We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Brava gem”
Review of Hotel Tamariu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tamariu
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I found hotel Tamariu 13 years ago, by chance, on our honey moon, we fell in love with the village of Tamariu and have been back to this hotel many times. Its position on the water side is hard to beat, the family are always very welcoming and staff are help full and attentive.The food is first class with a good choice at the buffet style breakfast. The rooms are all very clean, with everything you could need and the rooms at the front have a great view of the little bay and its clear blue water.

We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great, but rooms on the front have a great view, There are also two penthouse room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skilord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

This September was our second time in hotel Tamariu. this time we stayed in room 102, facing the sea. It is a lovely hotel, fantastic location, and the food is really good. The breakfast buffet is a treat, with fresh figs, iberian ham, cheese, breads and cakes. I really enjoyed an extrra coffee after breakfast siting outside facing the sea.

The rooms are very clean and well decorated. The beds are very comfortable

The hotel is family run. Susan, Luis and Anna, and the rest of the staff are very welcoming and obliging, and made this a memorable stay. It is small wonder that this hotel does so much repeat business . We met several people who were also there during our previous stay.

Phone the hotel for taxi arrangmeents if you dont want to hire a car. If you have a car, the countryside and the local towns are well worth a visit., The market in Palafrugall on Sunday is fabulous. there are many great restuarants in the region.

Room Tip: choose fromthe two rooms on each floor facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Catalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We visit Hotel Tamariu since many years and when we leave, we are looking forward to the next year. We think highly of the family atmosphere, the friendliness of the the staff and the excellent cuisine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We chose the hotel Tamariu to eat in tonight as the attitude from other restaurants front of house staff was less than attentive.The staff at the hotel were very polite and discreet,the atmosphere was relaxed and the service very good.The food was well presented and flavored and very good value, 3 courses with wine,bread,water and coffee for 25e each.I chose the clams in white wine,followed by turbot and finished with caramelised walnuts and chocolate ice cream.many thanks for a lovely meal

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mazznlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The hotel is family owned. Staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent as was dinner. Fantastic location with lovely views down and along the small beach. Do try and get a sea facing room with balcony, as a couple of rooms are at the back of the hotel and not to be recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Lovely food, beautiful setting, laid-back and friendly service. As a vegetarian, I was delighted to see vegetarian paella on the menu. Our starter of grilled vegetables and Parmesan crisps was tasty and elegant. Fabulous!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Tamariu Hotel was recommended by a friend who lived nearby and it really lived up to it's recommendation. Our hire car was redundant as we didn't leave the the Bay for the whole week! Although we stayed on a b&b basis we ate in the hotel restaurant every evening because of the quality of the food and the fantastic view. Will be there again but maybe not August as the resort was really busy and there wasn't much space on the beach and car parking can be a real problem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamariu
0 mi away
Hotel Hostalillo
Hotel Hostalillo
#1 of 4 in Tamariu
473 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Park Hotel San Jorge
Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,920 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
256 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamariu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamariu

Address: c/Passeig del Mar, 2, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Tamariu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Price Range: £93 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tamariu 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Tamariu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing