We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location in lovely beachside village”
Review of Hotel Hostalillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hostalillo
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would revisit.We paid extra for a room with sea view and balcony which was very pleasant.Clean sheets and towels daily.Charming husband and wife team running the bar which has a splendid outside terrace and reasonably priced snacks.Breakfasts okay but restaurant for evening meal disappointing with only very mediocre fixed menu.Attractive room and good service.Much more could be made of it.
Main and probably only real criticism reserved for bored,uniterested,unwelcoming reception staff.Certainly applies to two out of the three we came across. Did not spoil our stay as we just shrugged it off.Others might not be so forgiving I suspect!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dix25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

We loved our stay at Hotel Hostalillo. Having spent several years visitng Tamariu and renting apartments we have gazed enviously on the hotel's elevated position above Tamariu's wonderful beach. So, this year we booked five nights there. We were not disappointed. The hotel is beautifully furnished, spotless, quiet, cool with great staff, a fabulous selection of terraces and easy access to the town and beach.
It is a perfect place for families or couples. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for north, east or west facing rooms depending on what time of day you prefer sun on your balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cumbriancastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

For several years we have been coming back to this lovely hotel and always rented an apartment. This year it was on the new building, and everything was perfect, clean, nice and lovely. The best part of having a holiday in Tamariu is that it is so small that you can send the kids in the morning to get the fresh croissants from bakery and make a coffee in that time - safely! Kids do not get lost on the beach and going back to apartment is like going home, just that home is only 10 steps from the beach - perfect. We never take the breakfast at hotel, but like to make it ourselves and as said the down the street bakery is the key to success.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We had a great experience at this hotel, beautifully refurbished top to bottom. Fab views whether dining or from the rooms. All rooms have sea view.

Room Tip: There are two great deluxe rooms at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cariad30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Hostalillo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2011

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to know that you had a great stay with us. As you say in your review, the hotel has been recently renovated (in April 2011) top to bottom, and it offers a good quality of service. We are very proud of this renovation because we aim to satisfy our guests needs all the time.
We thank you very much for your review in Tripadvisor, which will be very helpful to future guests.
If you ever come back to La Costa Brava, Tamariu, do not hesitate to contact us again. It will be a pleasure to host you once again. Kind regards. Hotel Hostalillo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

having read earlier reviews we nearly cancelled our reservations. Thank goodness we didnt as the hotel has been refurbished to the highest standard. Amazing location and one of our best hotel surprises ever.
Dont think of staying anywhere other than here if visiting this deligjtful village.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grapow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Hostalillo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2011

Dear guest,
We really thank you for having chosen the Hostalillo after all. As you say, it has been completely renovated in April 2011, and we are very happy to hear that you liked it.
We are trying to offer the best service to our guests and we are very proud of our property.
Thank you for your good review, it will be very helpful for future guests that are thinking of coming to Tamariu. And thank you again for staying with us.
Best regards, Hotel Hostalillo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

The hotel website shows the beautiful views nature has supplied and this can not be denied. However their website does not reflect the lack of recent investment in this establishment. Whilst clean it was far from comfortable or modern. The bathroom had a bad smell and could not be aired, the shower hose was rusting and there was very little water pressure. The beds were as hard as benches. We had booked for 4 nights and checked out after one - I wish the reviews we had read had been as candid. Very overpriced - they do not deserve the 3 star status they claim to have.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SVHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostalillo, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Hostalillo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Dear guest,

First of all, we thank you for giving your opinion about our Hotel: this encourages us to keep improving day after day.

In reply to your negative comments about Hotel Hostalillo, I regret you had such a bad experience in the past; however I’m glad to inform you that the Hotel was totally refurbished in 2011. The situation you described in your review no longer exists, and I can assure you that a new Hotel Hostalillo was born after 2011.

We’d like to invite you to come and discover the new Hotel Hostalillo; you will enjoy a fully renewed Hotel, with all the modern facilities and equipments to guarantee a comfortable stay.
Our location is still excellent; our Hotel, much better.

Hoping to see you back soon.

With Kind Regards,

Lluís Frigola
Deputy Manager
HOTEL HOSTALILLO *** Tamariu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

This hotel was clearly overpriced. The room was nice, but was not worth the some 150€ we had to pay for a night. Although this is an expensive region in Spain, it is possible to find something better than this.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schroedinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostalillo, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Hostalillo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Dear guest,

First of all, we thank you for giving your opinion about our Hotel: this encourages us to keep improving day after day.

In reply to your negative impression about the price, probably back in 2007 the value for money was unbalanced. However I’m glad to inform you that the Hotel was totally refurbished in 2011, and a new Hotel Hostalillo was born.

We’d like to invite you to come and discover the new Hotel Hostalillo; you will enjoy a fully renewed Hotel, with all the modern facilities and equipments to guarantee a comfortable stay.
Our location is still excellent; our Hotel, much better.

Now we are proud to say "you get more than you pay for".

Hoping to see you back soon.

With Kind Regards,

Lluís Frigola
Deputy Manager
HOTEL HOSTALILLO *** Tamariu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamariu
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
1.5 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tamariu
Hotel Tamariu
#2 of 4 in Tamariu
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
391 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
339 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hostalillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hostalillo

Address: Bellavista 22, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Tamariu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Price Range: £55 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hostalillo 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostalillo has been completely renovated in April 2011 and it islocated in a beautiful and tranquil cove along the Costa Brava, this charming modern hotel is surrounded by pine trees and is adjacent to the beach. The Hostalillo has a bar and restaurant with panoramic views of the sea, function rooms for conferences and business meetings. Sit out on the terrace and admire views over the charming cove with its typical white houses, golden sands and the Mediterranean beyond.Make a daytrip to the fine city of Girona, just 45km from the Hostalillo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hostalillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostalillo Hotel Tamariu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing