We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bungalows Coloradamar
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Bungalow Coloradamar fabulous!!, serviced every day (except on Sunday,) spacious with large balconies with your own Private sun loungers on the terraces lovely pool area with Jacuzzi. In reception Danny and Joaquin were exceptionally helpful and polite. We had a lovely few days and will return hopefully again end of the year for a longer time , the place was in a good location but if you like walking you can walk along the coastal path into the harbour area of marina rubicon about 30mins walk or on the door step there is a bus service. We loved everything about this place and are looking for flights to return. Lovely break in the sun.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Philomena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    50
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
86
88
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We booked a 5 night break at these apartments. The grounds are immaculate and the pool area is beautiful can not fault. We were offered an ungraded room which we declined but I wouldn't know why you would need one, the apartment was great, very well equipped and spotlessly clean. There is a small complex nearby with a couple of bars although the supermarket is the only place worth visiting, however it is a very easy, scenic walk along the sea front to the Marina (20 mins) or Playa Blanca (40 mins). There is also a regular bus which stops directly outside the apartments to the main resorts. If you want to be close to the bars and restaurants then this is not the place for you, however if you are looking for a quiet retreat, in quality accommodation then we would definitely recommend the Coloradamar Bungalows.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spoonslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Unfortunately the weather was not up to normal Canary Islands standards! The British wet and windy appeared to have followed us to Lanzarote. We chose Coloradamar Bungalows as the beaches nearby looked fab and we liked the idea of the privacy of the bungalow and the small swimming pool area. We were not disappointed by either. In fact, we reckon it would have been perfect if the weather had been kinder. We were in bungalow 31. 6 steps from the pool! Sadly we did not make full use of it….pretty cold, but had the weather been warmer we would have gladly used it every day to cool down.
Beds are rock hard…do not suffer, ask nicely and Danny might find you a mattress, what a relief! We struggled a bit with having enough hot water for showers and there was only the 2 of us. Probably be ok if the weather was warmer.
The bungalow was very comfortable. Clean. Private.
We were half board and used the Bocayna for meals. Breakfast was adequate. We didn’t particularly enjoy the evening meals and ate out for a few meals. The food was reasonable, but not much choice. The restaurant closer to the bungalows, Casa Carlos was fab. Great staff and good choices.
We took a walk to the nearby beaches of Papagayo. The first beach is close enough and very nice. We are relatively fit 50+ and were ok doing this, but wouldn’t fancy it when it is hot. We walked at a steady pace on the way back and it took us 40 minutes to get back to base and is quite tricky as you can find yourself going the wrong way and having to double back if you don’t concentrate on what is ahead. However, it is stunning and at times feels like you are on the moon, such is the terrain. We took the car another time and that is quite entertaining….beware, very long, bumpy road!

Use the bus it is cheap and always on time. Taxis are cheap too. There is an adequate super market nearby and a larger Dino not too far away also.
Rubicon Marina is really nice. With many very good restaurants. Taxied there in the evening for about 3.5 euros and walked back. 25 minutes good pace walk. Of course you could hire a bike from the shopping centre right next to the bungalows. You can ride the prom.
Hint. Book hire car before you get there. We had to wait 2 days to get one.
Take a trip to Timanfaya National Park, the volcano is amazing. The caves are worth seeing also. Playa Dorada is a great beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tachikara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberursel (Taunus), Germany
Level Contributor
161 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

First the accommodation - our bungalow was spacious, well equipped and very comfortable for 2, although the bed was a bit hard and the pillows could have been better. The maids kept the place spotlessly clean and did their jobs in a very unobtrusive manner. The view towards the sea and the outdoor seating area were wonderful. The shower tended to run hot and cold and really only provided enough hot water for 1. We learned to stagger our shower times. The pool area is very nice, but it being February, we soaked up the sun, not the water. We upgraded to a bungalow with wifi and other extras on arrival, only to find that the wifi was not functioning, and was never made to function during our stay. A reduction in our rate was applied with no argument.
Now the location - while only a short walk to the seafront promenade, it is a fair distance to the Rubicon Marina and then even further to Playa Blanca. In really hot weather, this could severely restrict the available options. There is a supermarket, sports bar, small cafeteria and a bus stop all very close, and a taxi ride back after eating in Playa Blanca is less than 4 euros, but there is really only one decent restaurant close enough to the bungalows to be considered a 'local' place (see review). What ever you do, do NOT eat at the buffet across the road - the food was terrible.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have just come back from 9 nights at these terrific apartments.They are very clean and spacious with large balconies.The two guys on reception Danny and Joaquin were exceptionally helpful and polite, they were great to deal with.We would love to go back sometime.The place was pretty laid back and quiet.In a good location albeit quite a long walk to Playa Blanca which we really enjoyed.If you are not into walking there is a good bus service into the harbour area and Playa Blanca.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garner811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coloradamar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bungalows Coloradamar, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you so much. Your comments make us feel proud of our work and help us to keep improving. Best regards from the sunny Lanzarote!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Although there are signs of investment required in some parts of the bungalow we stayed in, you cannot fault this complex, it's clean,well laid out and excellent location for getting to the local bus to other resorts close by, the coastal path is a joy to walk , and takes two - three hours to walk the whole length from playa Blanca light house to hotel.. The check in process was the most comprehensive and informative I have ever received in over forty years of foreign travel .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coloradamar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bungalows Coloradamar, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thanks for the kindness of your comments. We love our work and find it very nice to know that you enjoy your vacation in Coloradamar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is a fantastic little self catering complex hidden in between Playa Blanca and the undeveloped beaches of Papagayos. Danny and Joaquim are wonderful hosts and are only to happy to assist with anything you need. The place has a very laid back, casual, unhurried style which is great for a quiet family get away without the hassle of getting up at 6am to claim sun lounges. Its located only a 7 minute walk from a very well stocked supermarket with all the local and UK brands, a few local bars with milk shakes and ice creams for the kids, a nice little playground for the children and a very reasonable bike shop with well maintained bikes. And a highlight is lunch or dinner at Casa Carlos directly across the road. It's a great cross between fine dining and a family restaurant. Carlos and his team make everyone welcome and the food is very good. I highly recommend the suckling pig!

The complex has a nice spa and pool area but unfortunately the pool is unheated so in February it meant the children couldn't swim. The rooms have two good sized bathrooms but the shower off the master bedroom didn't really work and despite showing the maintenance guy (it seemed to work while he was there, then quickly spluttered to a dribble once he left) it was unusable for the whole week. All of this is fine however given the value for money and great vibe. The one downfall I suggest the owners tackle however was the beds, which were incredibly hard and uncomfortable...we had to sleep on the sun lounge mattresses, on the beds just to get some comfort. This clearly hasn't been an issue for other guests however, considering the high scores for "Sleep Quality", so perhaps its just the beds in Bungalow 14. It's a shame given how great everything else is; perhaps something to fix before our next visit as we'd love to return and recommend the site to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway in Lanzarote.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second tier have a view of the ocean and are excellent for catching the afternoon sun o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samndan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coloradamar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bungalows Coloradamar, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We will review thoroughly the shower, thanks. We apologize malfunction during your stay. Regarding mattresses, some customers like them tougher and other softer, so we have some topper for those who prefer soft. If we had known that there were uncomfortable for you, we would have offered them to you. On your next vacation remember to request the topper. Thank you again and best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,602 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marconfort Atlantic Gardens Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,871 reviews
1.3 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#9 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,474 reviews
2.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Lanzarote Park
IBEROSTAR Lanzarote Park
#5 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Coloradamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Coloradamar

Property: Bungalows Coloradamar
Address: C/ Las Buganvillas, 4, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalows Coloradamar 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bungalows Coloradamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Coloradamar Hotel Playa Blanca
Bungalows Coloradamar Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing