We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I spent a week here the week before Easter as a last minute get away. Location is great with lots of walks especially along the front to the marina. Hotel is great for families although ours are grown up now you could see that the children there were enjoying themselves. Could be a problem if you have walking difficulties though. The food was was good for all inclusive and liked they offered gluten free and diet biscuits. Also liked that there was a restaurant for adults only and a quiet section in the main restaurant seeing as we didn't have children. The only down fall of the holiday was the quality of the beds which in our room had two so called twin beds but these were like camp beds and they tended to move across the tiled floor when you turned over which really annoyed my husband this said the mattress was comfortable. Overall the holiday was good and any holiday is what you make it!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TLT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,230 - 1,236 of 2,976 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Having not holidayed outside the uk for close on 10 yrs , we were excitedly looking forward to our holiday at flamingo beach resort.The brochure promised us multiple swimming pools and numerous places to eat, what we got was drastically reduced hotel facilities due to extensive renovations being carried out.Hammering,drilling and sawing,the furnishings and appliances dumped outside the appartments. This was more like a building site than a Thomson handpicked complex.Whilst trying to block out the building site atmosphere at the swimming pool ,we were greeted by the sight of an army of high viz clad workmen marching into the only available restaurant for their refreshments.If we had known in advance of these renovations to the hotel then we may have had the opportunity to alter our booking.Unfortunately we were never afforded this option.Bitterly dissapointed !!! and bitterly annoyed !!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank williamsr174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed at the Flamingo over the Easter holidays, 17th to 27th April.We were initially in room 32B, which seemed fine - overlooking the activity pool, easy access to rest of resort & right on the path down to the beach.

Unfortunately, on our 2nd day things started to go badly wrong. They shut down the 2 a la carte restaurants, the adult only restaurant & the Atlantic Bar. The next day they boarded off half the resort, closing the 'Quite Pool / Bar'. There was zero evening entertainment for the kids, just people sat around the dingy 'Blue Moon' bar looking bemused at how awful this place is. To top it all, First Choice then decided to shut down their kids club half way through the holiday for staff training - in the middle of the Easter School holidays, honestly!

On day 4, we awoke to drilling at 8am so demanded to be moved & ended up in 28D, a much larger room with a nice sea view. During the last 6 days, the placed resembled a building site, with workmen all over the resort (they even piled into the restaurant one evening!). As soon as someone checked out, they were straight in there with the drills & hammers banging away with complete disregard for the guests. The resort was also swarming with security guards - don't know whether to keep an eye on the workmen or all the angry holiday makers!

It ended up like a Spanish version of Fawlty Towers. They took down the photos of the management team in reception, presumably to avoid them being recognised (the manager just wandered around all day pretending to be on the phone to avoid having to speak to guests). The funniest thing of all was however them moving the sign outside the 'Atlantic Bar' (by the kids playground) to above the outdoor seating of the grotty Blue Moon bar (presumably in a pathetic attempt to pretend they hadn't closed down yet another facility).

Even when going to the beach you couldn't escape the chaos, as they were hammering away on pneumatic drills in the beach front villas.

Despite all this, we actually had a good holiday! The weather was lovely & all the fellow guests were very pleasant, Millie & Matthew made some nice friends. I'd also have to admit that the food in the one restaurant that remained open was very good (freshly grilled fish, juicy steaks every night). There was however a feeling of things running out, e.g. switching from Carte D'or to cheap ice cream etc. On the plus side, as the resort was only half full, it was very easy to get a sun-bed & the restaurant wasn't crowded. The beach was nice & Playa Blanca is a nice resort. Despite these positives, the hotel still deserves a 1* rating for the complete and utter contempt it showed to it's guests during this period.

Credit to the young First Choice Rep (Luci), who was very helpful under difficult circumstances. We received a 20% refund + some free waterpark tickets.

We went on the submarine & volcano trips & also took the water speedboat to Papagayo beach. All very enjoyable.

I believe this hotel is now closed until mid-June. They are however undertaking a massive refurbishment - if you are booked shortly after the re-opening (or indeed any time during 2014), I would badger both the hotel & your tour operator for a firm assurance that your holiday won't be impacted (although I emailed First Choice a few weeks before departure & was told I wouldn't be affected).

Room Tip: if you have a room on the reception side of the pool, then request an A rather than B room unless yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GMMM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

arrived on the 22nd april to be offered 15% back onholiday before anything else...building work, work men walking through hotel with lamps, fridges etc as when guests leave theygut the room with no thought to any customer at all. life guard eating lunch around pool, ice cream mess left un cleaned for two days..10 people queing daily to argue with a rep that as no clue what so ever..reception staff no manners..rooms un clean no towels and sheets left on patio table so that you make you own beds up...got left with one restaraunt as everything closed this stunk of sick..husband was sick the list goes on finally moved to the rubicon palace after constant complaning this was a proper hotel and a must for all wanting a proper standard holiday...the flamingo needs knocking down and starting again awful staff, andmanager only saving grace is location but then buy a tent and pitch it on the beach as you would have a betterholiday...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

As mentioned before, the hotel is going through a massive over haul with all it's rooms being renovated. The rooms were nice anyway and very spacious so I think the end result will be excellent. Due to the hotel closing tomorrow to finish the refurb it was a little disappointing that they closed all their restaurants except the main buffet whilst we were there and the kids club entertainment was very limited. That said the resort was still very nice, a very attractive pool that is heated (the kids splash pool is not) and a huge choice of food with very good quality. There is a cafe by the pool 'Thea's Cafe' which is also the pool bar and serves fresh coffee including lattes and cappuccinos and also serves a large range of alcoholic drinks and fresh smoothies. Ice cream and lolly pops are available for the kids all day long!! We had a lovely holiday and would definitely return. The beach is so close and probably the nicest i've stayed by. If you like stretching your legs there is a volcano within walking distance - 20 mins to the bottom and about 30 mins on to the top and Playa Blanca 25 mins along the promenade. We stayed in room D13 right by the pool with a lovely view of the sea from the balcony, it was very convenient room with the kids and I would definitely opt for the same room again.

Room Tip: We had D13, front steps walked down to the pool, balcony was at back overlooking Fuerteventura and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CazM06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A fantastic complex especially for families,we have just returned and they are now having a refurb to update all of the rooms,sections were closed off to start the work and some things were closed but it didn't spoil our fun! The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from Playa blanca a lovely walk along the promenade,there is a beach with beautiful clear waters in front of the hotel,definitely worth a visit,and there is a waterpark approx 15 min walk which is great if you have young children.The hotel itself is spotless and the restaurants and bars are too,food is very varied to cater for everyone and is of a good standard.We had room A48 which overlooked the pool and sea which was a fab location. Everywhere in the hotel is accessible by ramps which is fab for buggies or wheelchairs,we had a fab holiday and we will definitely return after the refurb.

Room Tip: Ask for any rooms starting with an A they have a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lea1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Food - probably as good as we have we have experienced with AI !! Plenty of choice - ranging from the basics of hot dogs and pizzas through to freshly cooked/grilled food at all three main meals. Plenty of authentic european choices in the main restuarants.

Pools - fairly busy, as there were quite a few young dutch and scandanavian families but they were perfectly well behaved and we could always find a quiet corner to sunbathe.

Accommodation - functional but perfectly adequate with ample wardrobe/storage space - though you might want to bring half a dozen extra hangers.

Location - right on the seafront adjacent to a pleasant clean beach. Very safe for bathing as there is a man-made breakwater. Playa Blanca has a 4-5 mile promenade that runs from the Marina to the Lighthouse. This hotel is situated closer to the lighthouse than the marina but the entire promenade is well paved and a very pleasant walk in both directions. There are plenty of bars and restuarants towards the town and the walk is a manageable 1 mile. If you were eating out every night I would stay nearer to the town.

All in all - a very pleasant experience !!

Room Tip: I believe that you can e-mail the hotel and ask for a beach front bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank STEVE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.2 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,536 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.9 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,985 reviews
1.4 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort

Address: Avenida de Canarias S/N | Playa Flamingo, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £103 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Club Gold medal in 2007 and 2008 with Thomson.Flamingo beach just some steps away.Great offer of Restaurants, bars and entertainment.Football pitch and tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Playa Flamingo Apartments
Playa Flamingo Lanzarote
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing