We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta Love the Beach”
Review of Hotel Playafels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Playafels
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Castelldefels
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We booked this one online and it looked good. We had booked a beach view room with a balcony and it was a very nice room and we enjoyed ourselves watching the beach goers. We had hoped to enjoy the beach awhile and then spill out into town and enjoy some boutiques and local artisans. WRONG. The hotel is quite a distance from city center and once we walked it (about 45 minutes), there was nothing to enjoy. The city does not have much charm and if you want to eat at a nice restaurant, stay at the beach. That's virtually all that surrounds this area of the hotel, restaurants. Slow service at the restaurants we visited. Disappointed that the hotel's bar was not open in the evening and we had to leave before breakfast was served in the morning. The desk clerks were very nice and all could speak English. People must come only for the beach. It's only a 15 minute taxi fare to the Barcelona Airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSoteras, Propietario at Hotel Playafels, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Customer

We appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. We always want to improve and look to satisfy all our customers.

As for your suggestions, we took into account and to fix

Regards

Hotel PlayaFels (Grup Soteras)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good location right on the beach. Room was of a good size overlooking the beach. Pool was of good size and surrounding area good to laze around and get some sun. Breakfast was rather disappointing following all the great reviews. I would expect the tables to be laid for a 4* hotel and tea and coffee to be served.

Room Tip: Sea View a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TeamApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSoteras, Propietario at Hotel Playafels, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Customer

We appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The truth that we always want to improve and try to make customers feel at home during their leisure periods.

As for your suggestions, we took into account and to fix

Regards

Hotel PlayaFels (Grup Soteras)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked this hotel via otel.com, and on arrival we were told by the hotel that they had no rooms left for us (blamed it on the booking system or whatever.) Instead they put us into a small apartment 100 metres from the hotel that we had booked and payed for full up front. Felt like we were scammed really.

Advertise the hotel with it's enticing pool, grab the clients and then send them off to a block of small apartments, 100 metres away, facing an noisy open air nightclub. If I had known I was going to be 100m away from the pool I would've booked somewhere else!

On checkout we witness two ladies having this same issue. The hotel simply pushed the blame to the agency that booked the tickets (in our case otel.com).

Playafels if you took our money, then you have to take the responsibility. It's easy to blame someone else.

After a week in Barcelona we wanted to relax for a couple of days before returning home. But this Hotel ruined it for me. Very disappointed!

Before setting out, my advice to people would be to call the hotel in advance and ask for a written confirmation that the room is available and secured for the dates you want!

Paid for it but didn't see much of this Hotel so for that I'm giving it 1 star/rating

Room Tip: Before setting out, my advice to people would be to call the hotel in advance and ask for a written...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TFT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSoteras, Propietario at Hotel Playafels, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and also for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments that we believe it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers, that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.

Regards

Hotel PlayaFels (grup Soteras)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Excellent hotel right on the beach, 10 minute walk from the train station, however a taxi costs 30 euro including tip which will save a lot of time. My daughter and I arrived at noon, we thought we'd need to wait until 2 pm to check in, but we were given our room when we arrived. The rooms are spotless, our room overlooked the beach, which is a stones throw from the hotel. Reception, housekeeping and restaurant staff were fantastic. Breakfast was lovely especially the coffee, everything was fresh and tasty. There was an issue with 5 Russian children at the pool,they were disruptive and causing problems. I went to reception to complain and one of the reception staff came out to speak to them again which seemed to work as they calmed down, then left, there were no parents around I think reception threatened to get the police to them.

Room Tip: Room with numbers 102,104,106 on the first floor overlook the beach. I assume other floors are the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Donna186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSoteras, Propietario at Hotel Playafels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014
Google Translation

Cher client

Tout d'abord, nous vous remercions de votre temps pour refléter votre opinion de cette communauté.

En effet, l'hôtel est en 1ère ligne de mer et à 1 minute et peut être étendu sur la plage et aussi est très près du Barcelona (30 minutes avec train).

Merci beaucoup pour le commentaire et nous espérons vous revoir bientôt dans notre hôtel.

Cordialement

Hotel PlayaFels (Grup Soteras)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My son and i have just returned from our second trip to Casteldefells in the last few months and our first stay at the Hotel Playafels. I was extremely disappointed that although i booked our room six months ago and asked for a sea view on a high floor we were given a street view room (110) on the first floor. I had booked this holiday as a celebration for my son finishing his exams/schools and we were both looking forward to seeing the sea from our room. Our room was at best 3 star, it looked nothing like the rooms in the promotional photos. Also, the room was extremely noisy, being next to the lift, and the pipes/waterworks in the room next door's bathroom, we could literally hear every noise and the sound of our neighbours showering woke us every morning :( We were not allowed access to the garden/swimming pool on saturday as the hotel was hosting two weddings, and the noise from the disco went on until 12am. Had i known it would be so noisy and that we would not have a sea view i would have booked a different hotel. However, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirsten m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSoteras, Propietario at Hotel Playafels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Customer

Thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased to read that your stay in all the good and bad has been entirely satisfactory.

Anyway as we always listen to customers both for good and for bad, just try telling that strengthen both the positive and negative comments.

Regards

Hotel PlayaFels (Grup Soteras)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A couple of days well spent away from it all in quiet Castelledefels located only 10 km west from Barcelona airport. The hotel has a perfect location on the beach. The room was large with a balcony overlooking the pool and a view of the sea. The air condition was quiet and pleasant. The breakfast buffet gave a great start of the day with a panoramic view of the sea. The hotel did not serve lunch, but with numerous local restaurants near by, lack of food was never an issue. Great hotel and great stay.

Best way to get to the hotel from the airport is probably by taxi (€25) as the really cheap bus ride takes you on a long sightseeing tour and leaves you with a mile walk down to the hotel/beach. Going back to the airport has no alternative to a taxi ride.

Room Tip: During main season room rates are fairly expensive, while really cheap during off-season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinkytoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSoteras, Propietario at Hotel Playafels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Customer

First of all we appreciate your time to reflect your opinion of this community.

Indeed the hotel is in 1st sea line and within 1 minute and can be lying on the beach.

Hope to see you soon

Regards

Hotel PlayaFels (Grup Soteras)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The playa feels hotel is a great hotel, in a lovely location right next to the beach, it has it's own swimming pool, rooms have air-con and many have a balcony with a sea view. I have stayed here a couple of times on business and I have to say the rooms, while basic are all that you need for a comfortable stay, the service is very good form the staff, and Barcelona centre is only a €30 taxi ride away.

The breakfast is very nice and Catalonian with plenty of choice, unfortunately the restaurant doesn't always open in the evening, but There are literally dozens of restaurants within a 2-3 minute walk of the hotel, as it's a tourist area some of the restaurant food is not so great but if you take your time to choose you'll find some good little restaurant s in the area.

I would defiantly recommend Hotel Playfels if your going to Barcelona but don't want the hustle bustle of the city centre .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Lions66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSoteras, Propietario at Hotel Playafels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Customer

We are very pleased to have had a good time in our hotel and we were able to enjoy their time with us.

See you again next year

Regards

Hotel PlayaFels (Grup Soteras)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castelldefels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
#10 of 17 in Castelldefels
377 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
#1 of 17 in Castelldefels
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bel Air Hotel
Bel Air Hotel
#4 of 17 in Castelldefels
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
#3 of 17 in Castelldefels
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
#5 of 17 in Castelldefels
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playafels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playafels

Address: Playa Ribera de San Pedro, 1-9, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Castelldefels
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range: £39 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playafels 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Playafels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playafels Province Of Barcelona/Castelldefels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing