We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Hotel Tamariu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tamariu
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Certificate of Excellence
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

we really enjoyed our recent stay at Hotel Tamariu. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and the room was was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a lovely location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank osullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    91
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
71
162
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ferryhill
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Just spent 6 days here and we were well impressed with the service and comfort not to mention the location

Reception staff are always willing to help and offer advice, breakfast was very good with great choice,and the lady taking care of breakfast very attentive with us.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazmoh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were looking for a small coastal town on the Costa Brava that was beautiful and tranquil and found Tamariu in the last weeks of its season. It probably is a busier town full season but there are no tacky tourist shops, dress stores and even the supermarket was closed for the season - not a problem as the Hotel Tamariu had everything we needed ( except a fridge in the room) and they happily supplied an electric jug upon request. Our room had a great view and good sized balcony The hotel is family run and the brother and sister team there for us spoke many languages between them and considering how incredibly busy they were managing restaurant, hotel and bar, there was always a smile and and the sense they would meet any request if they could.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent four days here enjoying the October sunshine. The family and staff were always friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and the balcony with sea view lovely. Breakfasts were good with plenty of choice and we enjoyed several good meals in the restaurant. We love the bay of Tamariu and were content to swim and walk the coastal path. However there is plenty to do and see if you prefer to go out and about. The scenery is stunning and at this time of the year nowhere is too busy. We are so pleased to have found this hotel and plan to be regular visitors .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prades, France
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We live a couple of hours away from here near the Spanish border and manage to visit twice a year at least. Consistently excellent, the family are always charming & welcoming, the food is of the highest standard and the small bay of Tamariu a haven of peace & tranquillity

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank vieuxrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minehead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Peter K. Minehead
I am tempted to write an adverse report about this hotel and its location so that we can keep its endless delights to ourselves. But I must be fair. The wonderful experiences we enjoyed on our holiday in Tamariu at this hotel on our first visit have never dimished. Think of everything that you consider a perfect holday should comprise then Tamariu and this hotel combine to provide it.

In particular the food, the staff and the welcome from the owners are second to none. We shed a tear every time we depart.

.

Room Tip: Sorry.this is a secret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Pros: Friendly staff, good service, great location, superb balcony view, very beautiful surroundings, hearty breakfasts
Cons: Average restaurant, little to do for kids, squeaky room doors, no fridge in the rooms

Room Tip: If possible pick a sea front room at the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SwedishAndreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamariu
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hostalillo
Hotel Hostalillo
#1 of 4 in Tamariu
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
1.5 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#2 of 14 in Begur
419 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
369 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamariu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamariu

Property: Hotel Tamariu
Address: c/Passeig del Mar, 2, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Tamariu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tamariu 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tamariu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing