We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Resort Hotel on the Bay”
Review of Hotel Tamariu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tamariu
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Little Resort Hotel on the Bay”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The location, staff and restaurant make this hotel. We had an average looking room, until you opened the sliding door and stepped onto your balcony overlooking the bay and the blue Med. A good spot to relax by the sea, or explore Girona and some of the Costa Brava.

Room Tip: Room 102 was a corner with Million $ views of the bay and Med.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougViages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    91
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
71
162
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to the Hotel Tamariu. Lluis and his two sisters and their staff provide a wonderful friendly service. The hotel is perfectly placed facing the beach with an excellent choice of cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance.The hotel restaurant itself offers an appetising menu throughout the day.Our room was simple but comfortable and generally well equipped. We would only suggest that a small refrigerator would be a good addition and perhaps a room safe. The village of Tamariu is a gem and we look forward to returning

Room Tip: If you like the evening sun on your balcony choose a room on the side of the hotel near the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David_CH4970QY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocles
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our 2nd out of season stay and the staff took our e-mail reservation without any deposit just because we'd stayed before. Everybody was really friendly and helpful. We had the penthouse room again and it was lovely sitting out on the roof terrace looking out over the bay. Our only slight reservation with the room was that we would have preferred a king size bed to two singles side by side (the purpose of our stay was to celebrate 25 years of married life!). The food in the evening was great and breakfast was good too, though a technological qualification was needed for the egg boiler! We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse 316.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The wonderful beach location gives this small hotel that little extra something one looks for in holidays.
The staff are extremely helpful and the rooms are clean.
We were slightly disappointed with the quality of the food, but overall this is a lovely small hotel in a picturesque corner of Catalonia.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Trying to relive our last visit to Tamariu 20 years ago with our 4 children but this time by ourselves we decided to stay at Hotel Tamariu for 5 nights in early May.
Right from the start when email contact established a booking for penthouse room 316 facing the beautiful beach we were impressed by the accommodating approach from Susan.
No deposit was required to hold our booking.
There are so many positives for visiting Tamariu, especially at this time of the year when the sun is out, the crowds are yet to come and the water is swimmable for some, including us.
The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and obliging and the family of LLuis, Susan and Anna were all consistently attentive.
We ate at the restaurant every night and enjoyed the menu of the day on each occasion and were not disappointed at any time. This is not usual for us as we are wary of eating in dining rooms associated with our accommodation.
The presentation, value and food quality for these meals ( including breakfast) could not be faulted and my Spanish improved ( I think) with daily lessons from the ever obliging staff.
Our room was light and airy with a perfect view over the beach. The beds, two singles pushed together, were comfortable and the only sleep disruption was a Friday night late celebration somewhere nearby the noise of which, would have been shared with all of Tamariu.
The family are doing a great job to give guests a great opportunity to enjoy this beautiful little beachside village.

Room Tip: Choose a beach front room to enjoy this beautiful vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auswalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Correns, France
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We spent two nights at this family run hotel in May and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Our room was basic but bright and clean. The staff are always available to assist with directions and suggestions. The breakfast which was included was great with a wide selection of juices, cereals,
omelet, boiled eggs, toast and pastries. The Nespresso machine topped the offer for me!
We chose a school holiday period which in hindsight was a mistake as the kids were playing in the street outside the hotel until 2am in the morning so a tad inconvenient. The bed was also hard and the pillow like a sandbag so if you do visit take your own!
Otherwise there are a few good restaurants within a short walk and a cliff walk to enjoy the wonderful views.

Room Tip: A sea view room may be quieter, take a pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed at Hotel Tamariu during early April this year for the first time. It was really excellent. Delightful setting; excellent room; great food (Menue del Dia changed daily; really well prepared food supplemented by great local wines and water from their own well all in the price). Family run and it showed as with out exception everyone was very welcoming and helpful. Will definitely be back there next year. A bijou hotel in every sense of the word

Room Tip: Get room facing the beach for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamariu
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hostalillo
Hotel Hostalillo
#1 of 4 in Tamariu
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
1.5 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#2 of 14 in Begur
419 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
369 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamariu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamariu

Property: Hotel Tamariu
Address: c/Passeig del Mar, 2, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Tamariu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tamariu 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tamariu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing