We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Sleep!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bel Air Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bel Air Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Castelldefels
Ontario
Level Contributor
208 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Awesome Sleep!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here for one night after flying over 12 hours. This hotel is out of the city in a summer town. Very quiet in autumn, but still has a variety of restaurants open. It was so nice to be able to have a nap! The windows have electric blinds, total blackout for sleeping. Water stays hot for showers/baths. The beds are comfy, and the pillows are squishy! They have huge bath towels that are thick too. The lady who checked us in was so friendly, we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Try to get a beach view. The sunset and sunrise are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSchu's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni L, Propietario at Bel Air Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear customer:

Thank you very much for your comment about our hotel and service given. We appreciate especially your comment to our staff as it is of the utmost importance to be amble and attentive as they are a reflection of our product. Are actually very close to Barcelona because in a few minutes from our hotel des can we reach the city center either in private or public transport.

Hope to see you again as we indicated.

Regards

Hotel Bel Air
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    97
    41
    9
    4
See reviews for
41
123
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Off season this hotel is a real bargain. Comfortable room with a balcony and a view to the sea over a promenade (no cars, just people running, walking, biking, etc..), a large bed (2 m) and wooden floor (you see and smell that the room is clean).
The hotel is situated nearby lots of cafés and restaurants and it took us only 30 min. on Saturday morning from hotel check-out to flight check-in and boarding area through security at terminal 1. Very efficient!

Room Tip: Room with balcony and sea view are worth the expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bergeje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni L, Propietario at Bel Air Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Customer

Thanks for your time to write your opinion about our Hotel.

Also appreciate your comment about the location in 1st row from the sea.

Hope to see you another time.

Regards

Hotel Bel Air
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights. Hotel is well situated on the beach. The staff was very helpfully . Breakfast was great. All the facilities are clean. The room was quiet and very we'll equipped . I will definitely recommend this hotel and will comeback on my next visit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shaulsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni L, Propietario at Bel Air Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Customer

We really appreciate your review of our hotel and was pleased to read it helps us to continue improving day by day.

Also we will send your congratulations to all our staff.

Hope to see you another time.

Regards

Hotel Bel Air
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addison, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

15 minutes from the airport , this was the hotel for our pre-cruise stay. Located right on the beach, complete with a cabana (operated by separate company.) There is an area where the locals walk, run and cycle by and it is fantastic for people watching) The Location of this hotel was on of the highlights. Walk a few steps towards the numerous restaurants and grab a bite and of course a gelato. For a few euros grab an espresso and a beach chair. The hotel in its contemporary awesome ness was beautiful and inexpensive. Get a room with a ocean view( we paid 35 euros more for it. ) the breakfast buffet is expensive but substantial. The rooms were first class. Gay Friendly.

Room Tip: get an Ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni L, Propietario at Bel Air Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Customer

Thanks for your time to write your opinion about our Hotel.

We will get his congratulations to all our staff.

Also appreciate your comment about the location in 1st row from the sea.

Hope to see you another time.

Regards

Hotel Bel Air
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here for 10 days as an alternative to Barcelona and for the Vuelta a Espana stage that was finishing in the town. We found the hotel a delightful alternative to being in the city. There was easy access to Barcelona directly outside via the bus. 2€ and 40 minutes and you are in Plaza Catalunya. It was nice to come back to the tranquility of the Bel Air after a day of sightseeing. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the setting directly overlooking the beach and boardwalk provided many happy moments on the balcony enjoying a glass of wine and watching the locals out for their evening stroll. Reception staff were super helpful and fluent in a multitude of languages. They provided recommendations for local eateries, all of which we enjoyed. We spent a few days at their small pool. It was quiet and most often we were the only people there. They provide plenty of fresh towels for pool and beach use. There are also bikes available for rent. The beach was popular with local families and visitors and was clean and not crowded.
Casteldefells doesn't appear to be a large resort town like Sitges that attracts lots of Northern Europeans seeking sun, sea and sangria but is more a outer lying suburb of Barcelona. We liked this aspect, but for those seeking lots of nightlife and tour options on the doorstep it may not be the place for them.
If you do decide to stay here spend the little extra for a seaview room. It is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginzingggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni L, Propietario at Bel Air Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear guest,

Your opinion has been important to improve the services, we would like to have your visit again.

It is true that since the hotel is very close to train station and not only is advisable to visit Barcelona, but because of the good location of the hotel could visit more of Catalonia (Colonia Guell, Tarragona, ...)

Regards

Hotel Bel Air
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here last year for the start of our honeymoon (Sept 2012) The hotel is beautiful and was recommended to me by my Spanish bosses mother. The rooms are fantastic the balcony as big as room with sun loungers ideal for our honeymoon as we were not venturing out much during the day preferring to laze on the balcony!!! !Our first night was not great as the air con was not working in our room and as my husband has high blood pressure these were not ideal sleeping conditions for him. The night porter was very helpful and said he would log the problem. However the next morning we found it was a public holiday in Barcelona and nothing would be done so we were moved. Unfortunately we were not told that balcony renovations were taking place and we were subjected to 2 days of workman next door lifting floor tiles and traipsing back and forth through our room to make sure the balcony glass and metal were aligned correctly - not ideal when you're half naked sunbathing!
BUT I COMPLAINED and I am so glad I did...... I was so upset and knew the hotel was better than this (from comments from my boss and his family) and I wanted to take my husband back for our 1st anniversary ! ANNA AGUT COULD NOT BE MORE WONDERFUL TO US she has kindly given us the best deal to return - Presidential suite, 1st night free and then 2 nights at the standard rate, so on 19th September we are returning for what we hope will be a fantastic break for us both.
I could not fault the hotel it is stylish and breakfast is lovely and I love all the nice little touches around the place - the pool is lovely and refreshing and the beach is outstanding.
The town itself is fantastic, lovely promenade along the beach, great restaurants and bars and I actually preferred this laid back place than the hustle and bustle of Barcelona - obviously completely different types of trips, but I am so looking forward to returning -so watch this space!

Room Tip: Sea View every tine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bel Air Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for choosing Hotel Bel Air to spend your holidays and thanks also for the time dedicated to write this review on Tripadvisor.

We are really sorry that your stay on 2012 weren´t satisfactory enough due to the coincidences of the work improvements of the façade. I’ve been known that your recent 3-day stay in the Hotel on the 19th of September this year was really good. Thanks for giving us a second chance to confirm the good recommendations!

We will be glad to welcome you again anytime you decided to return to Castelldefels beach.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights before our cruise in this hotel. The beach view rooms have a balcony and direct view on the beach. The room has electric shutters so sleeping is possible during the day.
There is a bus stop in front of the hotel with frequent buses to Barcelona. On the beach, direction BCN is a nice tropical club and same direction on the road a good bakery. To the other side are some small shops for water and many restaurants. We had some trouble with jellyfish in the sea - small but painful. We had a very good lunch in La Vila restaurant at 50 meters.
No coffee or tea facilities in the room.

Room Tip: Choose sea side - avoid the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bel Air Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted you spend a couple of pleasant days in Castelldefels. It is a place perfect to relax on the huge beach and thanks to the wide variety of restaurants and bars close to the hotel is easy to make the most of the location.

I am sorry you find jellyfish on the sea, sometimes (rarely), with the high temperatures there are some but there are lifeguards along the seaside that can prevent you from swimming, and also there are medical assistance boxes on the beach of Castelldefels to attend in case of trouble.

You always will be welcome if you decided to return to Hotel Bel Air.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castelldefels hotels
0.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
#2 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playafels
Hotel Playafels
#11 of 16 in Castelldefels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
#7 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mediterraneo
BEST WESTERN Mediterraneo
#4 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel SB BCN Events
Hotel SB BCN Events
#1 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.9 mi away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Hotel

Property: Bel Air Hotel
Address: Passeig Maritim, 169, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castelldefels
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bel Air Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking directly onto Castelldefels Beach, Bel Air offers stylish air-conditioned rooms with balconies. The hotel has a small swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Many of the rooms in the Bel Air have sea views, and all have hardwood floors and modern furniture. They also have Flat screen TV with satellite channels and free films. The hotel has a well-equipped business centre and attractive gardens with sun loungers. There is also an outdoor chill out terrace right on the beach. There is a bus stop outside the hotel, where you can get a bus to Barcelona. The C-31 motorway is just 500 metres away, offering a direct link to central Barcelona and the airport. Free parking can be found nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Bel Air Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Castelldefels
Bel Air Hotel Province Of Barcelona/Castelldefels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing