We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments, fab pool, close to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Marina Gardens
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Castelldefels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had a Grand Suite at Royal Marina Gardens - with two twin bedded rooms [pushed together to make a double], an open plan living area [with a dining, kitchen and lounge areas] and a table and chairs on a small terrace outside.

The apartment was perfect for us [2 adults and 2 young children], it had plenty of bedroom storage, was clean and it had air con which was useful when it was hot. There was a sofabed in the lounge but I reckon it would feel cramped with 6 people in the apartment.

There are two blocks of apartments on site which shared a pool. The pool is a good length, warm and very clean. We were told we could also use the smaller pool of the aparthotel Bardon next door. Most of the time we had the pool to ourselves and this was in August!

The apartments are within walking distance of the nice sandy beach, we went there one late afternoon but generally preferred to cool off in and by the pool.

If I go back to Barcelona I'd definitely stay here again.

Disabled access-wise the place was very accessible with ramps into the buildings, it was level into the apartment, the toilet and shower room were separate and not wheelchair accessible in terms of their size, there was a medium sized step into the shower and another onto the terrace, there were steps into the pool [no hand rail] at one end and a ladder at the other end. There were plenty of dropped kerbs to enable a wheelchair or scooter user to get to the beach which has a boardwalk to get you half way onto the beach itself.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EmmaBowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Lovely place, right next to the beach. The staff was very friendly and service-minded, both in the reception and the people doing the rooms. The beach is great and just a few minutes walk. The apartments were very nice, the pool area a favourite for both the kids and adults after a long day on the beach. Bus to Barcelona just outside the hotel. Very convinient place to stay for pleasure, sun and bath, and lots of oppurtunities for mountain biking in the mountains behind Castelldefels.
Strongly recommended for families gojng to Barcelona area. We will surely come back to the Royal Marina Gardens.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erikjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed here since nearly every room in Barcelona was booked for the Mobile World Congress. It turned out to be a nice little hotel with easy access to the heart of Barcelona.

Taxi ride from the airport cost us around 30 euros. 7 were tacked on as an airport surcharge and for the amount of luggage we had with us, about 3 large check-in bags. It's about a 15 to 20 minute ride to the hotel depending on traffic. If you take the bus to the hotel from the airport you need to transfer at least once. Taking the taxi back to the airport early in the morning without any traffic cost around 25 euros.

The hotel was fantastic. We had a suite with two twin beds and a sofa sleeper that could accommodate two more. It's laid out like a tiny little apartment. The kitchen had a toaster and everything needed to cook a meal. One weird thing was that the toilet and shower/sink are in separate rooms. No biggie, but my main deduction for this hotel are the paper thin walls. It was pretty easy to listen to conversations in other rooms. Nothing really prevented me from sleeping well at night but it entirely depends on how loud your neighbors are. Overall the room as well as the entire property was clean and a pleasant place to come back to after a long day of exploring.

One huge plus about this hotel is its proximity to the L95 bus line into the heart of Barcelona. The stops to get on and get off are literally a stones throw from the hotel. Check out my picture to see the proximity. We paid 6 euros for three people to go directly to Plaza Catayluna, the end of the line for the L95. Youll be across the plaza from El Corte Ingles and its easy to find your stop since its across the street from the KFC. It's also the same stop you use when going back to the hotel. From here we simply picked up some two day passes to a hop-on and off tour bus and never even used the subway. it's about a 40 minute ride depending on traffic.

When coming back to the hotel on the bus we were given a card from the hotel and were told to show it to the driver so that he would let us off at the correct stop. Unfortunately, not all drivers are so helpful. Ours, who I've named "skeletor," ignored all the tourists asking for help about their stop. FYI he has long curly hair he keeps in a ponytail and some sort of triangular pattern shaved into the side of his head. Anyways, when you look at your map of stops only the streets/areas are listed, not the individual stops. For example, the hotel is located on Marina, but there are several stops along this street. Im not a bus person, but I think we only stopped if someone was needing to either get on or off. Regardless, just know that the stop for the hotel is Pg. de la Marina carrer 18. There's a little led board at the front of the bus you'll need to watch for the upcoming street. If its broken as it was on one of our trips, the hotel is lit up at night on the edges so it has a TRON effect going on. You should be able to see it and hit the button with a few seconds to spare if you'd like to get off.

Overall, if I was looking for a place to stay outside of Barcelona with easy access to the city, I'd stay at this hotel. It's a short walk to the beach and in a quiet residential area. Our trip was brief it the beachfront looks like a great place to visit in the summer. The staff was great... our requests for extra blankets were promptly met and one even recognized it was my birthday and wished me well. If staying in Barcelona is not an option then give the Apartamentos Royal Marina Gardens a try!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Onwi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Thanks to a clairaudient architecture and holiday party folk I cannot recommend this otherwise nice and friendly hotel to the business traveller that intends to sleep at night.

You can easily follow your neighbour’s conversation and other nightly activities, the drains are as noisy as the Coca Cola vending machine in the corridor is.

During low season this is a good recommendation, in summer not.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lottbekkoppeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyaMarinaManagement, Gerente at Royal Marina Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011
Google Translation

Sehr geehrte/r “Lottbekko”
Vielen Dank für Ihr feedback bezüglich der Architektur unseres Hauses sowie unsere Gastfreundlichkeit.
Unsere Appartements sind ideal für Geschäftsreisende, sowohl als ruhiger Aufenthaltsort, als auch zur Nähe des Geschäftszentrums von Barcelona und Umgebung.
Ihr Kommentar hat uns überrascht, da unsere Gäste genau aus diesem Grund zu uns kommen. Um sich auszuruhen und abschalten zu können. Wir sind immer darauf bedacht, dass sich unsere Gäste wie zuhause fühlen.
Es tut uns sehr leid, dass Sie sich an einigen Tagen nicht ausruhen konnten, und wir bedauern, dass Sie uns dieses nicht mitgeteilt haben. Unser Team spricht neben spanisch auch perfekt deutsch, englisch und französisch.
Es wäre ganz einfach gewesen, Ihnen ein anderes Appartement zur Verfügung zu stellen.
Generell sind unsere Gäste sehr ruhig, aber es kann leider durchaus mal zu einer Ausnahme, wie in Ihrem Fall, kommen.
Die Getränkemaschine hätten wir anderweitig platzieren können, bzw. über Nacht ausstellen können.
Wir hätten die beiden Punkte für Sie lösen können, sodass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt bei uns einwandfrei hätten geniessen können.
Wir hoffen dennoch, Sie eines Tages wieder in unserem Hause begrüssen zu dürfen.
Mit freundlichen Grüssen
Chantal Antoine - Dirección - Royal Marina Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Positive - Lovely place, right next to the beach. The staff was very friendly and spoke good English( which is a rare thing in Spain). The beach is great and you can walk to the beach

Negative - The apartments were a little cosy

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shivapbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyaMarinaManagement, Manager at Royal Marina Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Dear "Shivapbs",

Thank you for your nice review. We are truly glad to learn that you liked our hotel: its location, right next to the beach and, above all, our staff kindness and good level of foreign languages. Our employees come from all around the world and therefore speak a variety of languages such as German, French, Italian, Romanian, a part of course from English and Spanish.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again, receive the best regards from all the Royal Marina Gardens team!

Management
Royal Marina Gardens Tourist Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Close to Barcelona, 15mins on the train. Beach much better than the improvised one in Barcelona. Our studio room with well equipped kitchen was comfortable and had small private green area in front completed with table and chairs. Communal pool area was nice and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nononsens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

When planning our summer trip, I was having trouble finding a place to stay in Barcelona near the beach with 2 separate sleeping areas, a kitchenette and a pool. After realizing that it was impossible in Barcelona, I opened up my search to areas close to Barcelona and stumbled across the Royal Marina Gardens.

Our family stayed here in August in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was perfect for anyone looking for a location close to the beach, but also convenient for sight seeing in Barcelona. The apartment building is located in a very quiet neighborhood within walking distance of the beach and restaurants. It is only a 10 minute drive to the airport and a 20-30 minute drive to Barcelona. We also drove to Sitges which only took about 25 minutes.

The apartment had a small kitchen area with a full size refrigerator, stove top, microwave and toaster. There were twin beds in each bedroom and a sleeper sofa in the living area. There was a table with 4 chairs next to the kitchen and another table with seating for 4 outside on the patio.

The pool was very nice and always immaculately clean.

The only faults that I found, were that there were no washcloths or beach towels, and there was some noise from neighboring apartments.

That being said, we had a great time and would definitely recommend this place as being a very good value.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachluvrNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castelldefels hotels
0.2 mi away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
1 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
#1 of 17 in Castelldefels
464 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
#10 of 17 in Castelldefels
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel SB BCN Events
Hotel SB BCN Events
#2 of 17 in Castelldefels
856 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bel Air Hotel
Bel Air Hotel
#4 of 17 in Castelldefels
275 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
#6 of 17 in Castelldefels
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Marina Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Marina Gardens

Address: Passeig de la Marina, 40, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Castelldefels
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range: £48 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Marina Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Marina Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Marina Gardens Province Of Barcelona/Castelldefels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing