We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
THe Mirador Papagayo
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This was an outstanding family hotel. We enjoyed our stay from start to finish.
We booked a family room however on arrival we were allocated a one bedroomed apartment in the annex which overlooked the 'quiet pool'. This meant we had more space and a kitchenette with full sized fridge freezer and micowave oven. The room and hotel was spotlessly clean.
The staff at all times were friendly and helpful.
The meals were of good quality with plenty of choices however there were no 'themed evenings' so the food after a fortnight did become a little monotonous.
The Animation Team were very friendly and provided lots of activities throughout the day and a number of shows in the evenings. The Lion King and Mama Mia were excellent.
We did have to get up early to secure sunbeds with parasols, however this seems part of the course for most hotels in peak season.Pool towels were available free (deposit required, 10 E ) which ois useful.
The hotel itself is in a quiet location. The new Marina was a 15 mins pleasant walk along the Promenade. Worth a visit on Wed and Sat for Craft Market. Playa Blanca is a further 20 min walk from the Marina along the Promanade. The hotel did provide a free shuttle bus into Playa Blanca at regular intervals throughout the day. Also there is a regular bus service.
Couldn't fault this hotel and will return!

Room Tip: Apartments are located in the Annex and are spacious. The all overlook the quieter pool and although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 19catherine63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,475 - 1,481 of 2,996 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

Have never written a review before but felt compelled to do so having read some poor reviews on this Hotel.
- Yes some of the decor was dated but it was always spotlessly clean.
- The food was fabulous at every meal, with lots of variety, catered for all and Im a very fussy eater. The waiting staff couldn't have tried harder, extremely efficient and helpful. They made a big effort to address you in your own language although we tried (not very successfully) to address them in Spanish! .
- The room was spotless, air conditioning worked more than sufficiently, shower fabulously powerful and room always spotlessly cleaned and I liked the way you could change the towels when they were dirty which saved needless wasted washing and Im not sure what day they changed the beds because the sheets always appeared crisp and new!
- Sunbeds weren't a problem really, we were up and about by 9am and there was always plenty available then and when we came back during the day we always managed to find three even if we had to manoeuvre them together. More of a problem to get an umbrella but it was very windy and they kept blowing over and breaking so I guess they perhaps needed a more ready supply of replacements!
- Couldn't fault the Entertainment team - except to say it would have been better if they hadn't mimed during their West End show performances but then I didn't pay £50 plus for a West End show ticket! They were very polite and enthusiastic at all times and there was no pressure to join in if you didn't want too! The fact that they were fluent in so many languages put us to shame!
- Free crisps and peanuts during the entertainment was a nice touch.
- The beach was a hike but there was a regular bus service.
- The nearby marina was beautiful and well worth a visit and a lovely walk along the promenade.

All in all we found this Hotel fantastic value for what we paid for it and would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Never thought to ask for a better room but would definitely give it a try next time for a sea view b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Arrived aorund 1am and were promptly checked in. First impressions were we had chosen a very nice clean hotel. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic so much choice and wasnt dissapointed with lunch and dinner. Be warned gents you will not get in for dinner without wearing full length trousers. The best all inclusive that ive stayed at. Alot of other guests that we spoke to said the same. Bottles of Carlsberg available at the Flamingo bar. Not on display but no problems when you ask for it. Have read lots of issues regarding sunbeds although they were a bit short never had a real problem getting one. There were people in and around the pool from around 8.30am - 7pm. Mornings were a bit overcast but cleared away by lunchtime. The burgers in the pool bar are great and they have a slush machine which go down a treat with some vodka or gin. The anamation team work so hard and are always keeping the kids entetained and have a weekly timetable so you know whats going on for the week. They were all great however a special mention for Chris and Nelson who are a credit to the hotel. On our last day we were leaving before their Michael Jackson tribute act so were given a 5 minute preview of this which was very good. All staff are very friendly and speak good english. Brilliant value for money had an excellent holiday cant rate it highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nadine223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Dear Tripadvisor,

Last april we stayed a week at hotel Iberostar Papagayo, Playa Blanca, Lanzarote.
The first impression was not good. Furniture is old and damaged, bathroom clean, but old. The blue tiles are worn. The general feeling is that of an outdated hotel.

The swimming pool area is nice, but (very) crowded, we had trouble finding chairs each day. When we asked the pool guy for chairs, we waited for 45 minutes, and then he said to go find some ourselves. This helpful attitude is spread among a lot (not all) of the hotel personel.

Brings us to the food: average at best, quality as well as choice, diversity. We ate out several times, although we had an all inclusive arrangement. There are some very nice restaurants in the neighborhood, the yacht haven to be precise.

No wifi, but at a secluded spot in the lobby and bar, at outrages prices.

We enjoyed the week, you get used to a lot of things, but when leaving, having asked for early breakfast, we find exactly 1 slice of bread, nothing else. We were disappointed, again, but not surprised.

Think twice before you go here. We payed good money, and would have been better off elsewhere, there is plenty of choice around.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timeisatrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

stayed 1 week in march,everything about this hotel is first class.we upgraded to a seaview,junior suite and it was worth every penny.we had our own sun loungers on the terrace looking out to sea,really nice if you just want to relax and read.or sunbath.the food was execellant lots of ,choice.the wine in the restarunt always chilled and plentyful.over all a great time was had by all.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We spent 2 weeks at the Iberostar Papagayo in July/August 2011. We would agree with previous comments regarding the pool area/sunbed situation and remoteness of the hotel. The remoteness however is a bonus if, like us, you want a relaxing holiday in an exceptionally clean hotel.
The only niggle we had were the beds; extremely uncomfortable (I even tried the floor one night!); other than that the rooms were very clean and comfortable.
We did stay on an all inclusive basis and would concur with others that the menu does become repetitive. That said though, the food was always fresh, hot and plentiful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlexMum2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here in April this year and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We upgraded to a sea view room which cost around £50 for the week which was reasonable. We found the food of high standard and always fresh, the staff throughout the hotel were courteuous and very helpful. We have high standards when staying in hotels and were more than happy with the Iberostar Papagayo.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
1.3 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,942 reviews
1.6 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THe Mirador Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Mirador Papagayo

Address: Calle Las Palmas, 5 | San Marcial del Rubicon, 35510 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Papagayo)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £78 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — THe Mirador Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo, located close to the beach Playa de las Coloradas and next to the paradisiac beaches of Playas de Papagayo, is an optimal place to enjoy your family vacation in Lanzarote. This four-star- resort features 291 ample rooms distributed in two buildings of three floors each. It disposes of two pool for adults and two for children, restaurant, snack bars and a conference room. The wide offer of entertainment, sports activities, leisure and relaxing has been conceived for every family member to enjoy this experience to the maximum. For it, Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers among others a gym, a spa center, a multipurpose sports court as well as kayak and bike rental service. Naturally, the little ones will have great fun at our Mini Club. Due to its touristic attractiveness and its good infrastructure, Lanzarote is the ideal venue for holding multiple events such as weddings, congresses, conferences and business meetings. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers modern facilities with the audiovisual equipment for celebrating this kind of events. With spectacular views over Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island, here you have everything at your disposal for your “tailor-made” vacations. Discover with Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo a universe full of tiny pleasures. An unforgettable experience to share in good company in an idyllic place. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo disposes of 291 rooms, four of them adapted for people with disabilities. Each of the five categories Double Superior Sea View, Familiar Room, Double Sea View, Double Sea Side View and Double Standard puts everything at your disposal for you to immerse in the blue color of the Atlantic. Your wellness and the comfort at your feet. You will find us in Lanzarote, the “island of the volcanoes”. As expected, it was declared Reserve of the Biosphere in 1993 by the UNESCO. This place is magic: natural paradises where the golden sand meets the crystal-clear waters of the Atlantic, volcanic landscapes and unusual tropical vegetation. This island is pure contrast, it´s land of fusion of work of art and nature. It´s the place of exceptional landscapes of unique beauty. The views from our hotel will leave you breathless: in the horizon Lobos Island and Fuerteventura appear. Furthermore, close to Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo you will find the port Marina Rubicon, a place to enjoy a walk while contemplating the sea and the sailing boats, have a drink or go for some tapas, or go shopping at the flea market or at the shops around. With its average annual temperature of 22°C, Lanzarote not only is an optimal place for practicing water sports, but it also offers everything for you to enjoy the vacation you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Lastminute, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your THe Mirador Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Papagayo Hotel Lanzarote
Iberostar Hotel Papagayo
Iberostar Playa Blanca
THe Mirador Papagayo Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing