We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,404)
Filter reviews
3,404 results
Traveller rating
849
1,275
782
292
206
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
849
1,275
782
292
206
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgate keyself cateringmain poolisland sidepizza restauranttavern barentertainment domepremium apartmentkiwi blockpool barkids clubpremium areathomas cooksaladbig pooleach blocktapas
Filter
Updating list...
2,405 - 2,410 of 3,404 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2008

Booked this holiday on 5th Dcember 08 to travel on 7th december 08. Travlled with family All inclusive.
Flight with flyglobespan was excellent Hotel staff were very friendly, the food was out of this world - having been all inclusive on 5 prev. occasions to diffrent locations, this was by far the best quality, quantity and selection.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny24519356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2008

Returned from Sun Tropical last Thursday, 2 adults and 2 children (4 and 2) had a great time, kids already talking about going back.

The only disappointment was the weather and only one heated pool, but it is the end of Nov so can't really complain. Would benefit from a heated pool at the kids play area.

Complex is brilliant for young families, really relaxing and spacious, no hassle as you get at some busy resorts. Rooms were fine, kept clean.

Food in the main restaurant was the best we've had at an all inclusive resort, didn't feel the need to go to the spanish and italian restaurants.

Took the bus to the beach most afternoons, which was really clean and the marina was really nice. Walked back one day, too far for the young ones.

On a whole had a great time and looking to go back next spring.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WeeTamnBigDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2008

I must just say this was the BEST holiday me and my family have ever had (2 adults 27 yr olds and kids 4 & 1 yr old)

Read some of the reviews prior to leaving but had nothing to worry about.

ROOM: Excellent and the maid came every day except one.
VILLAGE: Everything my 4 yr old wanted from Kids Club, pools with slide, water splash area, play area and the DOME this was as some say cheesy but hey!! thats what the kids want they loved every minute. The reps and in 2 action staff were great. Theres also tennis courts, volleyball and 5 a side pitches (didn't use em but seen other people) Also the village is really big and theres no cramped feel. Be warned the big pool in November is absolutely FREEZING but lots were brave (including me as my 4 yr old insisted). Would reccomend getting the back gate key.
FOOD: Very nice with good variation in the buffet restaraunt and always being re filled by the army of staff. Didn't try the Pizza or Spanish we didn't need to. Also the Chicken Shack was very good.
DRINKS: Lots : - ) No really the local beer and spirits were very nice.
RESORT: We used the beach as you walk past the Yaiza Hotel this was excellent and took my oldest on the peddalos. The town and promenade were good to lots of shops, bars and cafes. It does take a good 10 mins to walk down there.

All in all i couldn't fault this holiday at all (except the hairdryer in the room TAKE YOUR OWN)

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DasW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

The weather was lovely but the complex was very disappointing.

There are lots of things for kids to do, but, as a young couple on holiday we were both left very disappointed by the travel agent, who convinced us this hotel would be suited to young couples.

The lage number of families and small children meant there was always some crying kid to disrupt the peace. In addition, there was no atmosphere in the evenings - everyone seemed to disappear after around 5pm (probably eating/putting kids to bed etc).

There were limited places to eat but short walks along the beach led to further bars and restaurants.

The food and drink was horribly overpriced and low quality. we ate pizza most nights (not easy to get wrong!).

The best thing about the holiday were a couple of the bars along the beach. They have live music and sell good cocktails (still expensive, but at least enjoyable). Only problem was that the live musicians alternate between the different bars, so we ended up in the same bar most nights (in order to see diffeent musicians!!!)

Overall the accomodation was comfortable and clean, although i have stayed in better 3* accomodation in the past (the hairdryer provided is inadequate, and i would advise taking your own).

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MancMollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2008

Booked holiday for 4 adults and 4 kids, all inclusive, from local 1st Choice Travel Agent. We were told this package was on comparison with a previous holiday we had been on last year at the Papagayo in the same resort. We would get premium seats on the plane and free car hire for 3 days (2 cars). Check in was fine and seats on plane (at front, extra leg room) were OK as long as you don't mind people queing next to you for the entire flight - desparate!! for the toilet. Hotel was clean and tidy with plenty of swimming pools for everyone. Went to get a snack when we arrived from the shack and found we had to choose form a different menu (all inclusive) to guests paying for their food (self catering). The same went for the drinks from the bar - the stuff was not worth drinking if you were all inclusive. This made us feel that we were been treated differently to guests who were self catering even though we had paid for our snacks, drinks etc up front in our all inclusive price. The breakfasts were basic but OK - not much variety. The lunches and evening dinners were terrible - not much choice, bland and not cooked properly. We did complain about this but nothing was done about it - apart from a complaint form being filled in. We did try the food on other occassions with no positive reults, so we ate out most evenings at 1 of the many superb restaurants on the sea front. This was extra cost to our all inclusive package. On the 3rd day of our holiday we went to pick up our "FREE" 3 day car hire. On arrival we were told it would cost an extra 49 euro for each car to cover insurance - we declined the car hire, went back to the hotel, told the rep, he said he was going to look into it and get back to us - he didn't. A different car hire firm offered us 4 days car hire with full cover for 60 euro's each.

The hotel itself was OK, it was just that we had paid for an All Inclusive holiday and there is no way that we got what we paid for in the way of food and drink - quantity and quality.

I have read some good reviews on this hotel and I just can't believe that they were at the same hotel as us. For this holiday First Choice was a bad choice

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 2plus2NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews