We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very up scale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Castilla Vieja
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Palencia
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Very up scale”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is an upscale property situated in a not so upscale neighborhood.

The room was excellent, the hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff was very helpful and pleasant.

The best part was the off street parking. After seeing what goes on in that neighborhood at night and early in the morning, I am glad we were able to get the car in a secure garage. There were roving packs of drunk 30 somethings, pissing on walls and cars, throwing beer bottles and drink cans, and challenging strangers on the street. Not pleasant.

This same property in a better location would get 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CommanderChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    82
    62
    4
    5
See reviews for
37
79
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We chose this hotel since it was just a short walk from the train station and located on one of the tree-lined thoroughfares of the town. We got more than we'd expected.

We were very pleasantly surprised by the junior suite we’d reserved for the same price that a regular double room in a three-star hotel usually costs in larger Spanish cities. As others have mentioned on TripAdvisor, the furnishings were a bit old-fashioned, but the two rooms in the suite were comfortable and practical for our weekend stay with a view of a courtyard like area. The bathroom was spacious and nicely tiled. And a nice extra touch were the bottles of water in a small glass refrigerator in the corridor for guests to take as they wished.

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and the marble entrance area was elegant. The elevator was a bit small, but then we didn’t have much luggage. Wifi was fast and reliable.

Breakfast was truly excellent with simple but superbly fresh ingredients: cheese, of course delicious Spanish jamón, crispy churros too with the wonderfully thick chocolate. We also enjoyed excellent tapas on our first afternoon and for our second light evening meal we also stayed at the hotel and had a tasty mushroom salad. Adjoining the reception area is a dining area with tables and an open bar. Upstairs there’s a gallery for breakfast and also for full dining on the weekend.

We’d certainly consider staying at Castilla Vieja again in Palencia and would certainly return for a full meal in the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castillavieja, Gerente at Hotel Castilla Vieja, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We hope that you and your family return as soon as possible to enjoy our Hotel, meal and town.
It’ll be a pleasure to have you among our customers again
Best Regards,
Eduardo Relea (chef manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed here when driving from Santander to our home on the Algarve we arrived late on Saturday night, after our satnav decided not to take us to the hotel, we eventually found the hotel, but later than we anticipated. We were greeted by a young man on reception, who could not do enough to help us, we used the hotels underground car park as we were loaded with items and a large dog, who stayed in the room with us. The man stayed with us all the time whilst parking and showing us where to park, and then escorted us, taking our bags directly to our room, he also gave us lots of information regarding the hotel, and the area, especially where we could walk our dog. We had a good nights rest, a very good breakfast, and when checking out the young man was there again to help us back to the car park once again carrying our cases for us. He said he was a student at the university there during the week, and worked weekends to help pay his way, we must say he was an asset to the hotel, he spoke excellent English as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyone40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed at the hotel castilla vieja en route from the Algarve to Bilbao and it was just fine. We happened to be there on the Sunday night of their Patron Saint Day, so the town was heaving, but we were well looked after, the room was fine and we slept well. One slight negative was the noise coming in from the corridor (walls must be thin!), but it was fine by 11 o'clock when all went quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyhs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The hotel is ok, it's clean and functional but it leaves a bit to be desired. It all works fine, and is practical but you can't help feeling slightly underwhelmed. Good points: the bar/cafe is good, reception area is fine, and free wifi worked well. Bad points: the room decor is dated and doesn't appear to have changed since I first went there 20 years ago. The car park access isn't great either. Overall ok, and I would return, but I can't really get too excited about it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krumbach, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed here with two colleagues because it is close to the town center and not too far from the place we were working after reading the reviews on this site, which were very helpful.The hotel itself is in a good location and clean, the rooms we had at first were rather small but after speaking with the staff we were moved into bigger rooms at the same price.The staff was very helpful although very restricted in the English language. All in all a very pleasant stay in a town although quiet Palencia is well worth a short visit.

Room Tip: A room away from the main road is advisable as it can be noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernardB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed here overnight when driving down to the Algarve from Santander. We chose Palencia for an overnight stop as we didn’t want to drive off the ferry and be faced with a long car journey before reaching our accommodation for the night.

The hotel is situated in the town centre and easy to find. There is some limited on street parking directly outside. In addition guests can use the hotel secure underground car park for charge. This cannot be booked in advance, but when we booked we asked for a space if available.

On arrival we parked outside while we registered, then moved the car into the car park. The reception staff who all spoke some English were very helpful. They were aware I wanted to use their secure car park and a space had been held open for us. Access to this car park is through an access control gate requiring a member of staff to accompany you down each time you want to access or use your car. So in effect you get an escorted service which might be welcome to some guests.

Our room was spacious, exceptionally clean, well-appointed and had an enormous bathroom. It had air conditioning and internet access. In the corridor outside there was a refrigerator with stocked with bottles of water provided free of charge for guests.

Later we had an evening meal in hotel bar. We actually wanted to eat in the hotel restaurant but were told it was closed for a private function. From the bar area you can see the stairs leading to the open plan upstairs restaurant and it seemed strange that there was no evidence of any one actually attending this private function or that it was actually taking place.

We were given the restaurant menu and charged the restaurant prices. The actual quality of the food was only fair which was disappointing. The service which started off rather offhand deteriorated further when we declined to order wine. This meal was not a good experience and I would recommend eating out in the evening if possible.

The following morning we had the inclusive breakfast in the restaurant. This consisted of fresh orange juice and a buffet offering a range of hot and cold food. In contrast with our experience the previous night the quality was excellent.

We thought the hotel provided really high standard accomodation at a reasonable price. Just don't bother with an evening meal there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palencia hotels
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Diana Palace
Eurostars Diana Palace
#3 of 13 in Palencia
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palencia
AC Hotel Palencia
#1 of 13 in Palencia
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Don Rodrigo
Hotel Don Rodrigo
#5 of 13 in Palencia
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rey Sancho
Hotel Rey Sancho
#12 of 13 in Palencia
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palacio Congresos
Hotel Palacio Congresos
#8 of 13 in Palencia
50 reviews
23.2 mi away
Real Monasterio San Zoilo
Real Monasterio San Zoilo
#2 of 13 in Palencia
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castilla Vieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castilla Vieja

Property: Hotel Castilla Vieja
Address: Avenida Casado del Alisal 26, 34001 Palencia, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Palencia > Palencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Palencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castilla Vieja 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Palencia's historic town, close to the cathedral and the city’s main square, this hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen satellite TV and a private bathroom.After a day’s work or sightseeing, relax with a drink in the hotel’s traditional Spanish cafe. You can also choose between 2 on-site restaurants offering delicious authentic specialities from Castile and the rest of Spain.As a guest of the Castilla Vieja you can make free use of the gym located 20 metres from the hotel. Private parking is available on site at the Castilla Vieja. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Castilla Vieja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing