We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for both pool and beach family fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Castelldefels
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel for both pool and beach family fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at Ciudad for days at the end of July 2012. The hotel is only a short walk from the Platja de Castelldefels train stop and only 25mins outside Barcelona. Trains run every half hour or so the hotel is easily accessible if coming from Barcelona city. It is also only a short distance to Barcelona airport, costing about €20 in a taxi. The hotel itself is classed as 3 star but I would actually go as far as to say it is four star standard. We had a HUGE triple room. We had a lovely big bed and then a separate bed was provided for our 7 year old in the seating area of the room. There was sliding doors separating the seating area from the main bedroom which provided a little bit of privacy for ourselves and allowed us to watch tv or chat at night without disturbing our daughter. A lovely travel cot was also provided for us for our baby daughter.
The breakfast was self service style with ample choice. We did not have lunch or dinner included in our stay but we had lunch in the hotel restaurant one afternoon and it was absolutely delicious. We nearly licked our plates clean!
The pool is lovely with lots of sunbeds and umbrellas. The hotel is extremely child friendly and our 7 year old thoroughly enjoyed the pool. The hotel does face onto the street and our room was street facing but there were sheer curtains that provided privacy during the day. The street and whole area are also extremely quiet.
The hotel is about a 35min walk or one stop on the train to the centre of Castelldefels if you wish to do some shopping. The hotel itself is a short walk to a beautiful sandy beach and a host of restaurants. You are literally spoilt for choice. I would say, however, to avoid the 'Yara' cafe/restaurant near the beach. We received the worst service I have ever experienced there. The waiter was dismissive and unhelpful. They didn't have three of the items we asked for on their menu. The waiter literally threw the sandwich in front of our daughter and they forgot our drinks and then completely forgot to bring our espressos. All the while lavishing attention on the spanish customers. All other restaurants we ate in we got lovely friendly service.
Back to the hotel, all the staff, from the reception to restaurant to breakfast to chamber maids, were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. We were allowed a late check out up to 2pm with no extra charge. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to friends and family. Ignore the negative reviews. This is a great little hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qewpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    148
    72
    19
    11
See reviews for
96
116
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

just back, had a great time. The kids loved it, my son aged 7 had great fun in the pool. Breakfast was fantastic,the choice of food was to die for.The staff were very nice and were very helpful. The beach was 5 minute walk from hotel, got a bus to centre of the town, it was lovely,lots of shops and people were very friendly and spoke good english. The weather was fantastic.Barcelona was only an hour by bus, was worth the trip. We did the hop on hop off bus which can be booked in the hotel. We are already talking about going back, we enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnieWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This hotel is perfect for a family holiday. The rooms were spotlessly clean. The cleaning staff worked really hard. The breakfasts were to die for. All you can eat buffet: perfect for my teenage boys! All the staff were very nice and friendly, nothing was too much for them. Its located within walking distance of the gorgeous beach and tons of lovely restaurants and wee shops. The pool was spotless and we spent hours in it. My son dropped chocolate milk shake on his bedding so I called down for a new sheet to be left for us that evening. Within two minutes two chambermaids were in the room stripping the dirty sheets and re making the bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliejersey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

Brilliant hotel and location: 100 m from a very nice, big, sandy and very clean beach. We've been half board 2 adult one child(5 yrs). Excellent spanish food,good size portions, you can find something for everyone. Towels and bed sheets change daily. Nice city with a lot of restaurants with a very large kinds of cuisine.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Valentin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castelldefels
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel 2-6 June 2012 in room 234. The room was very clean, very comfortable, with no noyses from outside, very good food and service. I like there very much and would recomend to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Jelena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

After reading lots of reviews and trying to find the best location for my first vist in Barcelona, Spain and mainly photography trip. Many of hotels didn't really suit my criteria that i was looking for. Then i read mix reviews about this hotel and some are very good. So i booked and i stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights. Gotta say this by far one of best hotel in barcelona as i meet another traveller stayed in Catalonia central barcelona paid lots for the location but full with dodgy people hanging around the area. Even though its 20-30mins from Central by Renfe train which arrived every half hr. definitely the best place if you wanna stay out for city noises. The huge beach is 3 mins away and location is perfect!!! about 20 mins away from the Barcelona airport via train. The hotel in first impression is very clean, staff is very friendly and speak very good english. When i arrived i check in straight away and receptionist given me key to room even though arriving couple hrs before check in time.
My 4 days stay 7-10May 2012 included breakfast buffet which very good choice paid £190 including taxes and service fees, it could change due to holiday season. booked single room with huge double bed, 2nd floor with balcony, clean sheet, spacious bathroom shower, very clean and presentable room. also provide basic daily necessity e.g. razor, soap, slipper etc. unfortunately plasma tv only have spanish channel. wasn't bothered because i have access to free wifi but sometime goes very slow and keep cutting off. However, only one thing slight issue with the room is that it gets too hot in the evening and have to open the balcony overnight!! It has tiny fridge in the room for refreshment if you get thirsty but you have pay the bill on the time of check-out. The hotel has its own private big pool and sun tanning area definitely plus.
Getting into this hotel is very easy from the main airport by train if you not arriving very late because last train service at 12am to the hotel otherwise taxi is another option but i can be expensive. From barcelona terminal 2 cross an overpass in the airport before my arrival i purchased my barcelona card for limited 4 days travel on any public transport but also you can easily buy ticket over there. ideal one which most tourist get is T10 for about 10euros last for 10 journeys.
From there take R10 which is a renfe train and change to 'El Prat de Llobregat' or El Prat make sure to stay near the entrance due to my experienced this train sometime gets too overcrowded with tourist and i missed this stop. Then from 'El Prat Llobregat' change to another Renfe line R2 which terminate in 'Villanova' then ensure to get off in 'Platja de Castelldefells Station' not Castelldefells.
Go to other side of the station and cross the road keeping walking until you reach first junction rd then (turn left) and keep walking straight, about 10mins will be able to reach the hotel.
Getting into the central by train you can take same line to 'Estacio de franca' from there barceloneta beach which main barcelona beach about 15mins walk and 10mins in ports other attractions such aquarium and 20mins walk to famous busy La ramblas street.
Based on my experienced this hotel is brilliant, friendly staff, perfect for month May not too hot, very closed to the beach, good breakfast plenty of choice and very good location if you get far from central and noises. Definitely recommending this hotel for sure and probably going back in near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oneaperture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

The stay in the hotel was a real dissapointment. The staff were not that friendly. Some did not speak English. The menu and food were terrible.
Nice things were the proximity to the beach, spacious bathrooms, useful exrta stuff like needle, plasters, shoe polish sponge, razor etc, free safe and wifi.
Note that the hotel is close to the airport but it is almost impossible to get there by public transport so be ready to take a taxi. It takes an hour to get to Barcelona centre by bus. I ordered a triple room but was given a double room with extra bed with no room to swing a cat. So had to explain that double room with extra bed was not the same as triple. Next day we moved to a larger one.
Food was unetable. I had never drunk such terrible coffee before.
The way maids do beds is crazy. You need physical strength to undo your bed to get into it ^)

Would not recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherish_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelldefels
Hotel Playafels
#11 of 16 in Castelldefels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
#2 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Eixample
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
#123 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bel Air Hotel
#5 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Hotel SB BCN Events
#1 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
BEST WESTERN Mediterraneo
#4 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels

Property: Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
Address: Passeig de la Marina, 212, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ciudad De Castelldefels Province Of Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing