We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place in a picturesque village”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arcs De Monells

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arcs De Monells
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monells
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful place in a picturesque village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed here as part of a cycle tour we did in Catalonia and absolutely loved the hotel and the village. The hotel is set in a medieval building which depicts the best thing about this region. The rooms were large and clean and service was excellent (it is run by a family who also live there). Our ground floor rooms had sliding rear windows which lead into the common garden area and pool – beautiful and romantic. The pool was clean (less than 5 feet at the deep end) and was good for relaxation after the ride. We also had dinner in the hotel – and these rooms were also set up well with a romantic and serene feel to the whole thing.

Maybe the only thing I didn’t like was that the beds were a bit old and were not too comfortable (especially as you move away from the centre). Because this is a medieval building with thick walls, wifi doesn’t work inside the rooms. But then you don’t need wifi in such a charming place :)

Don’t forget to take your camera and tripod out in the night to the village square – it is such a picturesque setting to watch and capture!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raghini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    16
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
40
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We travelled to Spain to take part in a ballooning trip provided by work , 18 of us stayed at the Arcs De Monells and we were very impressed indeed - even though the trip was paid for by our company I would have be more than willing to pay for the stay and service we received. From the off the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you - the food was very good (better than the restaurant in the village) - the beer was cold and the rooms were top class, my room had all the mod cons, mini bar etc and the biggest bed I have ever slept in. Overall this hotel is on that I would look to book for a personal trip with my family - if you want to take your time and chill out this hotel is for you as it is very quiet and tranquil. Top class stay and service A*

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n13kct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

When presented with the opportunity to attend a special friend's birthday party in the other side of the Atlantic, we hesitated for about 3.5 seconds, and then quickly dove into the travel plans. It was literally a royal couple, our friend being the daughter of a Spanish Marquess (in fact his complete title was: and a Marquess of Tejada, Bailiff Grand Cross of Justice and Member of the Deputation of the Constantinian Order) was dating the Duke de Girona at the time, and for her 30th birthday, her boyfriend decided to celebrate a 4 day party at a medieval castle in the outskirts of Barcelona.

So in order to stay close to where the main festivities will be held, we booked a room along with many of the guests in the Hotel Arc de Monells.
This is place is nothing short of magical and spectacular, nestled in the medieval Catalonian town of Monells the building is a historical building made of stone but completely modernized inside with comfortable rooms and beautiful decor while maintaining its quaint and historical feel.

The service was always fantastic, as a matter of fact, on the night of the 18th Century ball, we were having trouble getting a cab to come out to pick us up and the concierge gracefully drove us to the castle not even accepting a tip.
Our room overlooked to roof of the new building which houses the dining area, pool and spa, a modern glass building with a lush green rooftop garden, it merges with the local scenery of green fields and beautiful forest perfectly well, without disturbing the feel of an idyllic place that you may find described in local folklore or tales.

Our life purpose is to return to Girona, an area where many professional bike riders call home because the terrain and the weather is perfect for training for the spring classics, we will come back with our bikes and definitely stay at the Arc de Monells.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maverick64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Gorgeous modern room with a balcony in a lovely old building. Beautiful grounds where we enjoyed lunch. Meals were very good and reasonably priced. Charming town. Although it is not the most inexpensive hotel, it is definitely worth its price. Absolutely would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcgwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed here on a bike trip through the Costa Brava and medieval Catalonia. The warm and friendly owner made us feel very welcome and at home. The setting was perfect; the building is from medieval times, but thoroughly and comfortably modernized with a beautiful swimming pool and lovely outdoor grounds. The owner Joe and his family and local friends worked at the hotel, and we got to know them all. Their warmth added so much to the stay, and made everything relaxing and pleasant. The food was superb, and an especially welcome treat after some long bicycling days. We especially enjoyed the breakfast breads and pastries- excellent quality!
Monells itself is a very quiet and picturesque medieval stone village, small and fun to walk through.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outdoorsyemptynester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamphire, England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2008

We'd been in Catalonia for a few days already but were desperate for a bit of luxury (having mistakenly booked ourselves into a little cheapy hostellerie). We happened upon Arcs De Monells and fortunately they could accommodate us for 2 nights. The hotel is split into two: the old brick house and new ultra modern add-on which looks a bit like tele-tubby land! We stayed in one of the modern add-on rooms. It was very comfortable and spacious. The decor is ultra-modern - just one big room which contains the sleeping area and bathroom simply separated with glass walls (the loo has frosted glass around it - fortunately!). The bed was absolutely huge and fairly comfortable, although nasty foam pillows marred our night's sleep. Outside you get your own private patio (if you stay in the modern rooms) with comfortable loungers and chairs. The patios overlook the lovely large lawn, dotted with Italian Cyprus trees and the tiered pool which is situated in front of the old part of the hotel. None of the patios are overlooked by another and each is separated from its neighbour's by full height stone walls. The garden is a real haven: there's virtually no noise except from the birds and so is really restful and peaceful.

The staff in the hotel were very nice and helpful, although most only spoke Spanish - however we got by and we barely speak a word. We were the only guests there on the first night and so it was a little ghost town-like. We mistakenly ate in the restaurant - the food was fresh but very average. Breakfasts were generous and adequate.

The hotel is situated just 20 metres away from the small and beautiful town square - with 3 restaurants, so that provided a solution to lunch and dinner on day 2. The ancient town is very small but perfectly formed - no shops, just a few restaurants - but in the middle of the gorgeous Catalonia countryside, and just a 20 minute drive to the breathtaking coastline.

I'd recommend this if you want to experience real Catalonia away from the busy coastline.

  • Liked — Spacious, clean, comfortable and peaceful
  • Disliked — Hotel restaurant isn't good enough
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SimoneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monells
2.5 mi away
El Raco de Madremanya
El Raco de Madremanya
#1 of 2 in Madremanya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Pepa Maca
La Pepa Maca
#3 of 3 in Monells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel El Cau de Papibou
Hotel El Cau de Papibou
#1 of 3 in Peratallada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Emporda
2.3 mi away
Hotel Castell d'Emporda
Hotel Castell d'Emporda
#1 of 1 in la Bisbal d'Emporda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcs De Monells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcs De Monells

Property: Arcs De Monells
Address: Vilanova, 1, 17121 Monells, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Monells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arcs De Monells 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Arcs De Monells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing