We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is now the second time I have been to this hotel with my girlfriend and her parents, and both times have been fantastic. The reception staff are very welcoming and friendly and speak in multiple languages, all the hotel staff, waiters and barman/women are extremely nice and made the stay much more relaxing.

The food was one of my highlights of the trip, the buffet caters for a wide range of people including vegetarians and they have food for everyone's taste, whether it be a simple pizza and chips, or fresh fish, or paella. Fresh fruit is available at every meal time and the pancakes at breakfast are definitely not to be missed.

The room is very tidy and kept clean every day, has a nice bathroom with a good size bath with built in shower. The room could get a bit hot at times as the air con wasn't the most powerful but it wasn't too overwhelming. The balcony's are very nice and in my most recent stay i had a view from the front of the hotel overlooking the car park, but you could still see the sea and Futuerventura clearly and get some good photos. On my other visit, the balcony overlooked the back of the hotel into the pool area and the sea and coastline of Papagayo which was beautiful.

The pool area consists of plenty of sunbeds, of which we were always able to find some, situated around the pools. One kids pool which is only about knee/thigh depth and then a much larger circular pool which was a comfortable depth, I'm approximately 5ft 6 and could stand up. There was a few women who had taken their tops off and were sunbathing/swimming with everything out which was a bit unneeded considering at the top of the hotel, on the roof, is a particular 'nude' sunbathing area.

The 'entertainment' was normal holiday cheesyness at night with shows every night except Saturday at 9:30. But around the pool in the day, there would always be either water aerobics, water polo, snorkelling and various other activities taking place.

I would very much recommend this hotel as it is in a great location, a 10 minute walk to Marina Rubicon which has some lovely restaurants and picturesque scenery, and also the hotel itself run a bus to the nearest beach right next to Playa Blanca every few hours which is nice for a morning or afternoon beach session. This bus is free of charge as well. There is a supermarket located only a 2 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the pool and on a levels 4 or 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Callum H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    1,113
    382
    85
    48
See reviews for
866
1,365
100
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Loved it so much last year, we came back for a second trip this year.

Lovely food, you cannot fault the variety and quality of the food, going all inclusive is very much the best option at this hotel.

The pool is lovely and the cleanliness of the hotel is superb. The maids do a super job. All the staff are lovely, especially the bar staff.

The hotel needs to improve it's evening entertainment after 10:30, put music up in the inside bar and people would love to dance. The games area needs to be moved or made more of an area of the hotel, it is very hot and sticky in that room, and feels a bit eerie due to the lack of life at the end of the hotel, it could be made part of the hotel and would add to the experience.

Overall a lovely hotel that with some improvements could be one of the best.

P.s enforce that women cannot wear shorts in evening as well, ladies dressing too casual.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool Have a better view, rooms close to reception on the 4th floor are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaswigmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I recently stayed with my wife and two girls and overall had a really great stay. The food offering is very good although when you stay for longer periods it does get a little repetitive as there is only one restaurant. However a short walk along the promenade is a great harbour with some fabulous restaurants which are reasonable priced. There is also a very good market there twice a week.
As a family we stayed in the adjoining apartments which are connected directly to the hotel through a passage under the road so you get the separation of having a family pool and apartment without feeling too disconnected form the hotel itself. It was perfect for us as we hand a ground floor apartment so were able to make the most of the pool without having to transport all that is needed to be by the pool. (we checked in online and selected our rooms!) The children loved the kids club and the mini disco was a big hit, we loved the cocktails and branded drinks that were included in the AI.
Yes it could do with a little bit of updating in some areas but that did not take anything away from our stay and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nelgx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed with mam dad nanny and 3 year old cousin, our room was 502 , nannys and logans was 504, next door to each other, nice room , cleaned every day , and beds changed daily and towels.everyone here was allways smiling , kind words and helpful.food was lovly every day something nice, to eat. Snack bar near pools was great, entertainment was great, especially the staff play were we joined in it was lion king, my mam was poorly and had to go to hospital , reception girl , was fantastic stayed with mam , calmec her down while dad sorted things he needed .then she phoned taxi which came in super quick time, mam was ok hospital drs were brilliant she said, next day staff from recption sent beautiful wrapped fruit bowl and card to mams room she was overwhelmed how kind and considerate the peaple at this hotel are we had fant7astic week will be back to see all again,, mam said mazzive thank you to the beautiful girl on recption who helped her sorry she didnt get name,,, your a star xx

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucyjeanhartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Arrived fairly late at night . Checked in OK given the key to the room and was really disappointed

When we got to the room it was on the ground floor and we looked out onto a breeze block wall. The patio door didn't lock properly it was absolutely awful. We went back to reception and complained and were told that we had booked a standard room but we could upgrade at a price of 27 euro's a night.

We eventually agreed to this but were even more disappointed when we realised that the hotel was not fully booked and we could have been upgraded free of charge.

On two occasions we were left without any towels and had to contact staff. Air conditioning and fridgd not very good.

Would definately not recommend this hotel and definately not a four star.



On two occasions we had to contact staff to request towels for our room as we wefe left without any.


This was certainly in my opinion not a four star hotel and I wou, d definately nkt recommend it to anyone

n more disappointed when we realised

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Peter,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the time you took out of your day to notify us about your concerns related to your recent holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel; We certainly believe that our guests’ comments provide us with useful insights to assist our staff to identify areas of concern.

We sincerely regret reading that on two occasions you were left without towels after the daily cleaning, although per standard, these are replaced when left in the bathtub as reported on the leaflet in the room.

Moreover we lament your disappointment on the first you room we accommodated you in, however we would like to take the opportunity to explain that we allocate our rooms in accordance with the room type selected at the time of booking; As you can see both on our website and brochure, our accommodations’’ prices vary depending on their location and the view; upgrades are always on extra charge regardless of the hotel being fully booked or not.

Please be assured that we took your comments into consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We really thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that IBEROSTAR will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Sincere Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my teenage daughter at the hotel. On arrival we were given an upgraded room at the family area free of charge. The room was large with fridge/freezer, microwave, etc. Seated area, table & chairs. Bathroom had bath with shower over and a separate shower etc.
The rooms are plesant enough but i wouldnt class the interior or finish 4 star compared to say UK standard but it was adequate forthe little time we spent in the room.
The hotel is spotlessly clean. The staff were fabulous. The bar staff in particulars customer service was excellent. A special mention to Nelson, Luis and Alberto for making our holiday excellent.
I for medical reasons cant have dairy and i asked Luis at the lobby bar if i could have soya milk in my tea. No problem he went down to the restaurant andbrought up the soya milk especially for me and put it in the fridge for me for the week :-). A very nice personal touch and great customer service.
Another special mention to the chefs. The presentation and vast food selection each day was great. There was a huge table display some nights of Sushi, puddings, cakes etc and some themed nights. Mexican, oriental etc.
The animations team also were fabulous taking Zumba, aerobics, aquafit and spin classes. They also did a variety of activities with guests like cooking recipe demonstrations. Eg. Paella and free sangri etc.
The spa and wellness centre was lovely. I had a massage. There is a jacuzzi, 2 steam rooms and 2 saunas, plundge pool and footspas here which guests can use free of charge.
There are two different outside swimming pools. One at the family area accommodation and another at the main hotel. The hotel is large and has a number of blocks. I liked that the families had their own area. The views from the hotel are beautiful. You can walk along the coast to the Marina which is lovely. There are 5 beaches in the nearby facinity at Papagayo. I walked to two of them from the hotel.
You can see a neighbouring canary island from the hotel an d the high speed ferry crossing from the marina takes 15 minutes only. Overall we had a brilliant holiday and thank all the staff for making it that way.
Before we left my teen daughter asked if we can come back next year and id very much like to do that.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Armani8_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled you enjoyed staying with us at the IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel and are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your feedback on Tripadvisor; Our main goal being to achieve maximum customer satisfaction we are enchanted to read that we have been successful on this occasion.

Our staff strives to welcome each guest with the IBEROSTAR spirit and assist in any way possible to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay. Thank you for referencing so many of our team members by name, as we are now able to reach out to them individually and let them know how they made such a positive impact on your stay.

We also appreciate your praising comments on our buffets because at IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of typical local dishes as well as the best international delights in order to please all palates, it is very enjoyable to read that we were able to conquer yours.

Moreover, we are also very grateful for your nice comments towards our animation staff, their enthusiasm is contagious and they strive to offer a wide variety of leisure and sport activities throughout the day as well as entertaining evening shows to make our guests' stay a memorable one.

Last but not least we thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our hotel as well as our location, affording beautiful views over the Ocean and the island of Fuerteventura, which, as you well say, is easily reachable by ferry in a very short time for a daily trip and is highly recommended for a different panorama, Lanzarote is in fact all black and the Park of Timanfaya is a must see, on the other hand, Fuerteventura offers breathtaking African panoramas with endless dunes and red colored mountains.

Thank you again for your visit and very kind review; we look forward to welcoming you back with your daughter and please do not hesitate contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

stayed all inc for two weeks in late June 2014.Booked double room and given pool view. Safe 18 euros week towels 10 euros refunded at end of stay. Twenty minute walk to Marina, market Wed and Sat and another 20 mins to Playa Blanca town. Hotel run courtesy bus daily to beach (5 min walk to town). Taxi to and from town about 4 euros, to Marina about 3 euros. Rooms ok never had problem with beds, television very limited, small fridge, air con was poor. British in minority food varied and not your typical menu,but we enjoyed it. All inc can help themselves to bottles of wine, long trousers for men rule is strictly enforced at dinner and so it should be.Adult entertainment in basement bar every night but Sat 21.30 pm and we thoroughly enjoyed the acts. Children running around and going near the stage is a nuisance but its the parents to blame. Sunbeds very new and not a lot of early reserving.But not enough sun shades about one for 5/6 beds and some portable shades were broken. Lifeguards room near pool bar is where u exchange towels he also has a free selection of books (after 2.00pm). Pool bar has limited snacks for breakfast and lunch. All of the staff we met were friendly very efficient and dedicated. Main bar at reception level has nice outdoor area. All inclusive cocktails are limited and very sweet. There is a lounge on the 5th floor no bar but it contains a small library.. This hotel has self catering apartments over the road or through the tunnel near the restaurant. A decent supermarket is at the top of the road, virtually no bars nearby. While we were there the outdoor jacuzzi only partially worked and the large waterfall never worked.Animation team were excellent.All in all we had a good holiday, but i agree with other people the hotel could do with refurbishment

Room Tip: seaview rooms have excellent views but not much sun terraced rooms in main building had there own su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank raymondoNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,645 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,956 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
1.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.6 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel

Property: THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel
Address: Calle Las Palmas, 5 | San Marcial del Rubicon, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Papagayo)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo, located close to the beach Playa de las Coloradas and next to the paradisiac beaches of Playas de Papagayo, is an optimal place to enjoy your family vacation in Lanzarote. This four-star- resort features 291 ample rooms distributed in two buildings of three floors each. It disposes of two pool for adults and two for children, restaurant, snack bars and a conference room. The wide offer of entertainment, sports activities, leisure and relaxing has been conceived for every family member to enjoy this experience to the maximum. For it, Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers among others a gym, a spa center, a multipurpose sports court as well as kayak and bike rental service. Naturally, the little ones will have great fun at our Mini Club. Due to its touristic attractiveness and its good infrastructure, Lanzarote is the ideal venue for holding multiple events such as weddings, congresses, conferences and business meetings. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers modern facilities with the audiovisual equipment for celebrating this kind of events. With spectacular views over Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island, here you have everything at your disposal for your “tailor-made” vacations. Discover with Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo a universe full of tiny pleasures. An unforgettable experience to share in good company in an idyllic place. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo disposes of 291 rooms, four of them adapted for people with disabilities. Each of the five categories Double Superior Sea View, Familiar Room, Double Sea View, Double Sea Side View and Double Standard puts everything at your disposal for you to immerse in the blue color of the Atlantic. Your wellness and the comfort at your feet. You will find us in Lanzarote, the “island of the volcanoes”. As expected, it was declared Reserve of the Biosphere in 1993 by the UNESCO. This place is magic: natural paradises where the golden sand meets the crystal-clear waters of the Atlantic, volcanic landscapes and unusual tropical vegetation. This island is pure contrast, it´s land of fusion of work of art and nature. It´s the place of exceptional landscapes of unique beauty. The views from our hotel will leave you breathless: in the horizon Lobos Island and Fuerteventura appear. Furthermore, close to Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo you will find the port Marina Rubicon, a place to enjoy a walk while contemplating the sea and the sailing boats, have a drink or go for some tapas, or go shopping at the flea market or at the shops around. With its average annual temperature of 22°C, Lanzarote not only is an optimal place for practicing water sports, but it also offers everything for you to enjoy the vacation you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Lastminute, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Papagayo Hotel Lanzarote
Iberostar Hotel Papagayo
Iberostar Playa Blanca
THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing