We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lights and Shadows”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed in a supreme suite that is large and very well equipped and fairly well decorated with a magnificent terrace overlooking the the sea : staying here I believe the hotel is much different than staying in other accommodation types. Be aware that there are some standard rooms overlooking the parking on the back with no balcony so you have to choose wisely in order of not being disappointed.
Also a nice touch for the suite was a personalized welcome message of the director together with a L’Occitane product box gift.We also found a Nespresso type coffee machine with an ample range of coffees to choose from. Very strange was founding L’Occitane toiletries in the bathroom but this was just for…the arrival day ! After that we received standard hotel toiletries : this was really incredible and never seen in other hotels worldwide : each hotel choose the toiletries brand accordingly with its category and this offer is on a daily basis. They say that this was also a welcome present…to me this was pure economy on more expensive toiletries !
The hotel is magnificently located in an unbeatable position on a cliff overlooking two small coves, in a quiet location and at the same time just a ten minutes walk from the Platja d’Aro center.
The beaches, located just downstairs are public and very crowded because there are no private beaches in Spain by local law. Anyway the swimming pool is large and overlooking the sea. The only drawback is that the swimming pool and its surrounding area is open from 10 to 18. Just 8 hours in peak season…banking hours ? At least the swimming pool area should stay open longer in a 4 stars superior hotel .
The buffet breakfast is adequate to the four stars superior category of the hotel.
The restaurant offers, at a fixed price of 25 euros, quite good meals : they offer a buffet for salads and hot and cold appetizers changed daily . For main course and desserts you order a’ la carte that even not being that large, offers dishes that are freshly made,well presented and very tasty . Also the prices of wines and the bar list are correct and not too expensive.
And now …the shadows,what is not so good : details are not well looked after and this is not good for the new “superior” category of the hotel , after all the difference is in the details and here they are not attentively overlooked . But the worst drawback of this hotel is that the people working there seems unhappy , they rarely smile ( other than few at the reception and the very kind young girl at the swimming pool, the “ socorrista” ) and they are simply not so kind : this is the hospitality industry and they simply don’t know where to begin to really please the Guests (or, at least Guests used to stay in 4 superior or 5 stars hotels ). I worked in this industry for an entire life, so I know what I’m speaking about .
In the restaurant at dinner sometimes waiters and waitresses speaks and laughs each Others and no problem for this but they should also smile and be kind to Guests (may be I’ve seen a smile or two in a week in the restauran t) . Also, they seems completely uninterested in their jobs…and the young people making here their hotel stages unfortunately follows this same style , unaware that this is not the right way to do the job .The Maitres D’s (or so-called…) shouldn’t point out the table to the arriving Guests but they should accompany them to their tables .They never came once to our table in a week asking if everything was ok for us (but had time to speak each Others...).
For this last reasons, yes, the hotel is nice , the location also an the suite too , but there are so many hotels in the Mediterranean with similar characteristics to choose from BUT WITH HAPPY AND SMILING PEOPLE WORKING IN seeming to really enjoy their jobs and I don’t see why I should come back here UNLESS I’m sure that they have corrected and changed this situation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank happyalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We regret that your stay was not of your full satisfaction, as we would have wished. At this time of the season the occupation level and room price is the highest of the year, therefore also the level of demand from our guests. Despite our efforts, we are aware that there have been details that could be improved, as you mention, but it is also true that most of our customers appreciate precisely the sympathy and attention of our staff. We will continue to work for excellence in service and we will correct any errors made, hoping that you can come back to check it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 1,851 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is one of the oldest hotels on Costa Brava and it shows despite reforms. For example, the shower lacked water pressure and the temperature control wasn't working properly either. But we chose to stay there because of its location which is hard to beat.

We had a perfect view overlooking two small beaches both of which were a very short walk down the steps from the terrace area. We also enjoyed the contrast between the two beaches: one has all the facilities (sunbeds, parasols, shower) and an excellent outdoor restaurant, whereas the other has none of the facilities and the beach gets deep much more quickly. There are, by law, no private beaches in Spain but these are as close to 'private' as you are likely to get.

The town of Plaja d'Aro is 10-15 minutes walk away with plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alberginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

We are proud to be one of the first (oldest) hotels in the Costa Brava, therefore we have this unique situation and this special building arquitecture that always keeps a feeling of relax even when the hotel is fully booked. We have renewed all rooms and installations but keeping the classic decoration, maybe it makes you remember old times but it is highly appreciated by most part of our regular customers. Thank your very much for your visit, we look forward to see you in a next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hotel is nice enough but didn't like the surrounding town and were rather surprised by our bill at the end of stay. They possibly should increase chemicals in pool, my daughter caught a nasty ear infection and hadn't swam in sea because my son fell on rocks on beach and ended up with stitches in his knee, so we remained pool bound for the rest of our stay. Unlikely to return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMMBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

We regret that, despite our efforts, your stay was not as satisfactory as we would have liked. The high occupancy at this time with the exclusivity of this area on ​hearth of ​the Costa Brava means that the price level is the highest of the year, therefore also the level of demand for our guests. Regarding your comment about the water in our pool, we assure you that it is daily controlled by our technicians as well as periodically by an approved external laboratory, and the analytical is on optimal parameters for public use. This has also been accredited by the inspectors of our regional Government who annually review our pool facilities. We look forward to have the chance to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We wanted to stay in a quality hotel in the north of Spain to allow us to include a visit to France during our stay, we were not disappointed. We arrived late around midnight but having advised the hotel we may be late they had saved us a cold banquet supper for us to enjoy on our arrival. The room was not as large as we would have liked but adequate and with a superb sea view, not miles in the distance but close enough to hear the waves lapping on the beach.
The restaurant is excellent. Although the menu was not extensive we were able to have something different on each of the 11 nights we stayed and the daily chef's specials were an extremely pleasant surprise. The evening meal was commenced with a choice of hot and cold starters, completed with a good range of desserts and complimented with a wide wine selection at very reasonable prices.
The hotel is located above a beautiful beach with it's own "Island" and a very good beach bar. The beach and sea were clean and good for snorkelling. There is a coastal path which goes to Platja D'Aro in one direction and all the way to Palamos in the other.
The only disappointment was the lack of bars locally meaning a 15 minute walk into the town. Having said that the hotel bar was reasonably priced with friendly staff.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AndyAnnPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you very much for your visit and your kind contribution. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you can visit us soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights. The hotel reception is welcoming and efficient. We had a balcony seaview over the pool. great views with its own private beach. The buffet breakfast has an incredible choice for all tastes, as much as you like. The rooms are fairly large and very clean and comfortable and quiet. This is mainly because the pool is closed from 6pm to 10.00am.
Drinks were a little pricey. All staff were very helpful. Would definetly go back without hesitation

Room Tip: have a sea view, not the busy car park, it can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bedandbreakfast48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

This feeling of tranquility and relax is one of the points that our customers value from this hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Went here for a day for lunch and to use the pool. Liked it so much we are going back for a 4 day break. The hotel is lovely, the pool big and the beach superb. The beach can only be accessed by a lot of steps so. It easy for anyone not fit and able to walk. We had a bar meal and the food was excellent.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank janicemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

We are glad to read your kind review, we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel is in an idel location, you don't need to really leave the hotel, every thing you need is there, two semi-private beaches, a pool, kiddies pool, a spa. Easy access from hotel to the beaches, a terrace with beautiful views over the ocean.
Best advice make reservation for bed and breakfast only, the breakfast buffet is good, Dinner menu is limited, food not well prepared or presented.
Yes I would stay here again and would recommend it to young families or mature couples, it is a bit of a walk into town

Room Tip: Get a room with either a sea view or a balcony over looking the sea, the rooms at the rear of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

We appreciate your visit and your comments even though we do not share your opinion about our restaurant, since many customers would highly recommend it and they love our food. We hope you can visit us again and enjoy our good cuisine too, hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platja d'Aro
0.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
869 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#8 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#4 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
#12 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
439 reviews
6.0 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
727 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bell Repos
Hotel Bell Repos
#3 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Park Hotel San Jorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Park Hotel San Jorge

Address: | Avinguda Andorra, 28, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#2 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#2 Best Value Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#3 Family Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range: £49 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Silken Park Hotel San Jorge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a stunning spot in the Costa Brava, rising over two cristal-clear water coves surrounded by pine trees overlooking the blue immensity of the Mediterranean Sea, Silken Park Hotel San Jorge offers updated facilities featuring an outdoor area, swimming pool by the sea, meeting rooms, Spa, restaurants, lounge bar... The ideal place to enjoy a relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Silken Park Hotel San Jorge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Park Platja d Aro
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge Platja D'Aro, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing