We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Club Playa Blanca
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
West Yorkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here on a family holiday August 2013. Check in was efficient, the apartments were tired looking. Even though there were daily reminders about not reserving sunbeds if you did not get up before 7.30am then there werent any left. The sunbeds and the surrounding areas of the pool were dirty, they were never cleaned whilst we were there. I totally understand the need for serving drinks in plastic glasses around a pool however these could be of a better quality and in an evening it would be good for glasses to be provided to adults however this was not the case. The food in the restaurant was ok we always found something to eat although I wish parents would keep their children under control especially when people are walking around the buffet with plates. The entertainment team were fun and always encouraged people to join in. In an evening there werent enough tables / chairs for everyone so often we wouldnt be able to watch the shows unless you got there for the mini disco and stay there all night. We did go to the beach quite a few times during our stay which was lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed these days. We ate out a few times too and again the restaurants were lovely in town. Would we go back, probably not and if we did we certainly would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: not near the water slide area as there is a strong smell of sewage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLCPB, Manager at Hotel Club Playa Blanca, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel on tripadvisor.

We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your holiday with us.
Your stay lies back some time and we are happy to let you know that most of your points mentioned have been resolved. We thank you for having stayed with us!

Muchas gracias!

Warm regards,

Your HL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    758
    385
    174
    115
See reviews for
1,203
482
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Couldn't fault our Bungalow, spotless and clean, close to all amenities. Except for Thursday and Sunday our room was cleaned daily and towels changed.
We purchased Wifi from the reception and beach towels a must.
Evening entertainment a joke, kids Disco, followed by a lady climbing into a box and then climbing out of it, another Night Bingo followed by Disco.
Staff having trouble coping, more often or not you had to clear and fetch your own cutlery and while your away someone will come and pinch your table.
We came back from lunch to find they had allocated our Bungalow to someone else, the receptionist sorted it out swiftly but it shouldn't of happened in the first place,it upset me for the rest of the holiday and I couldn't settle, they said it was the first time it had happened to them, well it's not the first time it has happened to me. The Gentleman concerned wasn't very nice, I know it wasn't his fault, but it wasn't ours either, you have to be diplomatic over these things and he wasn't. Most upset by this error.
On departure we noticed the pick up time from the transfer operator was later than take off from the Airport, the new recruit on the reception (couldn't be more helpful (sorry don't know her name) she got results, however the transfer operator didn't send amended details on departure but again the receptionist couldn't assist us any more.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Shazra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLCPB, Manager at Hotel Club Playa Blanca, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us.

We would like to let you know that we have investigated the case of the unexpected guest that you and your partner ( Author of previous review "60 th birthday") had to experience in your bungalow and we would like to apologise to you as well. We can ensure you that such a case will not happen again in the future of this hotel.

We would like to thank you again for having stayed with us and wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Kindest regards,

Your HL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

On arrival ,we were shown to where our bungalow was,nice and close to all amenities.Rooms were large and spotless,and were cleaned daily.Site was very clean and all staff were very polite.On the downside the food although tasty was sometimes only luke warm.At breakfast very few staff in dining room and you ended up clearing tables yourself and then looking for clean knives and forks.One day our bungalow 805 was mistakenly given to another guest while we were having lunch.Came back and found cases in the living room and a very irate guy who wanted us out of his rooms ,surprised that this happened but was sorted.I will not mention how poor the evening entertainment was.Overall proberbly 3 star at best.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the 800's .Close to pool ,reception and dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanWinstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLCPB, Manager at Hotel Club Playa Blanca, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken your time to post a review about our hotel on tripadvisor.

We have investigated your case concerning the wrongly allocated room to ensure this will not happen again. Please accept our sincerest apologise.

Again, we would like to thank you for having stayed with us here in Playa Blanca.

Kindest regards,

Your HL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked this as 4-star, but it does not compare with other 4-star Canarian hotels

During the day the pool facilities are adequate, with the pool bar available for drinks and a range of activities organised by the entertainments team

We found the food to be plentiful and of good quality

The rooms (small bungalows) were clean and comfortable, albeit you could hear through the wall to the adjoining room

You can, if you wish, use the facilities at the 2 sister hotels, which are within 10-20 minutes walking distance

The hotel doesn't meet the four star grade in the following areas:
There is no choice of restaurant (this is available in a sister hotel, but not here)
There is no comfortable 'lounge' area, just a television room which resembles a pub bar and the entertainments room, which is similarly furnished. There is no comfortable indoor lounge bar where visitors can relax with a drink
The bars were staffed by only one person, even at busy times
Although the staff try hard, the entertainment is quite amateur, in comparison with other 4-star hotels

We would rate this as a good 3-star 'budget' family hotel

The management was superb, dealing with any issues speedily and professionally. We could not fault them

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be quite similar, although some had 2 bedrooms which would suit larger familie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLCPB, Manager at Hotel Club Playa Blanca, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken your time to write a review of our hotel.
We are happy to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. We will look into the points for improvement given and thank you for the valuable feedback.

We hope to have you back one day with us.

Kind regards,

your HL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

just returned from the playa blanca and must say it was excellent.i write reviews on every hotel I visit with honest reviews as I rely on trip advisor to choose my hotel.the accomadation was very clean ( 2 bed bungalow ).the pool areas were spotless.the management from the reception to the house keepers were very polite and helpful.the meals were very good and there was something for everyone you would never go hungry as food was served constantly throughout the day.the drinks were excellent.the entertainment was hilarious from the bingo to music awards.the kids disco we had a 4 year old with us and she loved it a big thanks to animation team tommy,aron,nikki,laura,mark and lastly joy who my granddaughter just loved from the kiddies club.would definitely return to the playa blanca hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank galwayeileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLCPB, Gerente at Hotel Club Playa Blanca, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken your time to write a review about us!

It has been a pleasure having you and your family here with us and we are looking forward to have you back soon!

Thank you again for having choosen to stay with us!Muchas Gracias!

Warm regards,

Your HL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

just returned from not a week stay at this hotel ! it was spotless, but there is a lack of hot water for showers, there is a boiler in rooms but you r instructed not to plug it in ! food was ok, but was a variation of the same every night. we stayed all inclusive, drinks were all good, real pepsi and local beer, which is unusal to find all inclusive. unfortunately this hotel is not for the English, it is for the germans Spanish and French, we felt out of place and very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLCPB, Manager at Hotel Club Playa Blanca, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you for review of our hotel.
On our info fact sheet ( given upon arrival) we inform our clients to call reception should the backup boiler be needed for additional waterheating. A technician will then come to your bungalow to switch it on. We are sorry to read that you did not have sufficent water. We will work on communicating this matter better.
We hope you did enjoy Lanzarote and that you will visit the island again. We thank you for having stayed with us and hope to see you again!

Warm regards,

Your HL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a week at The Club Playa Blanca. The hotel is made up of 2 block bungalows around the site. They were, as was the whole place kept spotlessly clean though the partitioning wall to next door was very very thin and hence could hear everything. The 2 pools and sunbathing area were the central focal point, lots of sunbeds and large bar area open in the day. Whether it was the time of year but there didn't seem to be enough staff on the bars and especially in the dining room, tables were left unmade so you had to find your own cutlery and remove dirty plates. The food was ok, nothing fantastic I guess you get what you pay for and once it was gone it was gone so for full menu you had to be there early. Apart from the reception girls I cant say that the staff were very pleasant/friendly but that maybe down to the fact that they seemed short staffed. There were a lot of young family's and OAPs, mainly German and Spanish. The Hotel is situated about 15min walk out of Playa Blanca. The resort of Playa Blanca is fairly relaxed with a lovely paved walk way along side of the sea on one side and shops/resturants on the other. On the whole the holiday was fine for the price but in one word I personally found the hotel to be somewhat soulless....

Room Tip: All bungalows were the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuxpanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLCPB, Manager at Hotel Club Playa Blanca, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken your time to write a review about our hotel.
We are sorry to hear that we did not manage to wow you during your stay here with us.
We are working hard to improve and hope next time we will be able to give you a different feel during your stay!
Thanks again for having stayed with us.

Warm regards,

Your HL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.8 mi away
THB Royal
THB Royal
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,052 reviews
0.6 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,690 reviews
0.6 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,284 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Monica
Royal Monica
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
982 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Playa Blanca

Property: Hotel Club Playa Blanca
Address: Avenida Faro de Pechiguera s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Hotel Club Playa Blanca)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#18 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Club Playa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Club Playa Blanca is situated in a tranquil location approx. 1000 mtrs from the beach and approx. 800 mtrs from the village center with its shops, restaurants and bars, and a marvelous beach promenade. A free shuttle bus service is arranged several times a day to the beach and the water park “Dino Aquapark” at the sister hotel Paradise Island. The beach can be reached by foot in approx. 15 minutes. The one story resortl is ideal for families and consists of 164 Bungalows (92 with 1 bedroom, and 72 with 2 bedrooms) offers a non smoking restaurant, a Spanish bar, theater and a pool bar. The reception is available 24 hours. The hotel facilities include as well 2 freshwater swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) with separate children’s pool, a jacuzzi and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas. Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. A Laundry is available to the guests (against charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Club Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Hotel Playa Blanca
Hl Club Playa Blanca
Club Playa Blanca
Hotel Club Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing