We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
Nearby Hotels
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
H10 Rubicon Palace(Playa Blanca)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,850)
Filter reviews
1,850 results
Traveller rating
454
684
402
178
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
454
684
402
178
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelanimation teamwater parkpool areatropical nightgreat holidaytropical partybedroom bungalowplenty of choiceair conplenty of sunbedsmini discobit datedsomething for everyonewater poloself servicekids club
Filter
Updating list...
809 - 814 of 1,850 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

my family stayed at this hotel for christmas and new year and on the very first day we wanted to return home. the staff were very rude and all of the other guests staying at the hotel were german and french families. we were all inclusive but ended up eating out all the time as the food was terrible. their was suppose to be a heated pool during winter months but all of the 3 pools were ice cold so the children would not go in it. their was no kind of entertainmement for the children as also stated in the brocure. all the evening entertainment was in german and spanish so we hardly stayed on site at all. this is meant to be a 4 star hotel i would not even class it a 3 star. also the hotel is in the midle of no were and if you wanted to be in the heart of the resort i would not recomend this hotel as we had to get a bus and taxi to were we wanted to go. we will NEVER be returning again , we was very dissapointed!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Two years ago along with my husband and 2 sons we made our first visit to Hotel Rio Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. We enjoyed our visit and left a review on this site. Last week I revisited again with husband and 2 sons, now 14 and 15 years. We have just got home having had a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable pre Christmas break. Once again, we appreciated the low rise bungalows set in well tended gardens. It was only a few minutes walk to a beautiful golden sandy beach and the Rubicon Marina is well worth a visit especially on market day. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Last time I mentioned the beds being uncomfortable but with mattress toppers now in place the beds were comfortable. Rooms are cleaned every day apart from Friday and linen changed mid stay. Our All inclusive tariff provided us with an abundance of lovely food, lots and lots of variety - it was difficult to choose just what to eat. Breakfast consisted of full English, continental or combination, so much choice, my sons not used to having breakfasts these days tucked in. Lunch-time was excellent - lots of choice to suit the different nationalities catered for. The huge well stocked salad bar offered plenty of choice, including fruit salad, always a soup available and then several choices of main course plus vegetables, potatoes/chips/rice etc. A multi choice sweets table finished off the meal - if you could manage to decide what to have. Fresh fruit was always available as was several different flavours of ice-cream or sorbet. The evening was a repeat of the lunch-time but with different choices. Most evenings were themed - Chinese, Mexican, Italian and Canarian specialities (complete with trio who serenaded us whilst we ate - thanks guys for the 'special' song especially for us. The staff as on the previous visit were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We could name them all, but as each one was special we don't want to miss anyone out. They all contributed to our excellent holiday. One evening, a light bulb went in the bedroom - it was replaced even before we returned to the room. One tip - as we were travelling with Ryanair, we only took hand luggage, the on-site laundrette washed the clothes whilst we ate and they were dry before it was time to retire for the night. 2 washes/dries cost only 18 Euros (wash powder and conditioner provided in the cost) - much cheaper than the cost of taking extra 'hold' luggage. We only sat in on 2 of the evening entertainment sessions - due to age of children. Husband and children took part in daytime activities, shooting, archery,etc whilst I relaxed with a good book by the pool. One disappointment was our visit to the sister hotel with the Waterpark. We enjoyed the food there (included in our all inclusive), but the site seemed so squashed and crampt when compared with Rio Playa Blanca. We had paid for a 'Waterpark room' which included free access to waterpark and shuttle service but only went once and stayed for only a few minutes once we had finished our lunch. Our only 'gripe' with was the fact that the heated swimming pool at Rio Playa Blanca - was in fact not heated - we were told that the system had broken down. This in no way spoiled our holiday but some families, especially those with young families were disappointed. All in all another excellent holiday - Thanks Rio Playa Blanca - we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms near the road suffer some night time road noise.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Canon1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment & thank you for coming back to our Hotel.
We are very happy to read that you had a wonderful holiday and really enjoyed.
We wish you a happy new year & a fantastic New Year's Eve.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We have recently stayed in this hotel, with our 3 year old twins. The hotel was lovely and clean and the staff were very friendly and especially fantastic with the twins. The food was really good, very wide selection and was of a high standard. The only thing that let us down was the fact that the hotel was advertised as having a "heated swimming pool". This was not the case, there was no heated pool and we were disappointed as this was one of the reasons we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

First time visiting this hotel and Playa Blanca and going all inclusive and was a bit worried from reading some of the reviews but I like to make my own mind up. The bungalows were lovely and spacious, set in beautiful gardens with a lot of space around them. We were in 1020 which was near the exit gate to go down to the beach (1500m away). The pool area was nice , loads of sunbeds so no problem getting one .The pool although advertised as heated in Jet2 Brochure was NOT !! This was one reason why I had booked it so that was disappointing but did managed to venture in once . Animation team where good during the day and got you involved.
Now the food . It was really good especially Breakfasts and lunches .plenty of choice and it was fresh and replenished regularly but you must like salads which we do so that was ok . Wine and beer on tap to help yourself during dinner , could get very busy in restaurant and tables not cleared that quickly.
Drinks at pool bar were great but in main lounge bar were ok but beer seemed to go flat quickly.
All in all had a great holiday and would return to this hotel and to Playa Blanca

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liz p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We went to Rio Playa Blanca for 2 weeks. Hotel nice and tidy, spacious bungalows. Good choice of food( not enough fruits,and sea foods), very little choice of snacks between meals. Quite a lot of choice from the bar for drinks. Staff very professional and helpfull (except some bar staff). Animation team was keeping amused my 4 years old boy,also me and my wife apart of night entertainment what was boring and aimed to Spanish pensioners. Pool was lovely and clean even if a bit cold. we had never problem to get sunbed what was fantastic 10 minutes walk to nearest beach,about 30 minutes stroll to Playa Blanca resort (too far).We had very nice holiday, went to Fuerteventura and Timanfaya National Park what was great even for 4 years old child.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin19761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are very happy that you spent a great time in our hotel.
We will pass the mentioned points to the departments in charge in order to improve our services.

We wish you all the best & remain with

best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews