We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and friendly .. :-)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caybeach Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caybeach Sun
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value and friendly .. :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Having just come back I couldn't wait to review , we stayed in a 201 for two weeks ending 15 June 14, we are considering coming back for a quick weeks visit later in the year, for the price this hotel is excellent, the staff couldn't be more friendly and the pools are fab, it's a bit far to walk from town for little kids but taxis are cheap and the reception staff are always happy to order you one, the rooms are a little tired, but really as we expected for the price.the cleaning ladies are great and do a great job also, thank you to everyone at cay beach sun we really enjoyed our stay ..:-)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    535
    280
    104
    84
See reviews for
511
516
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Love this hotel very friendly staff
Was booked to go back in July but thanks to low cost holidays they could not accommodate us this year for some reason
We had stayed there for the last 8 years which says something on its own
Disappointed we are not there this year
Basic rooms lovely pool area need to beat the foreigners to the sun beds in the morning enjoyed playing games with the security guard who removed towels on unoccupied sun beds

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank NAForsythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed at the Cay Beach for a week from 29th May and overall had an excellent stay.
Negative points.... Not much to comment on really. We stayed self catering so can't say much about the food, had chips from the pool bar one day but that was it. My wife wasn't too fond of the hard mattress but I found it OK. The pools were pretty cold so maybe a heat of heating wouldn't go amiss in them. Though any kids around seemed happy enough in them! Can be a bit windy at times but then that's not the hotels fault.
Positives..... Great location we thought, 15 mins (at a slow walk) to the promenade. We stayed in 163 which was a good size, kitchen had everything we needed for self catering, bathroom was nice size with a great shower (fan/extractor didn't work, but no bother, just open the window).
Check in and out was nice and quick. Found the people at reception to be pleasant when we passed through.
There is a charge for the television channels, didn't bother us cause we didn't stay in long enough to watch TV, but this might be an issue for families. Also a charge for wi fi, which I don't agree with anywhere these days. Suppose those last 2 points should be in the negatives list!!
Anyway overall had a great stay at the Cay Beach and would certainly recommend to anyone looking at good value accommodation in playa blanca

Room Tip: 163 was a good room. Pool view from the large balcony/terrace. Great sun trap in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Having previously only stayed on an all inclusive basis in a hotel in Costa Taguse 10 years ago, which was later featured on the BBC Watch Dog program, I had mixed feelings about booking the Cay Beach Sun. Obviously before booking I did my homework reading reviews here on trip advisor but, though looking like the best choice by far in our price range, there were still some negative reviews which worried me.

However having spent Easter week here I need not have worried and would have no reservation recommending the Cay Beach Sun. Having said that, as the saying goes, it is what it is and that is a three star all inclusive. So you cannot expect fine dinning, waiter service and the last word in luxury. What you do get is a good choice of plentiful food and drink, perfectly adequate accommodation and facilities and most importantly value for money.

My only complaints would be a) The very firm mattresses, read uncomfortable beds, obviously a personal taste but one mentioned by other reviewers. b) The dangerously uneven paving around the unheated large pool near the water slides. Somebody is going to get really hurt tripping over the flags, I saw lots of people trip the week I was there.

I liked a) The food, hot food was hot, salads cold, good choice each meal we never struggled to find something palatable with some very nice dishes on offer; loved the local potatoes cooked in salt water and the red sauce. b) Not withstanding the above comment the pool area was excellent for children with 2 large pools (1heated & 1not), a paddling pool and another shallow pool in a Pirate themed play area with 2 water slides tipping buckets etc. c) The staff, all the staff were friendly and helpful. We arrived in the evening and found the help yourself pre-mix soft drinks to be almost undrinkable, this doesn't bode well I thought, however the following day the drinks at the pool bar and in the restaurant were fine. That evening once again the bar/club soda tasted vile so the next day I reported it to reception and by the evening it was sorted.

So in summary, good value for money, reasonable accommodation and food, pleasant staff and quite a nice resort to boot; recommended at the price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Par, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here for the first week in June, myself my husband, his mum and our son of 5 years old. 2 bed bnb. There was plenty of room in the apartment for all of us, we paid extra for air con but didn't really need it. The cleaning staff were very friendly. Bath possibly slightly outdated but for the money you can't complain. Our son loved the pool area, brilliant for children. The onsite shop is handy too. Quiet location but still only a 10 minute stroll to the beach. Can't really understand the negative reviews,for the money this place was great.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for 10 nights from 22nd May 2014.
Overall we had a nice time but was let down by the weather.
The hotel is set quite high which is where the winds are strong so the pools were freezing.

Reception/checkin was fine...the male receptionist wasnt overly enthusiastic but the female one is nice.
Pools Outdoor are freezing (due to the wind) shame as thats why we booked this hotel. My girls lips turned blue, and one fractured her toe on the slides. Indoor pools are nice...kids not allowed but we (and other families) sneaked them in! Also strict opening/closing times 10am-5pm not that we would have used them outside them hours as it was too cold.
Rooms were spot on.
Cleaners were possibly the best bit about this hotel. Rooms cleaned most days and some lovely finishing touches = towel swans and fresh flowers.
Food was fairly poor. I cant stand reading reviews about all inclusive food being boring and samey as that whats buffet style is to cater for all tastes, but this lacked variety. There was only 10 hot selections.....in the other hotels there have been around 20 plus a separate kids section. Some of the food wasnt cooked properly. Also all the meats are cooked in a tonne of salt and the bread is sweet which i couldnt get used to. Both myself, one of my girls and another family were sick. Nice breakfast spread and salad bar though. The head floor man was very particular at keeping the dining hall tidy.
Entertainment was probably the worst we have had at a hotel. 2 days off a week, plus the entertainer had an accident so 4/10 nights we had no entertainment whatsover. The lady that did do it was enthusiastic but was under staffed. Then to cover 2 entertainers came which was better. Also there was no other evening entertainment. No parrot shows/singers/dancers etc.
The bar closed strictly at 11pm. No chance to buy drinks outside of all inclusive hours which was a bit disappointing but the bar staff were really nice.
The beach is lovely and sheltered from the wind. there are fish that if you feed bread will swim up to you. Only about a 5-10min walk from the hotel.
there are quite a good range of shops/restaurants but we only ate at one on the strip called volcan something. Not a memorable experience for food or service...all just felt rushed and food lacked flavour!
I can recommend the south tour excursion. Volcano experiments, camel rides, lunch. (wrap up warm though...not like we did)
We wouldnt go to this hotel again but would recommend it for August weather to heat up the pools and overpower the cool winds!!

Room Tip: pool view, we stayed in 122 which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This was our 6th stay at Cay Beach (our first was 2007).
The hotel has changed within that time but it has always been a great self catering base for us. We love Playa Blanca with the centre and the Marina Rubicon to choose from, both within walking distance.
The apartments are basic (you get what you pay for) but always clean & the hotel team from reception to cleaners to shop assistants have always been welcoming, helpful & friendly.
On our last visit we requested via email a balcony for our wedding anniversary & we could not have asked for a better apartment. So when I emailed again this year with the same request we were thrilled to find out we had the same apartment!
When I lost (!) our flight tickets back to the UK & asked if I could send the email through to reception if they could print them for me....no problem & no charge.
We do agree with the lack of adult entertainment in the evening but we also enjoyed the chillax time we could get on holiday.
When we arrived I noticed a lot of damage around the poolside to the tiles but over the course of our 10 night stay this was rectified. The hotel is not brand new & will need maintenance but as always you get what you pay for & we have never found fault with Cay Beach and we will definately return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Nanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.3 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#30 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palmeras Garden
Palmeras Garden
#2 of 45 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Sun

Property: Caybeach Sun
Address: C/ Las Brenas n 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Caybeach Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun Hotel Playa Blanca
Caybeach Sun Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing