We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”
Review of THB Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
THB Royal
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Kelty, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Apartment was what you paid for, clean and comfortable apart from the choked
drain in the bathroom. There was somebody there to fix the problem in 5 minutes but left the water for the cleaner to mop up, who was very surprised. Staff were very efficient and friendly. Meals were quite good, a varied selection.
Entertainment could have been better. Quiet and relaxing, weather could have been better. Quite a walk to the market though, only 4 euros for taxi.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juan s, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear James, thanks for your opion and on behalf of my staff and we hope you visit us again soon.
A greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    476
    154
    37
    17
See reviews for
374
457
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

As previously said it's a bit dated but clean the food is lovely as ive been in 4 to 5 star hotels and this one is perfect . We had a issue with one of the mattress if we were here for a week I would of left it but 3 weeks and my husbands back problem . I addressed it and said it was only the one mattress the staff were brilliant and changed them both . The staff who clean the rooms work so hard and polite curtias . To be honest I can not fault the place . The shower is good clean bedding and a hotel I will come to again .

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Denstewart15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We went away for a budget break for a bit of winter sun over a long weekend. The place is a little tired, and could do with a revamp - having said that, you get what you paid for (if it's 'plush' you want, then you'd pay for the sister hotel - Sun Tropical around the corner). Good lay out, staff are so lovely, friendly and helpful.

The restaurant is a buffet self service, there are enough options for breakfast, lunch and dinner, but tend to be the same:same meals served up everyday. As food is kept warm under heat lamps, they are inevitably a little over cooked. However, it's a 10 mins walk to the beach front and shopping centre where there are lots of different eating places to choose from.

You need to pay for wifi and the safe.

I have unfortunately/stupid enough to have left my ring behind in my room, and have since phoned and emailed them to return it, so I hope I hear from them soon.

Yes, I would recommend the place for a cheap and cheerful break.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelUpsAndDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Would agree with everything in the previous review. Not plush but good value for money. Rooms are more than adequate, the layout is excellent, it's very clean and the staff are polite and helpful. It is a little dated and tired in some areas. Breakfast is very good, lunch is good, the evening meal is OK. Non fish eating veggies would not be well catered for. The all inclusive snacks are truly awful. In early December, the hotel is quiet. At peak times, if the weather is good, the pool areas could be inadequate. Overall, good value for money.

Room Tip: South facing balcony. Hire a car to explore a fascinating island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The choice of food is limited but there are plenty of good bars and restaurants in Playa Blance, so you don't need to eat at the hotel.
The rooms are basic but clean and the staff are generally helpful. Disappointing that Wifi is not free and nor is the safe.
Within 10 minutes walk of Playa Dorada and 15 mintues from the centre of Playa Blanca.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quieter and most have a terrace or patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GazzavdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We really enjoyed our 1 week winter break here. The staff were all lovely and so helpful if you needed anything at all. The rooms are a little tired but for what we paid I`m not complaining. Clean is all you need! The complex is pleasantly landscaped and attractive surroundings,(loved the signs on the plants). The food, we never went without and enjoyed most meals always plenty and good choices to cater for different tastes. The entertainment for familys judging by the little ones we saw, seemed to be fine if thats your thing. The pools were lovely and not freezing either which was a bonus. The hotel is a pleasant walk down to the beach, and from there a nice seaside walk into town. The taxi`s were around 3 euros back if you wanted which is average. Yes we would return and recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Perhaps the north facing rooms were not so good for sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloomingheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very disappointed. outdated, grubby bathroom. Hairdryer very poor. Towels needed updated and decor and furnishings old fashioned. Poor is awful. I am not a fussy eater and have been on many all inclusives and never struggle to eat but this really I found inedible. After paying all inclusive we ate out for all our meals.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milligang2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.3 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
2.5 mi away
Royal Monica
Royal Monica
#21 of 37 in Playa Blanca
980 reviews
0.3 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.0 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Royal

Property: THB Royal
Address: C/ Janubio s/n | Urb. Costa Papagayo, 35770 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly THB Hotel Sun Royal)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — THB Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel THB Royal is located in the south of Lanzarote, in the village of Playa Blanca.This quiet fishing village in the municipality of Yaiza has preserved its characteristics apart from tourism development.This large complex consists of two floors and a total of 200 rooms. The hotel offers guests 2 swimming areas with solarium. Nearby are some of the most beautiful tourist attractions in Lanzarote: The Coast of Papagayo, El Golfo… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your THB Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Royal Apartments Hotel Playa Blanca
Sun Royal Apartments Playa Blanca
THB Royal Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing