We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing holiday and wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silken Park Hotel San Jorge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday and wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I cannot speak highly enough of the staff and service we received at San Jorge in September when we were married. I'm not quite sure the hotel knew what to expect when 80 english people arrived over the course of three days to celebrate our wedding, however they could not have been more accomodating and completely embraced the atmosphere.

The hotel is set on an idylic cliff with access to two small private beaches which are just beautiful, the pool is a good size and overlooked by a modern spa. The hotel facilties are all of a good standard, we had stayed in an incredibly large suite with balcony overlooking the sea, the view was amazing.

Our wedding day was fantastic, the staff at San Jorge and in particular our wedding planner Santi worked so hard to ensure we had our perfect day. But maybe most importantly food was incredible!

Room Tip: Ask for sea or a shore room, there are some cheaper rooms at the front of the hotel but they overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    532
    127
    40
    23
See reviews for
281
930
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

I have been in this hotel two times:
First time we stayed one night in a weekend in January 2011. We had a nice spacious and refurbished room above the lounge of the hotel, with great views on the beautiful beaches. Service and food in the restaurant and the breakfast was outstanding. In the low season promotion that we had booked a short stay of an hour in the spa was included for free. As we were the only guests, they did not mind that we stayed a bit longer.

The second time when came back in June 2011 we stayed two nights, but we were a bit disappointed. We got a room in the older part of the hotel. These rooms are smaller and do not have a direct view on the beach. They do have a terrace. When we arrived there was no soap nor shampoo in the room, and we had to ask twice before they brought some. The service in the restaurant and breakfast seemed very chaotic and was not as good as in our previous stay. The dinner buffet (no menu this time) had very little choise and the quality was mediocre. During the breakfast the personnel was not very friendly. They clearly had difficulty to refill the buffet on time, all the time things were missing.

Having said all this, I still believe it is a nice and quiet hotel on a beautiful location and perfect if you want to enjoy the Costa Brava for some days. But better come in low season.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smartyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

However, the hotel did not live up to expectations. We traveled by car from Barcelona to Coasta Brava, and had a little trouble finding the hotel. Our room was good with a good view, but our traveling companions had no view and were able to change rooms. I felt we were being "charged" all the time...........a safe in the closet, but one had to pay to get key to use......beach towels for pool and beach, but one had to pay at the desk, and return to the desk each day for a new towel. Breakfast was average, and dining staff did not keep up with the demand for certain items. Dinner buffet was below average..............quality of food was not what we expcted from a Silken property.........certainly not 4 star. We did have a good pizza in the bar one evening, though!

Room Tip: be sure to ask for upper floor with a view of the Sea, as most rooms have paitios or balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandymm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We have just returned from a week's holiday at the Sans Jorge. We were very pleased with most aspects of the hotel but did feel a couple of things let it down. There was a safe in the room but you had to pay to use it?? Also had to pay to park in the hotel's car park? We had to pay though as there is no where else to park!! Breakfast is served in a room which is clearly not big enough when the hotel is full. Very hard to get round the room and sometimes dufficult to find a cleared table. Food wasn't always kept 'topped up' and you had to ask for things. Also the food was not laid out very sensibly (cereals one end , spoons the other etc.). which resulted in a lot of wondering about looking for things. The staff did their best but there wasn't enough of them to cope. Our bathroom also need a bit of TLC although not awful. Having said all this, the hotel is very clean everywhere. Lovely bed linen and towels. The pool was lovely and the staff were very helpful and always spoke when passing. Overall, we were pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: Try to get on the top floor otherwise you get some noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenSanJorge, Director de Recepción at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
We always take in high consideration all our customers reviews and comments, taking measures to solve existing problems and trying to improve our service.
Regarding this opinion we must explain that safe deposit boxes are on rental due to an old contract made many years ago with an external company that we are trying to cancel, as our wish is to give this service with no extra cost to our guests. We are glad to inform you that it seems that is going to be arranged shortly and this service would be free from beggining of next season.
About parking fee, as already explained in previous comments our parking is secured with card access, security cameras and surveillance during night hours. The cost is 8 or 10 euros depending the season, but the clients always have the option to park in a free spacious area just in front the hotel, one minute walking distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

I was very disappointed when I was given my room after checking in. The room lacked some basic amenities one expects from a four star hotel (e.g., no deposit safe; no furniture on which to put luggage; no wall decorations; no where to put the shower gel inside the shower cubicle; and no wifi) and instead of the ocean view that I was promised I found myself 'burried' in a room with a sizeable ground terrarce with a low wall (but no view) and a road that practically went up and round my terrance. I really felt unsafe in spite of staff assurances that there were security cameras 'guarding' my terrace.

Another thing which I did not expect was that the lift does not cover all areas of the hotel ... so travel light if you're planning to visit this hotel as you'll be doing a lot of carrying!!

When I complained about my room, the reception staff were initially not very receptive to my pleas and even suggested that I had been given a free upgrade!! But when I inisted with the hotel manager that my room was not aceptable he promised that he'll move me to another room with a view the next day - which he did. I found the new room quite satisfactory with excellent beach views!! I must say that I even got complimentary wine and a small discount for my inconvenience which I appreciated.

Breakfast was very good!

The two public beaches underneath the hotel are great!

The hotel has great location but is not, in my view, four star ... I found it a definitely overpriced three star hotel. Pity!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenSanJorge, Quality director at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
All our rooms are fitted with safe deposit box and wi-fi free area is available in common areas and almost all rooms. The hotel has security cams and and every access is controlled and secured. Our rates change depending of occupancy level, so in summer season the prices are obviously higher than low season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALTA - EUROPE
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Hotel is located just above two lovely small sandy public beaches and views are spectacular. The common parts of the hotel itself are what one expects from a 4 star hotel and breakfast was okay. The problems started as soon as we entered our room.

We are writing to show our disappointment with the rooms we have been assigned on check-in. We spent our first night in a sub-standard room, with the following shortcomings:

1. No safe in room
2. No sea views when we specifically asked for ocean rooms with sea views - reservation was made nearly 2 months ago
3. No shelving whatsoever in shower cubicle
4. No wifi in room - in 2011 in a 4 star hotel?!
5. No mirror in room except in bathroom
6. Shower curtain is a very cheap accessory for a 4 star
hotel - rod is not even attached to wall - spring type
7. Water pressure is not adequate and moving shower head around changes the water temperature drastically from normal to very hot - this is a quite serious safety issue
8. Drinks in mini bar are not cold - ie. not working
9. Nowhere to place luggage except on floor
10. For electricity in room we have to use card for beach towel!
11. Floor is not cleaned properly - paint drops are still scattered around
12. There is a security issue - too close to road level - very easy to break into our rooms
13. Walls are completely bare - except for TV - no pictures, as if someone just finished painting it and had no time to re-fit.

Our conclusion is that this room should have never been given to us in the first place because, as hotel manager confirmed, they have been recently renovated - too
recently in our view since they are far from the basic standards required in a four star hotel. When we complained (even by email) we were given another room for the following 2 nights - what I still fail to understand is how the manager still tried to convince us that the original room we were given was a free upgrade!

The room we were given for the final 2 nights had sea views - the problem was that this room was very tired and in need of serious renovation. Do you expect to find broken tiles and corroding fittings in bathroom, an exposed main power switch, damaged furniture surfaces, or torn and stained curtains in a 4 star hotel? I surely don't.

Please note that we just spent the last 3 nights at the Silken Ramblas in Barcelona and none of the above issues were a problem - rooms had everything you expect from a 4
star hotel.

I cannot understand how this hotel has so many good reviews - I chose to stay here just for that reason - probably they have different rooms for different people. I will never return to this hotel and I would strongly suggest to anyone to look elswhere when booking a hotel in this region.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SCERRI_RUNCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenSanJorge, Quality director at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
We highly appreciate our customers reviews and comments, taking them as an opportunity to improve, taking the measures to solve the problems and never repeat them. Once said that, we cannot accept tendencious reviews or false pictures used in bad purposes. Thousands of clients visit our hotel every year, most part of them repeating the experience, and even though that things can always be better and that we are keeping learning and trying to improve, we proudly can say that our customer global satisfaction level is more than 80%. Our commitment is keep on growing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
333 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

What makes this hotel special is its location. It is situated in a stunning position - overlooking the Mediterranean between 2 beautiful, clean coves, and away from the built-up tourist areas of Platja d'Aro.

We stayed in one of the suites (2 adults, 2 children aged 7 and 11), which was comfortable for a family of 4. The reception staff speak (at least) spanish, french and english. The pool is large, clean and beautifully located.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahSydney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platja d'Aro
0.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#3 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
6.0 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#8 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bell Repos
Hotel Bell Repos
#4 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Park Hotel San Jorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Park Hotel San Jorge

Property: Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Address: | Avinguda Andorra, 28, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#3 Family Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Silken Park Hotel San Jorge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a stunning spot in the Costa Brava, rising over two cristal-clear water coves surrounded by pine trees overlooking the blue immensity of the Mediterranean Sea, Silken Park Hotel San Jorge offers updated facilities featuring an outdoor area, swimming pool by the sea, meeting rooms, Spa, restaurants, lounge bar... The ideal place to enjoy a relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Silken Park Hotel San Jorge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Park Platja d Aro
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge Platja D'Aro, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing