We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest hotel in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendliest hotel in town”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel at the height of August; yet it was quiet and peaceful being set back from the very popular beach; just what we wanted.
The staff are extremely friendly; good at mixing cocktails and getting us directions to a quieter beach along a wonderful coastal path.
Boxes that were ticked for us:
-helpful friendly staff
-Clean, quiet rooms with balcony
-Rooftop sun loungers and bar.
-A short walk to the beach and about 10 different restaurants.
We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    21
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Having stayed at a 3 star hotel in Barcelona and travelled down for a one night stay in this hotel; I am afraid that there is no comparison between the two hotels. This hotel is clearly in need of updating to meet modern day standards. Unfortunately we found this hotel to be lacking in cleanliness, facilities, quality of breakfast, quality of fixtures and fittings (in our room several lights did not work), no hot water in the shower, the bathroom floor was extremely dirty on arrival, and as there was no shower curtain the water went all over the floor which made this very dangerous and slippery. The plumbing fittings in the toilet were loose and the hand basin was fitted with pebbles from the beach!
Parking extremely difficult in the resort during peak season and would recommend arriving really early to obtain a parking space.
Really sorry to leave this negative review, but we can only comment on how we found our experience and comparison between the two three star hotels, and therefore would not recommend this hotel in its current condition.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissie1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We turned up in Tamariu on the last Saturday morning in August, with no reservation made (deliberately - to see what we could find). We'd never been to Tamariu before. First we tried the Hotel Tamariu: An apartment available for €157, which we thought quite expensive. Then tried (reluctantly after reading reviews here) Es Furio: €85 for a room which didn't look that clean and on the third floor, with no lift. The proprietor was hardly very jolly either. Then we tried La Caleta de Tamariu. It's not on the seafront, but is only a 2 minute walk from the beach. Price-wise, it's in between the two other hotels and good value. We chose a room on the first floor with a double bed (actually, it was two twins pushed together which was one of our very few minor criticisms), balcony overlooking the garden - with table, two chairs and a sunlounger. The room was spacious with a nice, clean and fairly sizeable bathroom. No Air Con, but the ceiling fan was remarkably effective despite outdoor temperatures being 28-30 during the day and low-mid 20s at night. TV/Hairdrier, etc. The room was cleaned daily to a very good standard. Breakfast was either in the dining room or on the garden veranda. Croissants, ham, cheese, jam, etc....tea or coffee served with a smile by Javier. What we didn't realise (until the last day of our stay) was that they offer a daily dinner menu which is tremendous - a choice of four starters, four mains, dessert and a bottle of very decent wine for €15!! Astonishing value and great quality, cooked brilliantly by Adriana. They don't make a big deal of advertising their restaurant - which we were not alone in advising they really should! The garden/terrace is a lovely setting and, whilst without a sea view, has a small lawn, tasteful furniture and lighting, a water feature...quite beautiful, with some appropriately chilled music. There's also a rooftop chill-out bar with sun loungers and parasols - we didn't use it as we spent almost all day on the beach, but it looks comfortable and fun. One of the other impressive things about the hotel is the artwork - mostly by a local artist called Vidal, quirky but very attractive. What's surprising is that the whole place is run by the joint-owner, Frederico (who also mixes fine cocktails and is a constantly-smiling face), Adriana (who runs reception and cooks), Javier (breakfast and bar duty) and one cleaner. They must work very hard, but are always cheerful. This hotel is a real find. Highly recommended. Many would call it 'boutique-y' I wouldn't be so pretentious, but you get the idea. We'll be back at least twice in 2014 for sure.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are front-facing, so much the same. Second floor rooms could well have a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PeteBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Great little hotel. Friendly and efficient service. Comfortable, spacious room with a terrace (we were upgraded on arrival). Nice complimentary breakfast with great coffee. Extremely quiet on a night - room had blackout curtains too so had a great night's sleep. Good location just set back from the restaurants on the beach. The rooftop terraced area was great with very comfortable sunbeds - boy was it hot up there! Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gerryjackieash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My hubby and I decided to visit Tamariu for 5 days. We were on a budget, and thus booked our stay at Hotel la Caleta. Remember this is Spain, (as an American, I can be very picky). I found the rooms to be a little bare, but nice sized. 2 twin beds pushed together (not ideal, but common in Europe)...a patio overlooking a cute garden. Girls, bring your own hair conditioner..heheh They have a nice relaxing area on their roof as well. It was a little loud at night, but overall good. What really made this hotel great were the staff. Frederico (the owner) and Andrea went far and above what I was expecting. They make you feel like old friends or family. Very nice, helpful, attentive. It helps that they also speak a ridiculous amount of languages.. Every-night we had the pleasure of sitting in the bar drinking Frederico's special mojito (order it, you will love it)... I have no doubt that his hotel will only become better and better. He is a visionary.. from the drinks, food to the hotel itself. I really can not say anything bad about this place and personally know I will be back, like so many others....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shoat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Delightful hotel and all staff were very friendly. Clean, value for money,and attentive. The owner Fredrick could not do enough to ensure a pleasant stay. Would definately stay again, all in a very enjoyable 4 day stay!!!!!
Thank you Fredrick!!

Sarah & Valerie 5-8th Aug 2013

Room Tip: room upgraded without asking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

stayed there for a rather short time and had a very good time there!
the owners and staff is very nice and especially the salads in the restaurant are absolutely awesome! Of course also the rest of the food is very nice :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamariu
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hostalillo
Hotel Hostalillo
#2 of 4 in Tamariu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamariu
Hotel Tamariu
#1 of 4 in Tamariu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu

Property: Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
Address: C/ Pescadors 13 | Costa Brava, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Tamariu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Caleta de Tamariu is a family hotel with 19 spacious rooms with views to the picturesque village and his mountains. Our capacity is for 45 guests. We are 2 minutes walking from the beach of Tamariu, our hotel is a meeting point for regional visitors, foreign tourists, hikers for Camino de Ronda and divers; all with a common interest: enjoy Tamariu 100% above and below the sea level. Visit our web site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing