We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish classic charm”
Review of Columbus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Columbus Hotel
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spanish classic charm”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Comfortable and quiet with an excellent location by the beach and shops, bars and restaurants.
Friendly hotel staff who aim to please. If looking for relaxation, a high standard of cleanliness, attentive service and hospitality this is for you.
Good choice of buffet for breakfast and dinner, waiter service at lunch from set menu.
As the original hotel in the resort it has classic features which may not suit all tastes.
Jose the manager, and his team excel at going the extra mile for each guest, always courteous and smiling.

Room Tip: All top floor rooms give a good view, and each balcony affords some privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleenone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    42
    46
    36
    37
See reviews for
51
89
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We really liked the hotel. The beach is very close. Swimming pool is clean and warm. The menu was good. The hotel has a very convenient location. Very close Amusement Park (for adults and children). There is table tennis, billiards and mini playground. The friendly hotel staff.

Room Tip: Extra bed for a child does not restrict the movement of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikson_bti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Very Helpful staff in the hotel and the breakfast was very good. The situation can not be faulted with a skip to the beach and a short hop to the restuarants in the high street. The views from the balcony was lovely. So yes its scruffy and you can see how once it was 4 star probably when Abba were number one but it is a good choice despite the aging decor and multi purpose bath soap.

Room Tip: be sure to choose a balcony with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9chuckademus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This is a great hotel in a top location , it is not luxurious or fancy but comfortable . The air conditioning was not good enough for the middle of summer but the staff and location was excellent . We loved the beach nearby it is within a 2 minute walk and just beautiful , the hotel has a lovely pool area and a great family atmosphere . The rooms need refurbishing but all in all we enjoyed our time there . This is a great place if you have children with beaches , pools attached to the hotel , the shopping and restaurants are only 2 minutes away and a great night life is there to be had .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krasnoyarsk, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The hotel is very nice. Location, staff, room and food was wonderful. It is not luxurious but very cozy family hotel. I think correspond to 4 stars!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

So, most of the other reviews rant on about the rooms being old, etc, yes, the rooms are a little old, but very clean... So, let's think about what's important here, in a hot country next to a beach... the air conditioning works a treat, the hotel pool is secluded and ALWAYS have free deck chairs, the pool is VERY clean and not noisy at all, max of 3 or 4 people using it at one time. The hotel sits on the beach, 10 seconds walk. The breakfast is LOVELY, the staff are amazing, all very helpful. The manager, Jose, a top fella, make sure you say Hi to him when you are there, he'll give you some great advice about where to go eat and play.

We stayed in the Suite, a massive room with bedroom and living room and a huge bathroom and a jacuzzi, and a nice sea facing balcony. We spent no a lot of time in our room as we were out playing most of the time, but the time we did spend was great. And that's what it comes down to, if you are looking for a great little cosy hotel that looks after your needs with pretty OK rooms, this is the place, but if you are looking to stay in your room for long periods instead of playing out in the sun and sea, then well, maybe staying at home is a better option for you :)

We are a couple in our 20's. The hotel was perfect for us, not too large so all the staff recognised our faces each time we came or went.

Room Tip: Partial sea view or sea view...? ALWAYS sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charlie284658349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

really in need of some updating, not a great choice for us! We did not like it, for the price we paid we had expected more...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anabella12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Platja d'Aro hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Platja d'Aro hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aromar
Hotel Aromar
#16 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Els Pins
Hotel Els Pins
#5 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
272 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
#12 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#8 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#4 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Monterrey
MedPlaya Hotel Monterrey
#18 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Hotel

Property: Columbus Hotel
Address: Calle Lleida, 33, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Columbus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbus offers you everything you could want for a vacation with your partner or loved ones: beach, swimming pool, sunlight, balcony over the blue Costa Brava, shopping, daytime fun for the kids, nightspots nearby, full-service restaurant in the hotel and the peace and quiet that you deserve on your vacation. The Hotel Columbus has a spectacular garden measuring almost 3,000 square metres, the home to the swimming pool, sunroom, terraces and snack bar. The hotel also has other facilities like tennis courts, billiard, a kids pool, private parking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Eurostars, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Columbus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Platja D'Aro, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing