We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms maybe 2 star, staff unfriendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Castelldefels
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The hotel is on a hill far outside Barcelona. You can see the sea but can't walk there, i.e. need to take a taxi wherever you may want to go.

The facilities such as swimming pool are very nice and belie the bad state of the rooms. Rooms are not well maintained, furniture is falling apart (literally), not very clean, but worst of all, the hotel is effectively between a very loud highway and a stone pit with trucks moving all day long. So hardly a place for vacations.

The wifi works, except not in the rooms. There are fixed internet outlets in the rooms but reception told me they are defunct.

Reception is all but helpful, as is staff in general, this property needs a new owner/management.

So all in all, a bad experience, you can do much better in and around Barcelona!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jörg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

Sure the hotel is on top of a hill in the middle of nowhere - so you are warned. However room was clean, staff was friendly, hotel bar next to the big swimming pool serves coffee, cakes, beer, etc efficiently at cheap price (for a five star). Spent nice afternoons there with ipad connected on free wifi next to a cold beer, next to screaming kids in the pool. Warmly recommended to families seeking relaxing holidays with big nicely decorated pool with a great view.

However, the hotel is indeed a great location for marriage parties so i can also imagine the nightmare complained in other reviews...

In case hotel staff is reading this: pls work on the roadsigns pointing to the hotel. Were it not for the gps would have been impossible to find the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank accident_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Spent 3 nights with wife and 3 children (14, 12, and 6).
It is not on the beach but still a short 7 minute ride.
Breathtaking views of all Castelldefels.
Two swimming pools (outdoor and indoor)
One table tennis table and Two squash courts that we enjoyed a lot with my athletic/electric kids.
Great Restaurant with the same great views at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianotg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We were put up here for 4 nights due to the volcanic ash disruption. Easyjet paid for a room and breakfast. I couldn't fault this hotel but the only thing missing is a little shop with newspapers/water, etc. The internet was free. There were saunas, swimming pools, squash courts and I really unwound. It is a bit out of the way and at least 30 mins walk into the little town and about 15 mins walk down to the beach. We ate in the bar on the first night, just tapas and the following nights we ate down near the beach in a Spanish Bar/Restaurant. It is definitely a resort for Spanish, we didn't see any other English people off the hotel but we communicated ok. The beach was fantastic, hardly anyone on it.

If you're looking for a peaceful getaway, just make sure you take plenty of books and you can chill out no problem. The staff were friendly enough and checked us in at 3.30 am which I suppose for them was a bit of a nightmare. We had been queuing to get home for 8 hours so no-one was in a particularly good mood. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alethea48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I have high standards as I work in the travel industry and I'm used to staying in good hotels. We went to the hotel for Luxury and chill out and it didnt really tick either of those boxes.

We were looking for a unique spanish holiday experience away from the package holiday crowd so we booked into Castelldefels. When we saw that it was on the metro map and we how close it was to Barcelona we began to get worried but we needed have as although its near Barcelona it still have a resort real.

Following previous reviews we got off at Castelldefels the main station and got a cab to the hotel. It not a pretty drive up to the hotel is main roads and it just not what you expect when you are en route to a resort hotel. As previous reviews mentioned the guy on the reception has no interest in customer engagement he just wants you checked in and out of his way. The rooms are dissapointing, we were in the old part, although when I asked could I see one of the rooms in the new part they were really small so we decided to stay in the older part . We had just come from a trendy Barcelona hotel so it just took us a while to adjust to a more spanish old world hotel.

Food - We went to go to the restaurant but realised that its quite a snazzy restuarant and we were in shorts and just wanted something casual, also its was €35 a head plus drinks so we decided to head down to the beach instead for more casual and cheaper options. You are kind of stranded up at the hotel as there are no supermarkets nearby and the restaurants down at the beach are a good ten minute, not pretty or relaxing walk away or a taxi ride.

Pool
The pool area is a let down. The water is freezing, the grass is a bit mucky and they could have done so much with that area with beautiful landscaping but just cemented over most of it. There were two weddings on the day we were there and one of them took over nearly the whole pool area for a drinks reception and the minute that ended the hotel staff started setting up for a corporate event. Bear in mind that this is all going on while you are supposed to be chilling by the pool!

Breakfast
This was good but the room it was in was a let down.

Hotel
The Hotel is a wedding and conference hotel and these clients will always get preference as they are bring in the big money. Besides the view and the fortress over the pool, which is used in all the imagery used to promote the hotel, this hotel is just average.

Resort
Is nice but not that much to see, no nice winding streets just a few nice restaurants on one road and a strip of bars, ice cream parlours and slot machines. You wont fine any English Chavs here as its a genuine Spanish resort although some of the Spanish crowd looked a bit dodgy. We didnt spend any time on the beach and the beach did look really nice. If you were to go here I would recommend staying in one of hotels down on the beach and use is a base to do beach and Barcelona. We found it to quite so cancelled out of this hotel (No drama gave 24 hours notice and as the payment wasnt being taking until check out that was ok with expedia and the hotel. Actually the guy on the reception seemed like he didnt give a dam. didnt even ask whey we were leaving.

We then moved onto the Melia Sitges, 4 star and got an unbelievably cheap rate of €60 per room per night!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

The pictures on the hotel website look better than reality, the hotel is being refurbished and some rooms are still old fashioned. The hotel has an old classical part with restaurant and a modern lobby with breakfast-room.
There is an indoor swimming pool, sauna and squash, and also an average sized outdoor swimming pool. Breakfast is plentiful but served in a crowded breakfast room.
The hotel is big and well maintained, connecting between the old and new part makes for long walks through empty corridors.
The hotel is located inland on top of a small hill. Going to the beach is an unpleasant walk crossing highway and railway by a footbridge and takes about 20 minutes. Alternatively, there is a free hotel shuttle to the sister hotel on the beach. From there it takes a 20 min walk to the train station. At the rate of 90 EUR a night per room through the website of the hotel, it was value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

This hotel is out of this world, it is the only hotel I've stayed in that I actually want to return to. It is out of town up a very steep hill, however as long as you don't mind either walking or getting a cab it's no problem. Due to the hotel being up the mountain, it is so peacefull and relaxing. The rooms are incredible, the breakfast is amazing and the outdoor pool is out of this world. The photos do not do the pool or the view justice. The only down point was the bus shuttle to the beach stops is mid august but we walked, the exercise did us good! The only other niggle was the indoor pool looked a bit grotty, we didn't go in it but with the outddor pool being amazing, we didn't mind. If you get the train, stop as castedefells plaza stop rather than the town centre and you then only have to walk up the hill, rather than through the town. It's 30mins away on the train to Sitges and Barcelona, both are worth the train journey. We saw a wedding when we were there, it would be the perfect place for a wedding or an engagment. Infact I would like to get married there!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonameEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castelldefels hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel SB BCN Events
Hotel SB BCN Events
#2 of 17 in Castelldefels
853 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bel Air Hotel
Bel Air Hotel
#4 of 17 in Castelldefels
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
#10 of 17 in Castelldefels
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Playafels
Hotel Playafels
#12 of 17 in Castelldefels
278 reviews
1.6 mi away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
#5 of 17 in Castelldefels
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime

Address: Avenida del Hotel, 22, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castelldefels
#3 Family Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range: £40 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Stayforlong S.L., LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Castelldefels
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime Province Of Barcelona/Castelldefels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing