We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for City break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel SB BCN Events
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Castelldefels
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good base for City break”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

If pristine is what you're looking for, then, perhaps, the BCN Events Hotel isn't for you. If however you're looking for a good family hotel for a city break that involves a bit more travelling than staying in the centre, then this is certainly an option.

It's probably more suitable for families with teenagers rather than young ones but the pool makes it an attraction especially if you're not trekking into Barcelona on a daily basis. The pool isn't in an idilic setting so again don't necessarily have high expectations. Planes rumble regularly overhead and traffic can be heard through the hedges surrounding the pool area. The bar and restaurant are good and breakfast plentiful.

Being out of town (a few stops from the airport with a change on the metro) means that the cost is lower and there's the option of travelling down the coast too. A 'T10' train ticket allows ten journeys and was 10.30 Euros. Good value if you're not hiring a car.

The walk to Castelldefels station is probably 20 minutes (with teenagers) and involves some crossing of roads. Allowing time to get to the station is key and at the end of a long day taking in the Gaudi architecture or touring Camp Nou, the walk back to the hotel can seem quite long. Not sure how far one journey takes you but is fine for into Barcelona and to the airport. We ventured further by train to Sitges and enjoyed the vibrant atmosphere and the attractive Victorian architecture.

Another option is to go down to the coast of Castelldefels. We spent a short time on the beach one day and the beach seemed clean. My swim was rather truncated because a jellyfish got rather close but the water was warm and clear as you'd expect. Another brief word of warning was the nude sunbather. Not sure if this is commonplace but maybe not what Brits expect especially if they have younger children. Some good local eateries down on the beach front which seemed worth investigating.

Eating in the Barcelonetta area of Barcelona is worthwhile especially if it's Paella. A good atmosphere but again probably best with teenagers as, I'm sure you're aware, things don't really liven up until later in the evening.

The best restaurant, Un Posto al Sole, however wasn't found until the last evening and is fairly close to the hotel (Av. Constitucion 89) on the way into Castelldefels. It's a pizzeria (popular the world over with the kids) and is owned and run by a couple (I think) from Napoli. They are friendly, generous and seem to love doing what they do. We couldn't believe there weren't more people eating there. It was busier when we went back the following day for lunch, and we were welcomed with open arms and more generosity. We couldn't speak highly enough of the food or of the patrons. Would highly recommend it.

So - the hotel in summary. Good for a short city break if you don't mind travelling in to the city each day. Facilities fine, staff fine, rooms clean enough and generally okay. Low points - not in scenic area, close to road and airport (which might also be seen as good points), not pristine in its decoration. Our rooms were at the back of the hotel and noise wasn't a problem. Can't comment on the front rooms but the views would be better. Having read some of the previous reviews, we were concerned what we were going to find when we arrived but generally we were happy.

This has turned into more of a journal than a review so apologies for that but I'm writing this while my thoughts are fresh so hopefully you'll get my immediate impression. The hotel allows variety, with opportunities to visit the coast, rather than a full-on City break.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    306
    123
    47
    30
See reviews for
228
212
21
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for work, has free wifi little slow but ok. Offers everything you would need from plug sockets next to the bed to room service etc. This hotel is far out from Barcelona and far from the train station you would have to get a bus which takes 45min. Pool is lovely and staff seem helpful. It's a decent hotel for a good price I paid 45 euros a night.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FlipFlop86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Lovely hotel, Rooms very clean, quiet, reception lady on in the evenings was lovely, only problem we found was the service in the restaurant in the hotel at lunchtime! One waiter in particular (old grey haired bloke) was rude! Just ignored us! We
Sat waiting for our food for ages and then even longer to the pay the bill at the end! Beach is a 20min walk away and is beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fyall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Good hotel for families, rooms for families are huge and have one large bathroom and one extra toilet. No balcony though. Pool area is OK, but close to motor way so there is sound all the time. It is easy to take the train to Barcelona, just 25 min from the center of Castelldefels to Passeig de Gràcia. Buy a T10 ticket for just a little for more than 10 Euro.

Breakfast is OK but not fancy. Takes about 10-15 min to walk to city center of Castelldelfels where it is lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAGNUS O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The room was spacious and airy. The bed extremely comfortable - just what we needed after a long flight. We used the hotel buffet for our evening meal and it was fine (16 euros pp) as we were tired and not really up for exploring the local vicinity for dinner. Our room was clean and not at all cramped. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place as a stepping stone to other places.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hensathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Me and a friend stayed here for what should of been 10 days had we not booked an early flight home because the hotel, both staff and location were nothing like what we were expecting! The 'cocktail' bar only serves 4 cocktails, the bar staff don't know how to make the cocktails, it takes ages for the bar staff just to prepare a coke with ice let alone a cocktail and the food is dreadful. The location is good should you only be using the hotel as a way to stay close to the airport, because that's the only building near it. To get to Barcelona it is a 20 minute taxi that will cost you €45 each way, or a train from the train station about 15 minutes walk from the hotel. There's no restaurants, shops, stalls, etc near the hotel and the beach is a good 30 minutes away in a taxi. The staff don't enforce the rules they claim to have, such as no swimming in the pool after 7. And to top it off my friend had money stolen out of our room and when she went to reception to report it they said they couldn't do anything about it because it wasn't their 'policy.' We asked to speak to the manager and when we eventually got to she wasn't at all helpful. It seemed like it happened often as all the staff felt rehearsed on the situation. My friend also left her phone in the taxi when it dropped us back at the hotel and when she asked reception for the name of the taxi company or phone number they told her they didn't know it even though they had booked us the same taxi just the night before. We also spoke to the manager about this and she tried miserably to reassure us that the women on reception had contacted the taxi company but again was very rehearsed and unbelievable. If she had the number for the taxi why wouldn't she give it to us!? Would definitely never stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Srbjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Location of the hotel isn't great 15-20 minute walk to train station then another half hour train to city centre or 80 euros for a taxi there and back. From the minute we arrived it was clear that the staff were absolutely inept. They advertise a cocktail bar but the bar staff don't know how to make them. Left my iPhone in a taxi back to the hotel, immediately realised and asked to get the license plate from CCTV but the staff refused, then asked the receptionist to call the taxi company but she said it was not possible, however, looked online and found it instantly. Additionally to top it all off, return to the room to find that 340 euros has been taken. Girl on reception immediately advised that as the money had not been in the safety deposit box there was nothing they could do and that it was hotel policy that they couldn't check the CCTV. The staff were completely disinterested and not at all surprised, suggesting this is not the first incident of this kind (if you read a review further below from March 2014 appears it's a regular occurrence). Additionally the phone in the bathroom fell off the wall and the bath was covered in dirty stains. The whole ordeal was just appalling and ended up booking a flight home 3 days early.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castelldefels hotels
1.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
#3 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
#9 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bel Air Hotel
Bel Air Hotel
#5 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
#2 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.1 mi away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
#6 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB BCN Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB BCN Events

Property: Hotel SB BCN Events
Address: Ronda de Can Rabada 22 - 24, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castelldefels
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
#2 Family Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel SB BCN Events 4.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Hotel SB BCN EVENTS es un hotel de cuatro estrellas situado en Castelldefels, a escasos metros de las playas de Gavà y Castelldefels. Un hotel en Castelldefels especializado en eventos y convenciones, con 212 habitaciones y salones de gran capacidady a tan sólo 15 km de Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel SB BCN Events reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsis Bcn Events Castelldefels
Apsis Bcn Events Hotel Castelldefels
Hotel SB BCN Events Province Of Barcelona/Castelldefels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing