Entertainment in the Dome was ok children's disco and games from 8-9 then quizzes etc after for adults ,unfortunately there was only one person serving at the bar so queues for drinks (if you could drink them!) were always long.There is a free shuttle bus to and from the beach ,although it is only a 15 -20 minute walk. we would return to Tropical island but as self catering as there are some lovely places to eat in Playa Blanca and the supermarkets are quite reasonable for essentials.

Room Tip: Ask for room by pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annyfanackerpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guets,
Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
we bought new sunbeds for pools will soon be here and also at the bar there are two people to the service we always try to hear feedback from our customers and solve problems as soon as possible.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we will welcoming you back in THB Tropical Island.


Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Me and my 7yr old son went for 1 week in April 2014 (Easter holidays) and the weather was lovely and hot except for one day when there was clouds, otherwise everyday was mid to late 20's maybe even 30 degrees on a few occasions. The apartment was clean and spacious and it could be cleaned everyday if you wanted it to be by simply putting out a tag on the door requesting 'Please clean my room'. The only down side was that there was no air con but not sure if that was just not on because of the time of year (not peak season). The balcony was also very spacious with all you need to relax out there if you wanted. Our views were fabulous as we had the main pool and pool bar at the front and one of the smaller pools at the back.
The food was nice, something for everyone to eat although very fussy eaters will probably live on chips and pizza but if your willing to try things then there is different themes for evening meals everyday. All the fish there was the best I have ever tasted. The snack bar was the same food everyday but that was ok for us because my son would eat loads in the day and less in the evening. There was a good choice of drinks both soft and alcohol and their measurements on the spirits were generous...lol....
The Spanish staff were very pleasant but the Reps were amazing they did a very good job of getting to know all the families and making you feel welcome. There is constant games and activities for children and adults throughout the day and then the evening entertainment was pretty good too! My only grumble would be that the Spanish dome and Thomas Cook dome are separate, well opposite parts of the site, so you end up choosing the one you feel most comfortable in or all your friends go to for your entertainment. On the Thursday the Thomas Cook reps have a day and night off, so you do get to go visit the other Dome for the night without missing the fun and games in the other.
The grounds that the hotel is based is also very beautiful, there are hundreds of fishes in the on site pond/lake, two huge turtles in their area and other scenic things to look at around the grounds.
The town and beach is around a 5-10 minute walk away or you can get a bus or taxi.
Overall we had a fantastic stay and would defiantly go here again on an all inclusive holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Tropical side have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for letting us know your feelings about your last stay at the THB Tropical Island,

I´m happy to see you enjoyed your stay with your family. We try to offer a variety of entertainment for all nationalities in order to spend a wonderful holidays.The hotel has air conditioning in all rooms and restaurants in the summer season, in winter season has ventilation.

We hope to see you son at the THB Tropical Island and I hope to meet you personally to speak abou your experience at the hotel. Please, contact me if you have any query or special need for your next stay.

Thanks and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Spent two weeks here during Easter Holidays with my husband and teenage daughter. We had a wonderful holiday. The apartments are very basic but are cleaned six days out of seven with clean towels six days a week and the bedding changed twice a week. We used to come back to the room to find a swan made out of towels in the bathroom every day. Loved the smaller pools which were quieter than the main pool where all the entertainment was on. The snack bar was great with food served 12-5.30 everyday. It is quick food like burgers, pizza, chips and salad and jacket potatoes and tuna but great fro just getting a snack and not going to the restaurant. The main restaurant gets very busy but the food is good and they seem to do a themed evening every night with a carvery and Yorkshire puds on a Sunday! Lots of salad choices, a fresh cooked pasta and grill area and a childrens section. For each week you stay you can visit the tapas restaurant and pizzeria once each. We weren't too impressed with tapas restaurant but the pizzeria was great. My husband is a vegetarian who does not eat any meat or fish so he was stuck with just cheese and salad some nights but that is his choice, he certainly did not go hungry. The hotel provide a bus to and from the beach but we often walked into Playa Blanca which took about 20 mins on a well lit footpathed road. A taxi back form town costs 3 euros. Do get a key for the back gate as this saves you miles in walking but you only need it if you are going to be coming back after 10pm on a night otherwise the gate is open. they give you your gate deposit back when you hand in the key. We did not go to the entertain much as it is not our thing but we spoke to a lot of people who said the entertainment team for Thomas Cook were brilliant. The staff at the hotel are so friendly and helpful it is untrue. Unfortunately I had my handbag stolen from our hire car during a day out so lost all my money and passport. the Thomas Cook rep was useless and did not help at all but the staff at the hotel were amazing and helped me with phone calls to the consulate and by ringing the police for updates etc. You could not ask for better help from a hotel reception than I received especially from Joaquin & Olga who helped me through this very stressful time. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and certainly will go back again as apart from the handbag incident it is one of the best package holidays we have ever had.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest.:

Thank you very much for your positive review concerning your recent visit here at the Hotel THB Tropical Island.

With delight we read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us. This is exactly what we try to achieve with every single guest, as we know that holidays are a special time one keeps in fond memory.

With renewed thanks for taking the time to share your experience and recommending our hotel here on Tripadvisor; we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Thank you again for your special comments.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We weren't blessed by the greatest weather but it did not spoil our overall holiday. We travelled as 2 adults with a 13 year old son.

Tropical Island is a very big complex in fact it is 2 different apartment complexes knocked into one and this is where the problems start to arise.

There are 2 restaurants but they are very busy and queuing is the norm. The staff are cheerful and work very hard to clear tables but it is an uphill struggle. Getting food is a bit of a pitched battle with people running into each other or getting impatient. The tables are packed very closely together as the restaurants are not really big enough, so finding your way from getting your buffet to your table can sometimes be like negotiating Hampton Court maze. The food on offer is very good but usually on the cold side (there is a microwave available however).

The only bar/snack area open from 10am to 6pm is the Pool Bar. So naturally the entire population gravitate there meaning more queues. There is another bar but that opens at 6pm when the pool bar shuts. Perhaps both could be open to provide alternative places to go and distribute the holidaymakers a little better?

The complex is spotlessly clean and constantly being cleaned/tidied but the sun loungers in the complex are largely broken and dirty.

The spanish animation team were brilliant. Far more natural and funny than their Thomas Cook counterparts. We went to the Thomas Cook entertainment dome once during our holiday. It's great if you like super cheesy old Butlins style entertainment. Personally we preferred the spanish run entertainment dome (Carpa 2). There is very little entertainment for teenagers.

We went AI -- well its not actually. €15 for a weeks safe hire. €19 for wi fi for a week for ONE application. No sports TV lounge so I asked the reps where I could watch the Monaco Grand Prix - sorry, you'll have to walk into town (got free wi fi in Mollies bar tho!). A sports TV lounge is required in this complex.

Trips. We went on the Submarine trip which was expensive but very enjoyable. As was the Volcano National Park trip. The Marina Saturday and Wednesday market is well worth a visit if you want to buy local artisan pieces of jewellery and ornaments etc.

Overall THB Tropical Island is a good 3 star complex and I can understand why people return. My comments and suggestions above are intended as opportunities to make the complex even better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raiderbankk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for commenting that you will return during a future holiday break.

We take note of the list of things that you did not like during your stay, while at the same time thank you for mentioning the points that you did like.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at Sun tropical for a week in April 2014 and had a fantastic holiday, the thomas cook team we're amazing and went out of their way 2 ensure we had a good holiday. Ok the rooms were basic, but they were clean, food and drink was of a good standard and the pizza restaurant was lovely. My kids loved the snack bar and the kids corner in the buffet resturant. It wasn't the cleanist of places i've stayed and I did complain 2 the thomas cook team about the pool toilets but this was sorted straight away. We had a great holiday and would definitely stay here again. At the end of the day if you expect 5 star service then pay for it!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Logiebear5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear THB Tropical Island Guest: ,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us. Be sure that we will transfer your good words to the Animation Team.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Me my sister and our three children went here 22nd May - 29th May. It was brilliant. While we were there for 7 days our room was cleaned 6 days, clean towels every day and bedding changed twice. Room was clean and spacious and we were right next to one of the smaller pools. The rep staff went out of their way to make sure you enjoyed your holiday even myself and my sister got involved in poolside games. I am a fussy eater but every night there was a different choice of food and always something on that i liked. Breakfast brilliant. This is my second time here and will deffo be back. Everyone was friendly and we made some good friends. Rep staff make the place so enjoyable. The only downfall was the weather, it was freezing after our third day (take a jacket for a night time its bitter cold) but even though the weather was bad we still had a ball. Thanks sun Tropical

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shanksy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for sharing with us your opinion about your second visit to our hotel, we truly appreciate it

We take our guests comments very seriously as they help us pinpoint areas that have room for improvement, so the productive and helpful comments, in this case regarding the food topic, are always welcome!
Thank you for all your comments about food and clealiness, and also for your opinion about the stafff,
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.1 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#29 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
#25 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
20.6 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,800 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Tropical Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Tropical Island

Property: THB Tropical Island
Address: Fragata 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Tropical Island 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THB Tropical Island is a spectacular resort of 102,000 m2 located in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. Designed especially for families and groups of friends, it has everything you need so you can enjoy an unforgettable holiday within resort itself and just steps away from your apartment. In Hotel THB Tropical Island everyday fun is guaranteed. Our guests can enjoy 14 swimming pools, sports facilities, bars, theme restaurants and plenty of activities both for adults and children in the hands of our entertainment team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your THB Tropical Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tropical Playa Blanca
Sun Tropical Lanzarote
Holiday Village Sun Tropical Lanzarote
THB Tropical Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing