We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Canal Olimpic
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Castelldefels
Reviewed 11 September 2010

This hotel is too far away from the train station and there is no bus service that will drop you off near the hotel. The food is buffet style and always on the cold side. I found hairs in the chips on the first night. The room was comfortable and clean though the noise from the street outside was terrible. Also (on some days) the airplanes going to Barcelona airport fly overhead and make a terrible noise. In the surrounding area there is dog mess everywhere and you have to be careful where you walk. Even in the main town of Casteldefells there was dog mess. The room was cleaned daily and was fine. The bathroom was okay. Hotel staff was surly and not very chatty, though very helpful if you asked them for something. The pool was in shade most of the day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meljel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

I was traveling with my fiancee and parents to Barcelona. This is by far the worst hotel Ive ever stayed anywhere! They advertised as being close to Barcelona but its not close at all. About a 30 minute drive. Very secluded in a residential area not close to the beach. The rooms were so dirty. Mold and water damage in the walls. Mold on the balcony. Piles of dirt and sand in the corners. Smelled of stagnant cigarette smoke. The bathroom had mold in the corners of the walls and tub was cracked and rusted. Ceiling panels had bad water damage. This place needs a MAJOR remodel. Was very loud. Could hear everything in the rooms around us down to toilets flushing. Ive added pics of our room and the mold.

The restuarant was a complete joke. Horrible food. Prepackaged freezer food I think they threw in a fryer. Stale muffins at breakfast. Tried to order a bottle of white wine but they were out. Only had a red that tasted corked.

The front staff attendant was very nice and tried to be helpful given what he had to work with. Unfortunately my parents had booked this place using the RCI timeshare points or we would have left and stayed elsewhere. We didnt want to offend them even though they as well hated this place. Definitely stay anywhere but here!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dinoalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarioMartinez, Gerente at Hotel Canal Olimpic, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2010

Dear Guest
On behalf of the Hotel, We would like to apologize for the inconveniences found during your stay.
The room damage that you found, was made by leak that we did not detected on time, but now this room is under full refurbishment. We feel very sorry, because, if you would let us know this situation during your stay, we could have changed your room immediately.
As for the hotel´s location, we are just 500 meters from the nearest beach and 18 kilometres from Barcelona, most of the journey by highway. We are located in a residential area usually very quiet. This information is published in our Web, where you also can check a google map.
Our restaurant offers a 10 € menu which in our guests opinion has a good value for money, being a menu that includes starters, main course and dessert, all these dishes to choose among several options.
Once again, thank you for your valuable feed back, that helps us to be a better hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

This is a lovely hotel, very clean and comfortable. Meals were presented as appealing and tasted great. Every shift of the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. 2 computers available for pay per use in the lobby;no problems. This hotel is tucked off the main road but only 5 minutes from the beach and 15 minutes from Barcelona city centre and Airport was also easy to get to.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eevans1198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We have just returned from Casterdelfels. I knew the hotel was in a quiet area but I did't appreciate how quiet and residential it was when I booked it. It was very comfortable and minimalist, very clean, a swipe card operated the lights and air con. BUT when we went to Barcelona, the nearest bus stop is a good 10 minute walk from the hotel, then you have to get a train from the station. This doesn't sound much, but in 35 C heat it is. Also the nearest supermarket Lidls was a good 35 minute walk away. When we tried to order a drink on a Sunday lunchtime the last week in June, we were told it was out of season so no food or drink apart from breakfast which I avoided due to bad reviews. Casterdelfels beach is a good 35 minute walk away as well. If you did'nt have a get up and go personality like me, as I went to Barcelona or Stiges every day, you could well have been stranded in the hotel, you could swim in it but there was nothing else to do. Barcelona was buzzing of course, but next time I would rather book a hotel somewhere less quiet. though that is what I thought we wanted. The staff were pleasant but not forth coming, and didn't speak much English. Also if you had been sightseeing in the day in Barcelona, come back to the hotel for a rest, the last train back from Barcelona was 11.40pm which does not encourage late nights, unless you wanted to pay 35 euro cab fare back from Barcelona. So we ended up some nights going to bed really early. My summary would be nice hotel, but far too out of the way I would have thought for most people.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Feride17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Hotel is off the beaten track but quiet. Room comfortable and minimalist in decor (which we liked). Spoilt by the surly breakfast waitress who opened late and then brought different types of food at staggered intervals. e.g. if you did not arrive early all the ham was gone. As wwe left the bacon arrived.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDireccion, Director Comercial at Hotel Canal Olimpic, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDireccion, Director Comercial at Hotel Canal Olimpic, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castelldefels hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
#1 of 17 in Castelldefels
455 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
#3 of 17 in Castelldefels
720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
#10 of 17 in Castelldefels
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel SB BCN Events
Hotel SB BCN Events
#2 of 17 in Castelldefels
832 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel139
Hotel139
#13 of 17 in Castelldefels
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Marina Gardens
Royal Marina Gardens
#9 of 17 in Castelldefels
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Olimpic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Olimpic

Address: C/ Ginesta, 13, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range: £37 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canal Olimpic 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Canal Olimpic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Olimpic Hotel
Hotel Canal Olimpic Province Of Barcelona/Castelldefels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing