We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel only short walk to beach & Railway Station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Castelldefels
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Really enjoyed our two night stay at Rey Don Jaime. Its set back up on a hill about a 10 - 15 min walk from the railway station which links to Bracelona in less than 30 mins and Sitges 10 mins in the opposite direction. Frequent and reliable train service. The hotel has two parts one being old and the other new. We were first allocated in an old style room which was dark and dreary and to my mind needed updating with new furniture and decoration although the bathroom appeared to have been updated recently and was good. We asked to change to another room and after much persuasion they agered to move us to another room which was bright and airy with a fabulous bathroom and was in the new part of the hotel. We had a fridge in the room and plenty of storage and hanging space. The beds were very comfortable with lovely crisp white sheets and an abundance of large quality towels in the bathroom - we had no complaints at all. The hotel appears to be used for conferences during the week and there was indeed a wedding there on the Saturday. This however did not interfere with our pleasure. We had a quiet first afternoon by the outside pool (pool towels provided) followed by a whole day in Barcelona (17 euro for all three of us on the train to Barcelona and back along with an unlimited metro card). Our last day we spent the day in Sitges which was a wonderful beach resort/town with fabulous beaches and restaurants. The hotel breakfasts we all thought were very good and it was the usual buffet style with pastries, bread, cereal, cold meats, cheese, eggs etc. The hotel staff were always helpful and polite and overall we had a great time and felt it was good value for money. We had a taxi both ways to and from the airport and it was 35 euros each way.

Room Tip: If you like nice bright modern rooms I would ask for a room in the new part of the hotel. We felt th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank getawayhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed for 3 nights in September 2011. Booked through Yeego so very good price. This is a conference and or wedding venue so not such a great holiday atmosphere. Nice restaurant but poor breakfast in a room in the new part of the hotel and the selection at breakfast and service was 2 star. Out of season its a baron dour hotel and later at night a bir eerey. The rooms are clean have been refurbishes and some with nice views but dark and the wifi.internet does not work. You need a car here to get the the beach and into Casteldefells were parking is a nightmare in September and Winter so as for Summer it would be a 'no go area'. To get to Sitges you go through 6 euro tunnel each way so very expensive if you are touring. The train station is 5k away. Airplane noise constant as you are only 11 k from Barcelona airport

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonHolidaybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The hotel is on a hill far outside Barcelona. You can see the sea but can't walk there, i.e. need to take a taxi wherever you may want to go.

The facilities such as swimming pool are very nice and belie the bad state of the rooms. Rooms are not well maintained, furniture is falling apart (literally), not very clean, but worst of all, the hotel is effectively between a very loud highway and a stone pit with trucks moving all day long. So hardly a place for vacations.

The wifi works, except not in the rooms. There are fixed internet outlets in the rooms but reception told me they are defunct.

Reception is all but helpful, as is staff in general, this property needs a new owner/management.

So all in all, a bad experience, you can do much better in and around Barcelona!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jörg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Sure the hotel is on top of a hill in the middle of nowhere - so you are warned. However room was clean, staff was friendly, hotel bar next to the big swimming pool serves coffee, cakes, beer, etc efficiently at cheap price (for a five star). Spent nice afternoons there with ipad connected on free wifi next to a cold beer, next to screaming kids in the pool. Warmly recommended to families seeking relaxing holidays with big nicely decorated pool with a great view.

However, the hotel is indeed a great location for marriage parties so i can also imagine the nightmare complained in other reviews...

In case hotel staff is reading this: pls work on the roadsigns pointing to the hotel. Were it not for the gps would have been impossible to find the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank accident_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Spent 3 nights with wife and 3 children (14, 12, and 6).
It is not on the beach but still a short 7 minute ride.
Breathtaking views of all Castelldefels.
Two swimming pools (outdoor and indoor)
One table tennis table and Two squash courts that we enjoyed a lot with my athletic/electric kids.
Great Restaurant with the same great views at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianotg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We were put up here for 4 nights due to the volcanic ash disruption. Easyjet paid for a room and breakfast. I couldn't fault this hotel but the only thing missing is a little shop with newspapers/water, etc. The internet was free. There were saunas, swimming pools, squash courts and I really unwound. It is a bit out of the way and at least 30 mins walk into the little town and about 15 mins walk down to the beach. We ate in the bar on the first night, just tapas and the following nights we ate down near the beach in a Spanish Bar/Restaurant. It is definitely a resort for Spanish, we didn't see any other English people off the hotel but we communicated ok. The beach was fantastic, hardly anyone on it.

If you're looking for a peaceful getaway, just make sure you take plenty of books and you can chill out no problem. The staff were friendly enough and checked us in at 3.30 am which I suppose for them was a bit of a nightmare. We had been queuing to get home for 8 hours so no-one was in a particularly good mood. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alethea48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I have high standards as I work in the travel industry and I'm used to staying in good hotels. We went to the hotel for Luxury and chill out and it didnt really tick either of those boxes.

We were looking for a unique spanish holiday experience away from the package holiday crowd so we booked into Castelldefels. When we saw that it was on the metro map and we how close it was to Barcelona we began to get worried but we needed have as although its near Barcelona it still have a resort real.

Following previous reviews we got off at Castelldefels the main station and got a cab to the hotel. It not a pretty drive up to the hotel is main roads and it just not what you expect when you are en route to a resort hotel. As previous reviews mentioned the guy on the reception has no interest in customer engagement he just wants you checked in and out of his way. The rooms are dissapointing, we were in the old part, although when I asked could I see one of the rooms in the new part they were really small so we decided to stay in the older part . We had just come from a trendy Barcelona hotel so it just took us a while to adjust to a more spanish old world hotel.

Food - We went to go to the restaurant but realised that its quite a snazzy restuarant and we were in shorts and just wanted something casual, also its was €35 a head plus drinks so we decided to head down to the beach instead for more casual and cheaper options. You are kind of stranded up at the hotel as there are no supermarkets nearby and the restaurants down at the beach are a good ten minute, not pretty or relaxing walk away or a taxi ride.

Pool
The pool area is a let down. The water is freezing, the grass is a bit mucky and they could have done so much with that area with beautiful landscaping but just cemented over most of it. There were two weddings on the day we were there and one of them took over nearly the whole pool area for a drinks reception and the minute that ended the hotel staff started setting up for a corporate event. Bear in mind that this is all going on while you are supposed to be chilling by the pool!

Breakfast
This was good but the room it was in was a let down.

Hotel
The Hotel is a wedding and conference hotel and these clients will always get preference as they are bring in the big money. Besides the view and the fortress over the pool, which is used in all the imagery used to promote the hotel, this hotel is just average.

Resort
Is nice but not that much to see, no nice winding streets just a few nice restaurants on one road and a strip of bars, ice cream parlours and slot machines. You wont fine any English Chavs here as its a genuine Spanish resort although some of the Spanish crowd looked a bit dodgy. We didnt spend any time on the beach and the beach did look really nice. If you were to go here I would recommend staying in one of hotels down on the beach and use is a base to do beach and Barcelona. We found it to quite so cancelled out of this hotel (No drama gave 24 hours notice and as the payment wasnt being taking until check out that was ok with expedia and the hotel. Actually the guy on the reception seemed like he didnt give a dam. didnt even ask whey we were leaving.

We then moved onto the Melia Sitges, 4 star and got an unbelievably cheap rate of €60 per room per night!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castelldefels hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel SB BCN Events
Hotel SB BCN Events
#2 of 17 in Castelldefels
833 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
#1 of 17 in Castelldefels
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
#10 of 17 in Castelldefels
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bel Air Hotel
Bel Air Hotel
#4 of 17 in Castelldefels
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Playafels
Hotel Playafels
#12 of 17 in Castelldefels
277 reviews
1.6 mi away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime

Address: Avenida del Hotel, 22, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castelldefels
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
#3 Family Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range: £47 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Castelldefels
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime Province Of Barcelona/Castelldefels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing