We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The beach was the only thing worthwhile!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Monica Playa Blanca
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The beach was the only thing worthwhile!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our first opinion of the hotel upon arrival was initially good as the reception was clean with a modern look.
The following day we accidentally left both keys in the room so had to ask reception for a new set, the receptionist pulled us an extremely unfriendly look and continued to speak to us as though we were below her.
The third day we paid a deposit for the room air con, which when we got back to our room, didnt work!
The patio doors we had only one of the sliding doors locked the other could be pulled open and our bathroom window made a very irritating whistle when the winds were blowing.
The food was repetitive and not very pleasant, even though we were all inclusive we ate out for the remainder of our 12 day holiday ( ate in twice).

On a brighter note, Hassan the bar man was great, always helpful and cheery! The animation team were also a good touch!.

The holiday itself was good because we made it good but I wouldnt return to this venue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Olivia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    447
    150
    54
    42
See reviews for
284
424
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Myself and my boyfriend have just returned from a week's stay at the Royal Monica Hotel; overall we had a brilliant time and were really impressed with the hotel.. There are many positives to this hotel, and it is definitely good value for money! The food (and drink) options are very varied with a wide selection of choices, the pool is brilliant and the views from the hotel are great. The staff are also all really friendly and our stay at the hotel was very comfortable. For example, on our check out day they let you use a spare room for half an hour to shower and change in before leaving for your flight, which means you can spend the day by the pool/beach if you have a later flight. The main negative about this hotel, as other reviewers have mentioned, is that the rooms are pretty basic and the beds were quite hard. However, for us this wasn't a problem as we spent little time in the room. The room was very clean and the cleaners came on 5/7 mornings. It's also a bit of a pain that many things (the safe, the aircon control, the tv remote, the beach towels, the tennis rackets, bike hire etc..) all require a deposit and in some cases (e.g the safe), also a small fee to use. There is also a fee to use the spa (I think 6 euros pp. per day) and the gym is very dated with limited equipment. The hotel is about a (really nice) 40/50 minutes walk down the sea front. Unless you rented a car or were keen to frequently walk long distances then you may be 'stuck' at the hotel. The entertainment/animation is pretty naff but all quite fun, and there is different stuff to get involved with if you wanted to.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were really impressed by the all-inclusive package. It was a nice, well maintained hotel with different things to do and v. helpful staff. We felt we got a good deal for the price we paid... would definitely recommend to couples and families!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just back from an eleven day All Inclusive break ( June 5th - 16th 2014) booked through Cosmos.

Room was adequate but twin beds were disappointing. The need to get TV and Aircon remotes from reception at a 30 Euro deposit ( refundable ) and lack of tea making facilities in the room were not endearing features.

Self service bar was however a great idea and the on hand bar staff were always available for the provision of cocktails as required.

The restaurant had a range of good quality meal options and we were never disappointed in the available choices, quality or quantity on offer.

Throughout our stay the cheerful hotel staff made every effort to be helpful and the enthusiastic entertainments team deserve a special mention for their continued efforts.

Hotel is located outside of the main resort area but can be easily accessed by taxi (less than 5 Euros) or if you are feeling enthusiastic a decent walk along the promenade into Playa Blanca takes about 50 mins. However not the ideal location if you are looking for a varied night out due to its rather remote position.

Lanzarote as a destination was rather disappointing as it is for the most part a volcanic lava plain and the places to visit is limited but do take the full island bus tour to get an overview of the island. As a tip book it direct through the tour operator and not through a rep to save 20% of the trip price as we found out to our cost.

All in all for the hotel was better than its 3 star rating and proved to be good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I recently went here with my boyfriend In early June and have to say we were very impressed. If your looking for lots of things to do then this hotel is not ideal as it is a bit in the middle of no where but you can walk along the promenade which has lovely views and a few restaurants / bars. The room was massive and cleaned regularly and to a high standard. The food was good with some love cooking but gets a bit repetitive after a while due to lots of pasta rice and fish but you get plenty of it. The pool was lovely but just a bit on the cold side so on days when it was cloudy you would not see many in the pool. The only negatives were there was loads of flies around the pool which made sunbathing difficult, the gym was very poor and that the food could of been a bit more healthy and varied. However this was great value for a 3* and would recommend was a weeks holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my Mum just returned from here after a 3 night getaway and we were both thoroughly impressed! We had a sea view room ground floor room, which was tbh a bit basic (no tea making facilities) and everything seemed to be an added extra. €20 for the remote for the A/C €10 for the TV remote and also a €15 deposit per towel (beach towel that is) I didn't read about any of this before we went but it wasn't a problem really. The swimming pool was lovely, and if you could get to the sea that was also refreshing for a dip in after a long day sunbathing. The food I thought was really good for a 3 star, but I can imagine it would get a bit samey after a while. The entertainment team worked so hard here, I saw them at all different hours of the day and done a really good job. You can walk to Playa Blanca down the promenade, took us about 45 mins but it really is a very pleasant walk. I would def stay here again, just for the views and the staff really. Location wise it's a bit far from anywhere and you could feel a bit trapped if you were here for a long time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I have never been on a more enjoyable, exciting and emotional holiday. The hotle was amazing the food was exquisite and the alcohol was second to non. The only down side I would say is the distance from the main town Playa Blanca but it didnt not effect the holiday to much. The best part of the holiday was the Animation Team of the hotel I have never met a better bunch of entertainers in my life and I'm a professional actor. They really knew how to get people involved in things they never would normaly. They really became good friends and thanks to Facebook we can continue that friendship. Overall an incredible holiday! 5 stars!
By Calum Andrew Ralph

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Calum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this holiday having returned from a 5* all inclusive in Playa Blanca in March. We wanted a cheap week away at 1/2 term and when we found this hotel for less than £1000 for my husband, son & myself, we decided to give it a go even though it was a 3*. We were very pleasantly suprised. On arrival there had been a mix up with rooms but this was sorted out by reception with very little fuss. The food was perfectly adequate, with there being plenty of choice at every meal. Rooms were very clean....I would recommend a sea view room or a suite with sea view. The location is a bit out of the way (about 5miles from Rubicon Marina) but it is a very pleasant walk on the coastal path. Staff were allvery pleasant and hard working. Animation team did well for their lack of numbers. The hotel was far from full, which was pleasant. Most guests were French, German or Scandinavian, but this did not cause a problem. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a good quality 3* holiday without breaking the bank. It isn't 5* by any means, but it doesn't profess to be, or charge 5* prices . We would certainly return for that reason!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
2.5 mi away
THB Royal
THB Royal
#11 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
2.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
3.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA
2.3 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,875 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Monica Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Monica Playa Blanca

Property: Royal Monica Playa Blanca
Address: Calle 1, 35500 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Club Calimera Royal Monica Playa Blanca)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa Blanca
#20 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Monica Playa Blanca 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Royal Monica Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Calimera Royal Monica Playa Blanca Hotel Playa Blanca
Royal Monica Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing