We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We had booked to go to Club Playa Blanca, but were told they hadn't got 2 rooms together for our family group holiday, so they moved us to Rio Playa Blanca. What a great move!! On arrival the staff were very welcoming and helpful, checking in was very quick and straight forward. very pleased with the accommodation, set in single bungalows in beautifully kept grounds. Basic furnishings but very comfortable. Maids in 6 out of 7 days, all the cleaners around the hotel work extremely hard to keep it clean. The animation team are a great asset to the hotel, normally as we don't have children with us the animation team can be a bit annoying, but this team is fab, very friendly with activities for everyone, also very entertaining. The food was very good, in fact it got even better as the days went by, so instead of getting a bit fed up, which you can do when all inclusive, we didn't at all, something for everyone and plenty of it.The pool area is beautiful and spacious with plenty of sunbeds and shaded areas if needed. The pools themselves are fantastic, very clean and well maintained. All the staff around the hotel from the cleaners, to the groundmen, to the waitresses and bar staff to reception, are always very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. It was good to see a presence of the director of the hotel, he greeted you when you went in the restaurant or anywhere around the hotel, he very much welcomed your comments. Playa Blanca itself is a pretty resort, no loud nightlife, which suits us fine. I feel this hotel will go from strength to strength with the commitment of the staff, and I wish the team all the best for the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bernieald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

My partner and my three daughters , my mum and husband all booked here for a week in June . Arrived late evening around 11p.m , was late and dark. On arrival we were all advised we had an evening meal waiting . We were told where to find our apartments and basically left to find them in the dark as inadequate lighting . We had a nightmare trying to find them and my step dad fell over and resulting in a big bruise! The apartments also are in complete darkness, so resulting in stumbling around in the dark and trying to find the lights and the card system that gets them to come on ! Would strongly advise , if you arrive late ,ask to be shown to your apartment! The apartments were in good clean condition although could do with modernising. Very spacious and comfy and felt private . Good sleep quality. The food was plentiful and nice and never a fight for sunbeds. location is good , a fifteen minute walk from a lovely beach Flamingo and a few euro taxi ride to the town centre with bigger beach. There is a sister hotel near called Paradise , which guests from this hotel were using there also (all inclusive). The animation team were really friendly and my two daughters aged 20 and 21 got chatting and they went out with them in the evenings and got shown the local night club and had the best time ever! Outside the front of this hotel is another one opposite with a big water park and someone told me it was free to use ! All in all apart from the bad start , this hotel i would say is more of a 3 star than a 4 but a nice place to stay at and we all had a fab holiday here. Beaches and town are amazing and well worth a look .

Room Tip: Ask to be shown to your apartment if you arrive in the dark !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gail-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My husband and myself arrived by chance at the Hotel Rio after an over booking at our original choice of accomodation.
It turned out to be brilliant!!
We arrived after an early flight, our room was not ready but we were given our AI Bands early so we could have lunch, drinks etc while we waited. When we got to our bungalow, it was spacious, clean and a very large terrace for sititng to enjoy the sun. The pool area was big, clean and we had no problem every day locating sun beds. The food was of a very high standard and throughout the whole 2 weeks we were there I think they only served the same thing once. There is a BBQ every Wednesday night and the staff are very polite, helpful and chatty& nothing was too much trouble. There are activities going on throughout the day with an excellent animation tean who were fun, friendly and up for a really good laugh but in no way did we feel forced to participate in any of the activities. The evening entertainment was good and the animation team did a few shows of their own which were really entertaining, fun & funny. There was also a kids club throughout the day and although we didn't have any kids with us it was a joy to see them having so much fun! There is also a 'Rio Club Dance' which the animation team do at lunchtime and at the end of the entertainment at night, it is really good fun so if you visit it really is a must! It is only a 5-10 minute leisurely stroll along the front to the shops, bars, restaurants etc and if you fancy an Indian meal the Tandoor House is well worth a visit, we were there 3 years ago, returned again this time and it was still as delicious! There is also a Ferry that will take you to Fuerteventura for the day and its costs 25 Euros return.
We landed up in The Rio due to an over booking and too be honest I am now looking to book for next year! It's well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Myself and my partner stayed stayed here mid/late June. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist speaking good English. We were very impressed by the pool area and even more impressed by our bungalow which was clean and tidy. It was cleaned on a daily basis with bedding and towels being changed regularly. We found the restaurant pleasant with a nice selection of food. Always fresh. Staff were very friendly and constantly cleaning away plates and tables. We found the pool area clean with plenty of sun-lounges The entertainment team (Animacion) were amazing. Spoke very good English amongst other languages and were always happy to help and entertain. Activities such as water aerobics, ping pong, darts and football were played daily and were great fun which lots of Nationalities joining in. There is also a kids club for families with children which looked enjoyable for the young ones. We found it was a 10 minute walk to the beach and about a 20min walk to the main resort of Playa Blanca which was very enjoyable along the seafront. Overall we had a brilliant time and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Having read the reviews on this site in respect of this hotel, my friend and I were somewhat dubious. We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of May 2012 and can only describe it as an excellent holiday. The apartments are well kept with our only grumble being a slightly dirty floor (sand) which did not appeared to be cleaned fully. Regardless, the towels were taken regularly, the beds were clean and made daily and as for the bar and restaurant staff, you could not ask for a more friendly bunch. The same goes for the "Animacion" team who are very friendly; a special thank you to them as they were inclusive but also knew when to leave people alone who wished to keep themselves to themselves. Brilliant!

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the complex which was nearest to the back gate allowing easy access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Debs_2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

First, can't praise the staff enough, they are friendly and helpful.

The food - is fresh, but not a lot of variety. Plenty of salads and hot food, but very same-ish, and disappointingly little seafood. I also found it very disappointing indeed, that they did not have a single proper coffee machine in the whole place, it was all instant. On an all-inclusive i do expect to get instant (sadly) but also expect to be able to pay a bit extra and get a proper coffee - not an option here.

The cleanliness - ummm. Room (decor a bit tired, but ok) was very clean when we arrived, but contained the world's biggest cockroach; and we had follow-up visits from a couple of his brothers despite liberally spraying the substantial gaps under the doors with cockroach-death-spray (and then blocking them with a tea towel), which was quickly supplied by the hotel. This and the smell (see below) meant it was not really on, to have the windows open in the room much. Also I was needing to take daily baths due to a recent operation and the bathtub was not cleaned once during the week. Unfortunately our room was also near the hotel's cesspit, so too aromatic to sit on the terrace.

Apart from the room, the area around the swimming pool was also - well - the chocolate ice cream that had been spilt on the Monday was still there when we left Thursday evening, dried up but still a mucky stain; and there were quite a few cracked tiles around the pool area that where left for a few days before being attended to - not good for bare feet. the gardens are well-planted and tended and very pleasant, but litter bins not emptied quite often enough and on a couple of occasions we saw bags of litter, left overnight on the ground.

Oh and the beds are awful. Just awful. Plastic covering (over a poor mattress) so squeaky and sticky, and the wood was creaky too. Worst week's sleep in a very long time.

DEFINITELY not a 4-star hotel.

As for the location, the description of '10 minutes walk from the centre' was a bit optimistic. We did it in about 12 but at a brisk pace with our running shoes on!

Room Tip: avoid the South-West corner where the cesspit is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank missflis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed here at the end of April into May 2012.
Arrived at hotel later then scheduled (early hours) Receptionist was helpful and asked us if we'd like a meal which was unusual though thoughtful. Personally showed us to our bungalow.
All aspects of the holiday were great with no grievances.
Very quiet location and facilities were above average.
All staff were helpful and friendly. Food was excellent with plenty of choice and of very high quality. 15 minutes to the beach, also pretty beach further along. Lovely promenade for walks. we'd go back again!

Room Tip: Room number 1096 was quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Todd767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.6 mi away
HL Club Playa Banca
HL Club Playa Banca
#31 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,128 reviews
1.2 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,932 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,468 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
2.4 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca

Address: Avenida Archipielago, 4, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly HL Rio Playa Blanca)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £95 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rio Playa Blanca is situated in the south of the island in a tranquil location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, in the middle of a wonderful garden of palm trees. The sandy Playa Flamingo beach and the beach promenade can be reached within approx. 500 mtrs and the village center of Playa Blanca with its restaurants, bars and shops after approx. 1500 mtrs. A free shuttle bus service is arranged several times a day to the “Dino Park” at the sister hotel Paradise Island. The main building and the 190 one story bungalows are distributed on the approx. 80.000m2 grounds. The reception with Internet corner (against charge), a salon bar and the restaurant with non smoking zone and terrace can be found in the main building. Wifi is available throughout the entire premises against charge. The hotel facilities include as well a pool bar, 2 freshwater pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04), a sun terrace with sun beds (free) and a playground. Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. A multi purpose sport ground, Boccia, Darts and table football, as well as a varied daytime animation program and evening shows /live music complete the offered arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Rio Hotel Playa Blanca
Hl Rio Playa Blanca
Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing