We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday!”
Review of THB Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
THB Royal
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have just returned from a weeks hol here with our 6 yr old daughter and loved every minute. The apartment was lovely and very clean with two balconies over looking the pool, our maid came in every day to clean and change the towels. The food was fantastic- lots of choice and cooked to perfection. The beach is literally down the road which is a lovely stroll after a mighty meal! Everywhere is spotless and the staff are very helpful. The only fault is the evening entertainment which is poor but across the road is a thb hotel you can use any time though it is bigger and busier the evenings are great for adults and children.We enjoyed their facilities but also enjoyed the more peaceful environment of the Sun Royal when it suited us.This is a great place to stay despite the moaners reviews but some people just can't be pleased! For a budget holiday it is fab and we would definitely go back again. A big thanks to Marta who worked really hard. Thank you Sun Royal for a brilliant holiday!!!

Room Tip: First or second floor room over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar S, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Vicky S,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us. Be sure that we will transfer your good words to the Animation Team.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Visited sun royal which was booked through sun master in June this was marked up at 4 star, on site and also room booked apparently was gone so told was upgraded for small charge too bungalow with a garden view, no garden view no bungalow, there was very cold pools so never used, other than once. food was awful, cold and no taste. Room had no tea coffee sugar or milk other than appliances you had too move too a plug if you wanted too use them. Kitchen needs too be planned out better. Entertainment staff was very cheerful and pleasant. Worst all inclusive holiday ever very disappointed however playa blanca is a beautiful place too visit

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar S, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Valerie B,

We regret to hear that you had a bad experience with us.

We could have talked during your stay to try to solve your incoveniences: we are very sorry, but we inform that our official category is three stars.

We remain at your disposal for any thing you may need.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We are two middle-aged couples and stayed at the THB Royal in May 2014. We regularly stay in THB hotels and have found them very satisfactory. We stayed for 10 days All Inclusive and the holiday was excellent value for money. Our apartments were very good and the bedrooms were a really good size and had mirrored wardrobes with lots of storage space. We had a TV with a couple of English speaking channels. The kitchen area had a good supply of crockery etc and the utensil drawer had scissors, bottle opener and some sharp knives - not the usual contents! As we were AI we didn't need them but I was definitely impressed! The cleaners were in almost every day and changed the towels, made beds and washed the floors and the balcony. Beds were changed 3 times in 10 days. Hotel areas, pool areas and dining room and bar were spotlessly clean and the pool cleaned every morning. There was no problem getting sun loungers. The staff were very helpful at all times and very friendly. We were given two ground floor apartments when we arrived and asked if we could move upstairs. The reception staff gave us two other keys and sent us to see if the upstairs apartments were suitable. We were delighted and we got moved with no bother. The dining room was very well organised - buffet style - and the food at breakfast, lunch & dinner were always hot and regularly replenished. We had pork quite often served in different ways, chicken, lamb, veal, beef, and twice we had rabbit and goat. There was always at least one type of fish, sometimes more. There was soup and pasta at both meals and a wide selection of fresh salads. There was always a cooked breakfast although the bacon and sausages are not what we are used to - but it's Spain!! There were always plenty of cold meats, eggs, fruit, choice of cereals, yogurts and plenty rolls and bread with a very efficient toaster!! They also have all the usual jams and honey etc. The only part of lunch & dinner I wasn't keen on was the desserts - namely the cakes!! However there was always fresh fruit, jelly and ice cream. I you are All Inclusive you can help yourselves to unlimited choice of wines, beer and soft drinks with lunch & dinner. The pina colada cocktails from the bar are to die for esp. with a little extra rum!! All in all we had a fabulous holiday with no complaints.
Have to give a special mention to Marta of the Animation Team. She is lovely & does a great job, organising bingo most nights - it's a riot!! Some of the evening entertainment was excellent especially the illusionist and magician! We will definitely go back to this hotel and we really liked Playa Blanca.

Room Tip: We much preferred our upstairs rooms and would ask for this next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sheenawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar S, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for mentioning that you will stay again in the Hotel THB Royal. We sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to write a positive review about your stay.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Booked this the day before departure and didn't know what to expect as the price was so cheap. Rooms were basic but cleaned 5 days out of 7. Pools were clean and near the rooms giving a sense of security. Typical 3 star all inclusive food with a good choice, all hot with lovely fresh salads. All in all, for the money, very good value. Thanks to the kids entertainer Martha, fantastic!

Room Tip: only 2 floors but ground floor with terrace looking at pool is more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gbaxter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar S, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear ,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments THB Royal and remarks and the trust you have placed on us. Be sure that we will transfer your good words to the Animation Team.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

As long as you aren't expecting 5 star luxury there is no reason not to enjoy a holiday at the THB Royal.
Stayed for 2 weeks at the end of April/beginning of May with my husband and 2yo daughter and my parents. We were lucky enough to be given two apartments across the hallway from one another overlooking the upper pool - 606 and 605. In my opinion these were in a great position in the hotel, if a little tricky to find the first time via the no stairs route!
The pool areas could do with updating - the beds are hit and miss and some of the tiles are broken. Although there was plenty of cleaning going on it was still a little bit tired. It's also a shame that the kids pools aren't heated, even if that's only during low season. They were simply too cold to play in for long.
It's true the rooms are a little tired too but many rooms were being redecorated whilst we were there so I am hopeful that they will all be improved soon. The bathroom was the only real issue for me. It was a little grotty and never smelt totally clean. This is a symptom of having no natural ventilation and years of bad aim from the previous guests I guess! ;) Beds were comfy, except the pillows which were hard and flat, and the travel cot provided for our daughter was good quality and clean. The sofa in our living room was on it's way out and I wouldn't have felt comfortable sleeping on it (doubles as a sofa bed) but it was fine for sitting on.
We stayed sc and found the kitchenette and facilities to be adequate, although it took a couple of days and several reports to reception to finally get a kettle for my parents room! No better or worse than any other Canarian sc apt I've been in before. Maid service was good and I had no concerns about cleanliness although I'm the type that always has a mini bottle of dettol in my bag.
We spoke to others who were AI and they all said how cheap the deal was and decent the food was. We had breakfast twice and I would rate it average although the drinks - both the juice and coffee machine - were revolting. Way too strong!
The location of the hotel and the friendly and helpful staff, the quiet and relaxing atmosphere (although don't know what it would be like in high season) and the absolutely excellent value mean I would definitely stay here again. Especially if the rooms are all updated!

Room Tip: For sun in the afternoon/evening on your terrace you need a room facing away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauren1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar S, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for commenting that you will return during a future holiday break.

We take note of the list of things that you did not like during your stay, while at the same time thank you for mentioning the points that you did like.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from here and although the weather wasn't great we really enjoyed it
Food was lovely with a huge choice
Little apts poolside so you can sit and watch the kids on both pools
And lastly Marta....shes the entertainment/kids club rep and she's fab...a lovely girl who's a laugh and very persuasive, please don't pay to much heed to the bad reviews as you get what you pay for but we had a 12 and a 14 yr old with us and they didn't want to leave

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 2angelsSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar S, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for choosing THB Royal to enjoy your holidays, and for sharing your holiday experience with all of us, and also for scoring your stay among us 5/5, it is great !!

Thank you for all your comments about food and clealiness, and also for your opinion of our hard working staff, Marta has just began to work with us and she is working really well, animatiom good team and she is always trying his best to reach guest´s expectations. We are very proud of them.

All THB Royal team takes this opportunity to greet you cordially, looking forward to seeing you again soon. We will be deligthed to attend you again and to offer you another holiday experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My family & I have just returned from one week at the THB Royal/Royal Sun Hotel.
This is a budget hotel with a capital B. We were assigned rooms 505 & 506, close to the restaurant & one children's pool & an adult pool, both of these pools were very cold, I did ask at reception which were the heated pools, to be told these were the warmer of the pools, I dread to think how cold the other pools were! I would have thought that the management would have noticed the lack of people using the pools might have given them some indication of how cold the pools were, maybe in high season, after the sun has been on them they might get a little warmer.
The food wasn't really up to scratch, Luke warm at best & really no taste to most of it, although other people we spoke to enjoyed the food, you just have to make your own mind up on these things, we did try one night out eating, & the restaurant we chose wasn't great either, £100 wasted there
The room's we had were very tired looking, the appliances in the kitchenette need replacing ASAP, the cupboards, the fridge & microwave are certainly very dated, as was the TV set, the furnishings were just about OK, although you could see the screws holding them together, you could at least sit on them, the beds my wife & I found quite comfortable, my daughter & son in law slept on the sofa bed & pull out, & our granddaughters slept in a bed & cot respectively. The decor is in dire need of a makeover, our bathroom door didn't close properly, likewise our daughters the same, mentioned this at reception, both problems immediately rectified, for the short term.
The evening entertainment was great for the kids, maybe it need's to start at 20:00, not 20:30, a little late for some children I think, Marta who took on the task of the whole evenings entertainment schedule was fabulous, highest recommendations to her, because of her our 2 young granddaughters thoroughly enjoyed the kids disco.
All in all, 'you get what you pay for', is the best way of describing this Hotel, as stated, this is a budget Hotel, we paid £1470 for 4 adults, 1 four year old & one 22 month old, All Inclusive, for 6 people this equates to approx. £245 a head, which I would say is about right for this Hotel.
Although we enjoyed our week, we would not be returning to Lanzarote, although Playa Blanca is a nice little resort, it just wasn't for us.

Room Tip: We have been told the Hotel is undergoing some renovation, we didn't notice anything happening i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar S, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest: ,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us. Be sure that we will transfer your good words to the Animation Team.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.3 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#23 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,049 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Royal

Address: C/ Janubio s/n | Urb. Costa Papagayo, 35770 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly THB Hotel Sun Royal)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £113 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — THB Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel THB Royal is located in the south of Lanzarote, in the village of Playa Blanca.This quiet fishing village in the municipality of Yaiza has preserved its characteristics apart from tourism development.This large complex consists of two floors and a total of 200 rooms. The hotel offers guests 2 swimming areas with solarium. Nearby are some of the most beautiful tourist attractions in Lanzarote: The Coast of Papagayo, El Golfo… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your THB Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Royal Apartments Hotel Playa Blanca
Sun Royal Apartments Playa Blanca
THB Royal Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing