We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday feel got our value for money.
Bungalow very spacious with cooking facility, fridge was handyand large patios fantastic - numbering a bit confusing
Food was hot and enough to choose from however snack bar facility poor.
Pool Bar open until 6pm then main bar opens. Only 1 small bar but has plenty of seating outside however entertainment took place in bar area hot and stuffy.
Q for dinks no waiter service.
Cleaner 5 days out of 7 towels changed when required.
Hotel is a bit dated ie palm parasols could no with being refreshed with new palm leave which are abundant large gaps and dried out don't keep you shaded very well.
Staff great. Great for families. Not the best bus service on Lanzarote bit of a walk to centre.
Would recommend this hotel but not at peak times due to impossible to get drinks at bar in the evenings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaggieB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear MaggieB123,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor and for highlighting our team and the value for money.

We truly regret to learn that we were not entirely able to live up to your expectations and wish to thank you for your feedback. Since we constantly follow-up guests' reviews and concerns, please be assured that we share your comments with the relevant departments and also check if we can change something for the better, especially the umbrellas and the queus at the bar.

With kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

698 - 704 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had a good time and food was good, plenty of options. Kids entertainment is not the best so we wer going to the hotel opposite on the nights for entertainment.
The pool was freezing cold even thou when we booked it did say half of the pool is heated, ITS NOT.
you can walk 10 mins up the rd to the sister hotel and still use all inclusive, the kids loved it there as they have a great kids pool with slides and kids soft play and park area.
I would advise to book the sister hotel if you have kids due to this.
But we did have a great Holliday here.
I wouldn't go back as lanzorote is to windy for me. But this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellyandwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Kellyandwes,

Thank you very much for having chosen HL Rio Playa Blanca.

We are glad to hear that your overall experience was positive and that you enjoyed the food and the water park.

We regret that your experience was affected by the low temperature of the pool. A new solar heating system is being put in place now, and we hope to solve this problem very soon!

Once again we wish to thank you for your valuable comments that help us to improve.

We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again and remain

With best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

As others have said, the hotel is nice and the staff friendly. The sub tropical gardens are beautifully maintained and the bungalows are spacious if somewhat dated; there are no irons or ironing boards available. The real problem was the pool temperature, my 10 month old simply could not go in it and my 4 year old turned blue and shivering after less than 20 minutes - there is absolutely no excuse for this. This is not a hotel to take infants who cannot yet walk, there are no soft areas anywhere in the hotel to let them crawl and the toddlers pool is surrounded by tiles which become slippery and caused accidents. Had the pool temperature been warm and a soft area around the toddlers pool I would have given it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayleigh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Kayleigh E,

We are glad to hear that your overall experience was positive and that you enjoyed the gardens. Thank you very much for giving us a five star rating for cleanliness. Our housekeeping team will be delighted to read that.

We are very sorry to read that you were not able to enjoy the pool due to its low temperature. There has been a solar heating installed and we will now try to heat the water of the pool with solar energy.

Once again we wish to thank you for your valuable comments that help us to improve.

We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again and remain

With best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It's ok! We stayed here for 1 wk with my husband and 4 yr old. Overall it's average, certainly not 4 star in my opinion. Was always plenty of food, although snacks around the bar were very poor. The waterpark was good and u could use your all inclusive there too, their food and snacks were better. Not a lot of information is given to you and you about the hotel or what your all inclusive includes, you have to ask reception all the time. The pool is freezing but were always plenty sunbeds available. Hotel is in a great location, short walk to beach and only a 4euro taxi to the town. The bar area where evening entertainment is held is small so get there early if u want a seat. Bungalows are in need of a makeover but a good size. I'd say, expect 3 star accommodation and you won't be too disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Topsy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Topsy30,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience of your recent stay at HL Rio Playa Blanca.

We truly regret to hear that your stay was not all it could or should have been .and we are sorry that we were not able to exceed your expectations in all areas.

Therefore we wish to assure you that all of your comments have been noted and will be discussed with the Management-Team.

We do hope though that you still could enjoy your stay ith us and are happy to learn that you especially liked our Dino Park and that you were content with the location of our hotel.

In the name of all staff members we would like to thank you again for vacationing with us and we hope you could consider to give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Sincerely

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The accommodation was immaculate, a little dated but totally big enough and functional. We used the hob for a real cuppa and the fridge/freezer was also handy. The resort is small but we liked that, we never struggled for a sunbed no matter what time we woke! The pool is freezing and other reviewers have said the sea is actually warmer but this is what you normally get at the start of a season. The shared toilets near the bar were always clean although we did see lots of kiddies using them unattended so the odd accident was seen. The staff were very helpful and the chap at reception was always on hand to help, we were only given a single pillow each so I asked him for one more each these were delivered that same afternoon. The food was overall very good, each meal had a choice of meat(usually pork or on the bone chicken) a fish dish and a paella as well as lots of fresh salads and sides. Puddings I'm informed by my children were lovey. The queue for meals around 7pm was a little annoying and this is due to the size of the eating area so I advise you have a drink and leave it til 8ish. The sister hotel with the water park is a 15min walk away however they do put on a shuttle bus...it's far bigger there and your all inclusive usage is usable there just the same, so we made a day of the slides and ate lunch there. In the waterpark you can only get soft drinks and it's ruddy expensive using the vending machines so eat before you go in! Our children were 9 & 7 and totally loved both resorts. The HL RIO is quite predominantly used by Spanish "senior aged" holiday makers however they're all very friendly and never objected to the kids playing. The animation team work very hard but it was a little too cheesy for us to bear some nights. We didn't hire the towels as we normally would but bought ones in town for €4 each. There is a beautiful white beach 5mins away down a little road opposite the apartments limones as you walk towards the town which has a man made lagoon which was lovely to swim in. Town is nice and friendly I can recommend mollies bar in the Papagayo centre for a family night out with live music and Gravity bar close by for amazing cocktails. Taxis are €4 to town and €40 for the airport trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stocksfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear stocksfamily,

Thank you for your recommendation and for sharing your impressions of HL Rio Playa Blanca on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to hear that you spent a relaxing holiday and that you were satisfied with our facilities and service.

We are glad that our staff and animation team were able to provide you with the desired service, and that you also enjoyed our sister hotel HL Paradise Island.

Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future, we send our best wishes from Lanzarote.

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a fantastic holiday.The food was excellent my son is quite picky but always had a good meal.The animation team work so hard and during the 2 weeks there we hardly saw our son.Yes the pool is cold but once your in its lovely.our room was adequate for our needs.we didn't spend much time in there.The staff are very friendly and helpful. And we're rebooking for next year.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Samantha B,

We truly enjoyed reading the feedback of your recent stay with us and appreciate your kind words of our staff, animation and facilities- Thank you!

We are looking forward to hosting you again in the next year!

With kind regards,

the management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel was very clean,the staff were very helpful and very polite,always willing to help..
Two grandchildren age 14 and 11,very fussy eaters were going back for more..We would
certainly go back to this hotel and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All room are dotted around the spacious grounds like small bungalows.There is no hotel as such.we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Geaorge T,

We wish to thank you for choosing HL Rio Playa Blanca and for your friendly recommendation on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you spent a great holiday with your grandchildren here with us.

The entire team was very happy about your review and we all hope to welcome you again soon for a return visit to Lanzarote.

With kind regards,

the management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.6 mi away
HL Club Playa Banca
HL Club Playa Banca
#31 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,124 reviews
1.2 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,925 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#27 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,461 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
2.4 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca

Address: Avenida Archipielago, 4, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly HL Rio Playa Blanca)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £95 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rio Playa Blanca is situated in the south of the island in a tranquil location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, in the middle of a wonderful garden of palm trees. The sandy Playa Flamingo beach and the beach promenade can be reached within approx. 500 mtrs and the village center of Playa Blanca with its restaurants, bars and shops after approx. 1500 mtrs. A free shuttle bus service is arranged several times a day to the “Dino Park” at the sister hotel Paradise Island. The main building and the 190 one story bungalows are distributed on the approx. 80.000m2 grounds. The reception with Internet corner (against charge), a salon bar and the restaurant with non smoking zone and terrace can be found in the main building. Wifi is available throughout the entire premises against charge. The hotel facilities include as well a pool bar, 2 freshwater pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04), a sun terrace with sun beds (free) and a playground. Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. A multi purpose sport ground, Boccia, Darts and table football, as well as a varied daytime animation program and evening shows /live music complete the offered arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Rio Hotel Playa Blanca
Hl Rio Playa Blanca
Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing