We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Hotel Hostalillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hostalillo
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Tamariu was the highlight of our ten days in Spain and France. Hostalillo is the perfect spot-- the views are extraordinary and you walk right out of the hotel onto the beach. This little pebbled cove has aquamarine water, a fabulous trail to hike along the cliffs, good seafood. Our teenagers loved diving off the diving board suspended at the top of a rocky outcropping. The hotel has clean and cool rooms with balconies looking over the bay. The reception was friendly and helpful, the breakfast on the gorgeous terrace was good, the warm night magical as we sat out on the bar terrace and played cards. Kayaking and snorkeling and scuba diving are all available in the cove, and there is good pizza, ice cream and even a shop in town with fun, hip clothes (Viva Bombay). No night life to speak of, mainly families with young children, and unparalleled natural beauty.

Room Tip: Do not miss out on getting a sea view. So worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripGirlMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    172
    48
    12
    8
See reviews for
96
240
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location, set above the beach. Rooms are lovely and very clean, the sea view from our terrace is lovely and hearing the waves from your room is so relaxing. Breakfast was good enjoyed the cava and the view again. A lovely resort and a great place to stay. My favourite was drinking cava on the terrace each evening. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali-Gav10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

In May we hopped on a plane to Girona to spend five days in Catalonia. We had spotted this place on the internet after extensive research and didn't quite believe it when we read that the village was unspoilt. It is absolutely charming! We didn't believe that places like this still existed. We upgraded to a room with a balcony and sea view which gave us a side view of a very pretty bay. The service was excellent, everything was spotless and there were lots of public areas to sit in and a lovely lounge bar with a view of the bay. Breakfast, also with a view of the bay, was magnificent, and ruled with a rod of iron by the maitre d'. One has to admit that most of the staff were somewhat mature in years and one got the feeling that the family who own the hotel want to look after them. The bar was very expensive (didn't trouble us as we are teetotal!!!) but the bar snacks were excellent and reasonably priced. Parking could be a problem in season although we had little trouble as is was only early May. The village has lots of excellent restaurants and really buzzes at the weekends when all the Spanish eat out. We can definitely recommend both the hotel and the area for a visit. (Just keep clear of the tourist hot-spots such as L'Estartit to the north and Tossa de Mar to the South) Recommend a visit to the botanical gardens at Cap Doig and the Dali museum at Figueres. Also do visit the medieval villages in the area.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonPuyraillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My sister was visiting us during our 6 month stay in Southern France and we took her to as many of our "favorites" that we could squeeze in in 12 days and Tamariu, Spain, was at the top of our list. We hesitate to sing its praises too loudly, as one of its charms is its absolute absence of overt commerciality - no ten story hotels, only a few restaurants (our favorite the Royal) and a small but beautiful, unspoiled beach on the Costa Brava (not easy to find!). We had booked a room for 3 persons which they had (not always easy to find that) and when we arrived the hotel was so vacant that the man who checked us in generously offered us a room with a terrace overlooking the Mediterranean. Well, we felt we had hit the jackpot! This is a really lovely little hotel - I wouldn't exactly call it luxury, but it is pretty darn close considering the value and the location is impossible to beat! The rooms were spacious, linens fine, bathroom large, breakfast excellent, impeccably clean and lots of little "nice touches" - e.g., pottery adorned shelves in the hallways with seating areas. Our only regret was that we didn't choose to stay on longer. I don't know what the price difference would have been had we actually paid for the terrace, but whatever it is it would be well worth it! Muchos gracias, Hostalillo and hasta luego!

Room Tip: Be sure and book a room with a terrace if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeal1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Had a room with a fantastic sea /beach/village view. More expensive then side rooms, it had a really stunning view !

Service is good and breakfast first quality (local ham is particularly delicious).

No garage though. Not sure about the swimming pool (the beach is just there ... why would they have a swimming pool ?)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank More_Majorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Tamariu is a lovely town, tiny but extremely picturesque. Some excellent restaurants and a beach with crystal clear waters make it a great location for a short break to relax. Hotel Hostalillo is the largest in the town and is a great option. Nice room, excellent customer service and spectacular views. Lots of steps though, and parking can be difficult.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikel_Arteta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, CO, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

From the time we rounded the bend at the top of the hill leading down into Tamariu, we were overwhelmed with the sheer beauty of the, almost movie set like, cove. The surprising bonus of our stay was the quality of the hotel, Hostellilo, where the entire staff was friendly but professional, where the public areas hinted luxury(Although for our September-timed visit, the prices spoke economy.), and where our (ac provided) room was clean, roomy, and comfortable. The sumptuous breakfast, presented by starched-coated servers, was served on a deck with views "to die for." Even the off-property parking was more quaint than to be quarreled over.

Room Tip: Coming from a dry, mild climate , we preferred a room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomi41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamariu
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tamariu
Hotel Tamariu
#1 of 4 in Tamariu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hostalillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hostalillo

Property: Hotel Hostalillo
Address: Bellavista 22, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Tamariu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hostalillo 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostalillo has been completely renovated in April 2011 and it islocated in a beautiful and tranquil cove along the Costa Brava, this charming modern hotel is surrounded by pine trees and is adjacent to the beach. The Hostalillo has a bar and restaurant with panoramic views of the sea, function rooms for conferences and business meetings. Sit out on the terrace and admire views over the charming cove with its typical white houses, golden sands and the Mediterranean beyond.Make a daytrip to the fine city of Girona, just 45km from the Hostalillo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hostalillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostalillo Hotel Tamariu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing