We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel faboulous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
THe Mirador Papagayo
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed with mam dad nanny and 3 year old cousin, our room was 502 , nannys and logans was 504, next door to each other, nice room , cleaned every day , and beds changed daily and towels.everyone here was allways smiling , kind words and helpful.food was lovly every day something nice, to eat. Snack bar near pools was great, entertainment was great, especially the staff play were we joined in it was lion king, my mam was poorly and had to go to hospital , reception girl , was fantastic stayed with mam , calmec her down while dad sorted things he needed .then she phoned taxi which came in super quick time, mam was ok hospital drs were brilliant she said, next day staff from recption sent beautiful wrapped fruit bowl and card to mams room she was overwhelmed how kind and considerate the peaple at this hotel are we had fant7astic week will be back to see all again,, mam said mazzive thank you to the beautiful girl on recption who helped her sorry she didnt get name,,, your a star xx

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucyjeanhartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 951 of 3,026 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Arrived fairly late at night . Checked in OK given the key to the room and was really disappointed

When we got to the room it was on the ground floor and we looked out onto a breeze block wall. The patio door didn't lock properly it was absolutely awful. We went back to reception and complained and were told that we had booked a standard room but we could upgrade at a price of 27 euro's a night.

We eventually agreed to this but were even more disappointed when we realised that the hotel was not fully booked and we could have been upgraded free of charge.

On two occasions we were left without any towels and had to contact staff. Air conditioning and fridgd not very good.

Would definately not recommend this hotel and definately not a four star.



On two occasions we had to contact staff to request towels for our room as we wefe left without any.


This was certainly in my opinion not a four star hotel and I wou, d definately nkt recommend it to anyone

n more disappointed when we realised

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Peter,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the time you took out of your day to notify us about your concerns related to your recent holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel; We certainly believe that our guests’ comments provide us with useful insights to assist our staff to identify areas of concern.

We sincerely regret reading that on two occasions you were left without towels after the daily cleaning, although per standard, these are replaced when left in the bathtub as reported on the leaflet in the room.

Moreover we lament your disappointment on the first you room we accommodated you in, however we would like to take the opportunity to explain that we allocate our rooms in accordance with the room type selected at the time of booking; As you can see both on our website and brochure, our accommodations’’ prices vary depending on their location and the view; upgrades are always on extra charge regardless of the hotel being fully booked or not.

Please be assured that we took your comments into consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We really thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that IBEROSTAR will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Sincere Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my teenage daughter at the hotel. On arrival we were given an upgraded room at the family area free of charge. The room was large with fridge/freezer, microwave, etc. Seated area, table & chairs. Bathroom had bath with shower over and a separate shower etc.
The rooms are plesant enough but i wouldnt class the interior or finish 4 star compared to say UK standard but it was adequate forthe little time we spent in the room.
The hotel is spotlessly clean. The staff were fabulous. The bar staff in particulars customer service was excellent. A special mention to Nelson, Luis and Alberto for making our holiday excellent.
I for medical reasons cant have dairy and i asked Luis at the lobby bar if i could have soya milk in my tea. No problem he went down to the restaurant andbrought up the soya milk especially for me and put it in the fridge for me for the week :-). A very nice personal touch and great customer service.
Another special mention to the chefs. The presentation and vast food selection each day was great. There was a huge table display some nights of Sushi, puddings, cakes etc and some themed nights. Mexican, oriental etc.
The animations team also were fabulous taking Zumba, aerobics, aquafit and spin classes. They also did a variety of activities with guests like cooking recipe demonstrations. Eg. Paella and free sangri etc.
The spa and wellness centre was lovely. I had a massage. There is a jacuzzi, 2 steam rooms and 2 saunas, plundge pool and footspas here which guests can use free of charge.
There are two different outside swimming pools. One at the family area accommodation and another at the main hotel. The hotel is large and has a number of blocks. I liked that the families had their own area. The views from the hotel are beautiful. You can walk along the coast to the Marina which is lovely. There are 5 beaches in the nearby facinity at Papagayo. I walked to two of them from the hotel.
You can see a neighbouring canary island from the hotel an d the high speed ferry crossing from the marina takes 15 minutes only. Overall we had a brilliant holiday and thank all the staff for making it that way.
Before we left my teen daughter asked if we can come back next year and id very much like to do that.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Armani8_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled you enjoyed staying with us at the IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel and are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your feedback on Tripadvisor; Our main goal being to achieve maximum customer satisfaction we are enchanted to read that we have been successful on this occasion.

Our staff strives to welcome each guest with the IBEROSTAR spirit and assist in any way possible to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay. Thank you for referencing so many of our team members by name, as we are now able to reach out to them individually and let them know how they made such a positive impact on your stay.

We also appreciate your praising comments on our buffets because at IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of typical local dishes as well as the best international delights in order to please all palates, it is very enjoyable to read that we were able to conquer yours.

Moreover, we are also very grateful for your nice comments towards our animation staff, their enthusiasm is contagious and they strive to offer a wide variety of leisure and sport activities throughout the day as well as entertaining evening shows to make our guests' stay a memorable one.

Last but not least we thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our hotel as well as our location, affording beautiful views over the Ocean and the island of Fuerteventura, which, as you well say, is easily reachable by ferry in a very short time for a daily trip and is highly recommended for a different panorama, Lanzarote is in fact all black and the Park of Timanfaya is a must see, on the other hand, Fuerteventura offers breathtaking African panoramas with endless dunes and red colored mountains.

Thank you again for your visit and very kind review; we look forward to welcoming you back with your daughter and please do not hesitate contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

stayed all inc for two weeks in late June 2014.Booked double room and given pool view. Safe 18 euros week towels 10 euros refunded at end of stay. Twenty minute walk to Marina, market Wed and Sat and another 20 mins to Playa Blanca town. Hotel run courtesy bus daily to beach (5 min walk to town). Taxi to and from town about 4 euros, to Marina about 3 euros. Rooms ok never had problem with beds, television very limited, small fridge, air con was poor. British in minority food varied and not your typical menu,but we enjoyed it. All inc can help themselves to bottles of wine, long trousers for men rule is strictly enforced at dinner and so it should be.Adult entertainment in basement bar every night but Sat 21.30 pm and we thoroughly enjoyed the acts. Children running around and going near the stage is a nuisance but its the parents to blame. Sunbeds very new and not a lot of early reserving.But not enough sun shades about one for 5/6 beds and some portable shades were broken. Lifeguards room near pool bar is where u exchange towels he also has a free selection of books (after 2.00pm). Pool bar has limited snacks for breakfast and lunch. All of the staff we met were friendly very efficient and dedicated. Main bar at reception level has nice outdoor area. All inclusive cocktails are limited and very sweet. There is a lounge on the 5th floor no bar but it contains a small library.. This hotel has self catering apartments over the road or through the tunnel near the restaurant. A decent supermarket is at the top of the road, virtually no bars nearby. While we were there the outdoor jacuzzi only partially worked and the large waterfall never worked.Animation team were excellent.All in all we had a good holiday, but i agree with other people the hotel could do with refurbishment

Room Tip: seaview rooms have excellent views but not much sun terraced rooms in main building had there own su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank raymondoNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have just returned from the Iberostar Papagayo . There was 12 of us with the age range of 5 years - 68 years and we all enjoyed ourselves very much. The food was excellent with such a variety that at each meal there was something to please us all. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the entertainment team worked very hard . We were all inclusive which was an advantage as the children just helped themselves to soft drinks all day long and the adults well!!
The only negative was the air conditioning was not up to much. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with a seaview are worth having, We had room 442 which was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jnloakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel for your holidays in Lanzarote and for sharing a review on your overall holiday experience among us.

We are thrilled you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and are grateful for your highlights on the quality of our buffets, the friendliness of our staff and the energy of our animation team; we will not fail to congratulate our staff and Chefs for their contribution to your family’s wellbeing whilst staying at our hotel.

Thank you again for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area and for your kind recommendation; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Beds hard, wifi rubbish,air conditioning rubbish, food ok, staff excellent, drinks expensive, if you go to this hotel ask for seaview room loverly views. The walk to playa blanca takes about 20 minutes from hotel but is a loverly walk.pool is nice plenty off sunbeds no need to reserve sunbeds with towels but some people did. The entertainment wasn't up to much bit ok for a laugh. A 10 min walk to the marina with restarants and shops loverly place to have a coffe there is a market there on Wednesday and Saturdays

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Brian,

We greatly appreciate the time and effort you spent to share your feedback on your recent holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel. We appreciate all of your input, as it helps us identify areas that could use more attention to detail.

We regret reading that you didn´t find your bed comfortable and lament not being informed about this during your visit, as we would have looked for a solution. Clearly a basic function in any hotel is to guarantee comfortable and satisfying nights’ sleep therefore we have softer mattress toppers for those guests who prefer sleeping on a softer bed; for future occasions please to not hesitate to contact our reception for anything you may need to fully enjoy your stay among us.

Moreover please accept our apologies for the imperfections with our Wi Fi access and air conditioning system; we passed on your remarks to our Management team for revision and improvement.

On the other hand, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the quality of our buffets and are grateful for your wonderful comments on our staff and will not fail to share your lovely words with them all.

Last but not least, we would like to thank you for pointing out our location, fronting the Ocean and within an easy walking distance to the beaches and wide array of leisure and dining option nearby.

We do appreciate your comments as they can help us to improve. We hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you a very enjoyable experience with IBEROSTAR.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just got back from our second Holiday at Iberostar Papaagayo. We loved it last Summer and decided to return this year, something we never do!.
It's still a great Hotel, mainly due to its superb location and amazing Staff.
This year though we felt that it's Star is shining less brightly, Money has been spent on the Lobby and Bar( really nice new Furniture)', but it other areas it is lagging behind other 4 * hotels! the rooms are getting tired! although also very clean ( the maids do a great job), The TVs need upgrading and really need more English speaking channels. The hotel needs to sort out some sort of music in the evenings, a DJ in the bar after nine, clear some space and people would love to dance, it literally is dead after 10.30 when the entertainment in the show bar finishes, which is in the basement and feels really claustrophobic, we didn't visit at all this time.
The number 1 problem though is NO FREE WIFI, this is only available for 30 minutes a day in the bar area, surely Ibereostar can sort this, all you see all day is a stream of people going backwards and forwards to the Bar, with Tablets and Phones, when you are all inclusive this should be included, it is a worldwide standard and does ruin your Holiday, when you need to do online banking etc.
Food was good as it was last year, but we did notice, that the treats brought to the pool area were a lot less this year.
We will return in a few years as we love the area and Marina Rubicon, in the time we hope that Ibereostar have invested some much needed money in the this hotel, as it could be be fantastic and the staff deserve it.



because we love the location and Marina Rubicon

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wiggaz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your return visit to our IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel for your holidays in Lanzarote and for the time you spent to share a review on your latest holiday experience among us.

The Wi Fi extra charge is decided in our central office, we will not fail to share your review so as to study the possibility to offer this service as a courtesy in the future.

Moreover we took good note of your comments on our rooms and although our hotel was built a few years ago, we strive to maintain it to its original standards counting with the services of our maintenance team onsite; on the other hand, we thank you for highlighting their cleanliness.

On the other hand, we are grateful for your lovely comments towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel’s main strengths we will not fail to share your kind words being aware that this will mean a great deal to all of them.

Last but not least we thank you for pointing out our location, right on the Ocean front and with a wide array of leisure and dining options within easy reach.

We do appreciate your comments as they can help us to improve. We hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you a very enjoyable experience with IBEROSTAR.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.3 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
1.2 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.6 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THe Mirador Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Mirador Papagayo

Address: Calle Las Palmas, 5 | San Marcial del Rubicon, 35510 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Papagayo)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#12 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £63 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — THe Mirador Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo, located close to the beach Playa de las Coloradas and next to the paradisiac beaches of Playas de Papagayo, is an optimal place to enjoy your family vacation in Lanzarote. This four-star- resort features 291 ample rooms distributed in two buildings of three floors each. It disposes of two pool for adults and two for children, restaurant, snack bars and a conference room. The wide offer of entertainment, sports activities, leisure and relaxing has been conceived for every family member to enjoy this experience to the maximum. For it, Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers among others a gym, a spa center, a multipurpose sports court as well as kayak and bike rental service. Naturally, the little ones will have great fun at our Mini Club. Due to its touristic attractiveness and its good infrastructure, Lanzarote is the ideal venue for holding multiple events such as weddings, congresses, conferences and business meetings. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers modern facilities with the audiovisual equipment for celebrating this kind of events. With spectacular views over Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island, here you have everything at your disposal for your “tailor-made” vacations. Discover with Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo a universe full of tiny pleasures. An unforgettable experience to share in good company in an idyllic place. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo disposes of 291 rooms, four of them adapted for people with disabilities. Each of the five categories Double Superior Sea View, Familiar Room, Double Sea View, Double Sea Side View and Double Standard puts everything at your disposal for you to immerse in the blue color of the Atlantic. Your wellness and the comfort at your feet. You will find us in Lanzarote, the “island of the volcanoes”. As expected, it was declared Reserve of the Biosphere in 1993 by the UNESCO. This place is magic: natural paradises where the golden sand meets the crystal-clear waters of the Atlantic, volcanic landscapes and unusual tropical vegetation. This island is pure contrast, it´s land of fusion of work of art and nature. It´s the place of exceptional landscapes of unique beauty. The views from our hotel will leave you breathless: in the horizon Lobos Island and Fuerteventura appear. Furthermore, close to Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo you will find the port Marina Rubicon, a place to enjoy a walk while contemplating the sea and the sailing boats, have a drink or go for some tapas, or go shopping at the flea market or at the shops around. With its average annual temperature of 22°C, Lanzarote not only is an optimal place for practicing water sports, but it also offers everything for you to enjoy the vacation you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your THe Mirador Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Papagayo Hotel Lanzarote
Iberostar Hotel Papagayo
Iberostar Playa Blanca
THe Mirador Papagayo Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing