We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch for our party of 40”
Review of La Morera

La Morera
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Tamariu
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tel. 972620685
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
422 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Great lunch for our party of 40”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Can you imagine being asked "we want to make a reservation for a party of 40 for a lunch this Saturday". A small beach inlet like many on the Costa Brava, with a few restaurants to serve the beach goers and tourists...and of course the party of 40 or so, largely British expats living along the coastline of Catalunya. For it to go smoothly it had to be a set meal; tuna salad, mussels, chipirones and boquerones to start followed by seafood paella or fideua, crema catalana, coffee and as much wine as you can drink, all for 20€ a head. After an excellent coast walk we were all ready. They did a great job, we had a really nice meal and no one left hungry. Will definitely be back the next time we visit Tamariu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    56
    33
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livigno, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Level Contributor
179 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“10 times always good”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We ate there at least 10 times the fish always excellent. Specially when prepared in the "espatlla" cut in half seems to be the translation. Wonderful setting in Tamariu, excellent and attentive service does the rest. A place I will go back to any time I can. Wonderful "postres" as well. Figs and mascarpone ice cream.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emanuele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reliably Good”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have eaten here several times over the last few years . We have always had a good experience with good food and helpful service. The paella is always a favourite. Beautifully cooked and well presented on each occasion. Recently we had delicious langoustines and local prawns which were all succulent, delicious and expertly cooked. Sitting outside, overlooking the beach adds to the enjoyment. Other enjoyable food has been the oven baked dorade and even the spaghetti bolagnase is good. The restaurant is usually full of family groups, couples and seems to cater for a wide clientèle All the tapas dishes are good too and the wine list has plenty of local wines to sample.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaiC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just nice”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We went to this restaurant for lunch after our hotel recommended it for its paella. We sat outside watching the people walk by on a grey, cloudy day in Tamariu. The service was nice and our host very friendly. We tried a couple of tapas dishes and then got a paella marinara. It was my girlfriend's first experience of paella and she enjoyed it, but I thought it was just ok. We ended up having a lovely lobster paella elsewhere in our trip and now I know what paella is meant to taste like! So nice place to sit down and have lunch- I would probably try something else next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monozygote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prades, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value!”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Tasty food, we love the salads and the specials of the Day - sit either indoors our outdoors on the seafront

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank vieuxrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Morera also viewed

Tamariu, Palafrugell
 
Tamariu, Palafrugell
 

Been to La Morera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing