We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Canal Olimpic
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Castelldefels
Aix-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Clean, nice hotel. The staff at the front desk was always very helpful and spoke English. You probably need a car to stay here (20 min drive from Barcelona). The beach is about a 10 min walk away (great, big beach). There are many restaurants nearby (15 min walk/5 min drive). The pool is very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadrojilge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    75
    50
    27
    27
See reviews for
38
89
12
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We chose this hotel for our trip to Barcelona having read the reviews which were mixed we decided to stay here.
The hotel is basically in the middle of a housing estate, yes you can walk 10 minutes and find a lovely beach but there is nothing there except the beach.
We had to get a taxi into the "busy" area of the resort which cost 8 euros to get something to eat etc.
The hotel does have a resturant but we prefer to explore different eateries.
The staff are great and will help out with taxi hire etc.
There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and no room service to get refreshments you have to go to the bar and either bring them to your room or sit downstairs.
The rooms are clean and of nice decor our balcony was dirty with bird dropping and a film of dust over the chairs.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holidaymaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castelldefels hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel has it's fair share of good and bad reviews, but a not a lot go into why they liked or disliked the hotel.

I think on the whole this hotel is average. I would recommend it to people who wanted to visit Barcelona for a few days but didn't want to stay in Barcelona itself. What people seem to forget is that you do get what you pay for, and this hotel is reasonably priced and as such you get a reasonably good room.

I went with my girlfriend for a short break (3 nights) the lobby is very nicely decorated and they have made an effort to try to keep the rooms in a similar stead. The 2 members of staff we encountered both spoke English and were friendly and helpful.The rooms are a fair size, a double room consists of 2 single beds pushed together but this isn't an uncommon practice, the beds are comfy and spare pillows and blankets are provided within 2 spacious wardrobes, a note to some, our room did not come with a safe, we made do with keeping our valuables locked in our suitcases instead.

The bathroom again was clean, complimentary soap and shampoo provided, however the shower curtain was hanging on for dear life, and we had several rust spots in the tub itself, the water took a long while to get hot so if you are in a hurry to get anywhere you may have to submit yourself to a cold one however my girlfriend can confirm she had a very nice hot bath on our second night.

Our room was on the whole clean and tidy, there were some scuffs on the wallpaper and our balcony was slightly dusty too but these are all cosmetic things and don't really hold much relevance in the long term of things. The walls are thin and sound does carry through the entire hotel, we were woken up one morning by the adjoining room watching television and anyone shouting elsewhere in the hotel could be heard. Also our room was on the first floor just above the entrance so we also had some traffic noise and people playing sports opposite the hotel but again, minor things which didn't cause us much hassle in the long run.

We didn't have enough time to try the food, pool, sauna or any of the hotels facilities, we instead chose to eat in Barcelona instead.

The hotel is situated in a residential area, when booking I was aware it was quite far from both the beach and train station but knew both were within walking distance. I did see somewhere that a bus stop is nearby but being completely illiterate in Spanish I opted for the train instead. The train station is a good 20-30 minute walk (depending on how fast you walk) and trains run all day to Barcelona on platform 2, you can pick up a T10 ticket for zones 1&2 for just over 20 euro which allows you 10 journeys at any time. The beach is a bit of a pain to get to, you have to navigate around a duel carriageway and again, probably takes a good 20 minutes or so to get to. Restaurant wise, there isn't much around, and those that are seemed to be constantly closed. My advice to anyone would be to eat while you are already out if you aren't going to be using the hotel's restaurant.

Please note that upon checking out you are required to pay a small tax fee of 0,50c per person per night stayed, this isn't included in the price you pay on expedia or however you book.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front of the hotel should be quieter, try getting a room as high up as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LBBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Must admit the hotel was very clean and staff very welcoming, we got there 21/04 for 3 nights and hotel was busy as there was a tennis comp on across the road. The only down side was someone stole my wife's mobile phone from our room, staff were very dismissive of our complaint and to say we got no reassurance was an understatement. Staff kept saying maybe we had lost it outside but we knew we had left it on charge, as mine had been on charge during the night.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a safe (ours never had one)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulcoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

A clean, nice and comfortable hotel. I chose it to spend a night close to the airport, before going on travelling, the restaurant offer a nice meal, and breakfast was very good.. Talking about service, all the people working at the hotel were ready to serve and help, always with a smile, and this is something I really value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliceDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

this hotel was included on a expedia package holiday which i booked for my boyfriend and i for 3 days away.

the hotel is nice and clean and so was the room. the room had a balcony. it was what we needed for a break away for my partners birthday. its a little far away from barcelona city but a bus stop is not to far from the hotel. the only down side about his hotel was i guess as we stayed just after the hotel season there wasnt much staff. the reception/ist was the bar person and the waiter was the chef! we had a chance to use the sauna but not the pool as it was nov and cold!

Overall it was a pleasant stay and i would return if I'm just looking for a weekend away to do nothing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I recently stayed with my girlfriend for a week in this hotel and we had a nightmare from the day we arrived! The rooms are clean and its pretty quiet as it is located in a residential area but that's the only positive i would say about this hotel. Castelldefels isn't a nice place to be if your English, the receptionists barely spoke English except 1 of them and nobody in the town center spoke any English at all! The food is shockingly awful unless you like salt then you will love it! You cant taste food because of all the salt! New years eve me and my girlfriend was going for a meal until 2 Spanish men started shouting and running at us and came from a dark alley which we presumed they wanted to lure us in and mug us! luckily enough there was a police station 30 seconds from were this happened and we ran to that and we was safe, but only for that police station god only knows what could of happened to us! We booked on the next flight home and came home 2 days early of our trip and still waiting for a refund for them 2 days. I wouldn't recommend castelldefels to my worst enemy so just be warned if you are thinking of staying here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castelldefels hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel SB BCN Events
Hotel SB BCN Events
#1 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
#3 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
#9 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
#2 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Flora Parc
Hotel Flora Parc
#8 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Marina Gardens
Royal Marina Gardens
#10 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Olimpic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Olimpic

Property: Hotel Canal Olimpic
Address: C/ Ginesta, 13, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canal Olimpic 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canal Olimpic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Olimpic Hotel
Hotel Canal Olimpic Province Of Barcelona/Castelldefels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing