We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”
Review of Hotel GHT Xaloc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel GHT Xaloc
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 June 2012

the location couldn't be better! it is a perfect place to have a quiet and lazy holiday. all the staff were very nice, food was good and it is super worth it. a small fridge in the room was the only thing we really miss.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabrielaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Xaloc in Platja d'Aro and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

its our last day at this hotel and i cant praise enough the staff and the service they offer. pls, but please, ignore all the negative feedbacks below. people dream about cheap and 5* hotels. this is an ideal place for those who want a good holiday next to the beach. the food is nice go for half board as you wont be disapointed. plenty to choose from. the staff is 5*. the room is cleaned DAYLY fresh sheets and towells ideal when u have a young family. the only negative is that the beach is a pebble beach and the rooms can be a bit noisy when is busy. but the hotel seems to be liked by older people and families alike so if you choose out of peak season this part of spain you can have a lovely time. june is ideal as the beach in s, agaro is sandy and shallow waters and its not crowded at all. pls avoid weekends as it can be hectic. in one phrase i loved it and it was one of our best summer holidays. email me if u would like details and tips.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzana2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. 

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Xaloc in Platja d'Aro and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation. 

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert 
Commercial Manager
GHT hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The only thing that the Staff and the Hotel could not give us was sunny weather. The rest of our 8 day stay was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66clode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Xaloc, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Xaloc in Platja d'Aro and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Having just returned off holiday i felt I had to dissagree with the last review "Stay away at all costs". The hotel is quite small but we knew that before arriving and that was why we chose it, we wanted a quit relaxing break without rowdy party animals. It is 10 min walk to the town which was ideal for us, near enough to get to but far enough away to have peace and quiet. The rooms were big enough for what we required and were cleaned every day by very pleasant helpfull ladies, the pool and patio areas were also cleaned every day. The beds were a bit noisy as the mattress has a plastic protective cover and every time you moved it made quite a noise I found all the staff very helpfull even though language was sumtimes a problem we managed to understand each other in the end. I agree that the food was not the best and would have liked more choice and I did think it was a bit mean to charge for tea & coffee with the evening meal as i assumed non alcoholic drinks were included. I would have liked another British channell on the tv apart from CNN news but we didn't go there to sit in front of the telly.The situation is perfect, the beach is just a short stroll out of the back of the hotel, you can see it from the patio. We were the only British staying there at the time and most people were friendly.
Hotel Xaloc is a small hotel and is very quiet so if you want a lively partying holiday this is not for you. We chose it because of this reason and we were very happy and thouroughly enjoyed our holiday.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room with balcony, the view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josep_Gibert, Director of Sales at Hotel GHT Xaloc, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Xaloc in Platja d'Aro and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Could not write this review until now as were in legal case with Thompson which is now settled. The hotel is old and dated, The rooms grubbly/dirty/mouldy and so small had to spend the holiday walking around our cases. staff rude (except bar staff), We had to spend our first night listening to people having loud nocternal activities. The walls are paper thin. In the morning when we asked for a better room (or perhaps the room that was promised with a balcony by Thompson) the lady on the desk just laughed at our complaints and charged us for a better room. Which was no better just as noisy and had a leaking toilet (foul waste) but at least had a balcony. The food was ok, but if you are a Vegetarian watch out as they slip meat bits into their routine salad/pasat buffets without any warning, as my poor wife found out! In a nutshell its not 'Small and friendly' well its small! and to the best of my knowlage Thompson have removed it from their range. Thompson rep refused to visit site to help us and on return to the uk has to take them to court in order to get matters resolved. Just shows that using a well known holiday company does not assure you peace of mind. Both Hotel and Thompson appualing service. Will never use either again!

Room Tip: Sleep on the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dford-37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josep_Gibert, Director of Sales at Hotel GHT Xaloc, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Xaloc in Platja d'Aro and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

We are very sorry for the inconvenients you had at our establishment and with Thompson. Hotel Xaloc is a small familiar and charming hotel with some years on it's back. We agree this hotel is not "modern", but this, and specially it's awesome location, is what most of our clients enjoy and like. Maybe it wasn't the right hotel for you...

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Having read the reviews of other visitors to this hotel we drove 850+ miles looking forward to staying at this hotel for 2 weeks, big mistake!!!!!!! Trying to check in there was an argument ensuing between a french family and the manageress, more about that later, when we checked in we were told that we would have to pay for parking which was 12euros per day which wasn't mentioned in any of the descriptions, eventually we checked in and walking down the corridor was the most disgusting smell, like someone had mopped the floor with dirty water and tried to cover it up with bleach. We entered our room which had an overpowering smell of cigarettes, the toilet moved when you sat on it, the bedspread was dirty and smelt of smoke, after pulling this back the sheets were dirty and ripped with hairs, air conditioning was not working, we informed the manageress of our issues and nothing was done, she didnt seem interested at all as she was on her way home at 4.30pm!! she even thought the whole situation was funny saying it was a cheap hotel what do we expect, what we expect from anywhere we have stayed is cleanliness and helpfulness and friendliness which was certainly lacking in all departments, we asked about a remote control for the TV and was told there would be a daily charge(have you ever heard the like) we then asked in the bar for 2 glasses of water with ice and was told the ice was only for alcoholic drinks and to go down to the local supermarket and buy our own!! barman informed us there was a fridge behind reception we could use but again we were told that there would be a charge of 3euros per item to use it, by this time we had had enough and swiftly found another hotel and moved there, which we can recommend, Hotel San Jorge was everything Xaloc was not and nothing was too much trouble, not that we had any complaints at all. As with other people we do not usually write reviews but the hotel was so bad we wouldn't like others to experience what we did.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sasidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Xaloc, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

When this clients arrived to our Hotel Xaloc, the manageress was attending (not arguing) with a french family and afterwards the receptionist was attending them as usual we do with clients to do the check-in. It is very funny this clients only stayed in the hotel for few minutes and they are trying to disparage more than 40 years of work in a good way as so many clients confirmed coming to our house year after year (between a 15% and a 25% every season).
In our opinion this clients supposed all the extras (parking, fridge, etc., etc.) should be free and as soon as they knew it should be paying all the rest was disgusting. This clients reserved our hotel through a travel agency so we are not responsible if they got a wrong information about our free and paying services. We try to be kind with all our clients

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We always check Trip Advisor, when choosing a holiday and we felt because of the reputation some of Spain’s resorts have through being ruined by ‘certain elements’ of tourists, it would be difficult to find a nice quiet area that had a smallish hotel that had good reviews. On reading the reviews for Hotel Xaloc in Platja D’Aro, we decided this could be ’the’ one and we were not disappointed. The flight from Gatwick to Gerona took 1 ½ hours and we expected to join a transfer coach and be dropped off at our resort. However, the area we had chosen was not well known by British tourists (mosty French and Spanish) so we were surprised to be transferred in our own chauffer-driven Mercedes, arriving at the hotel 30 minutes later, which has the site of a historic Roman Villa right in front.
Andy greeted us at Hotel Xaloc’s reception desk with a smile and spoke excellent English. Most of the staff spoke English to some degree and were all very pleasant and helpful during our stay, explaining where to go and what to see. We booked a package deal through Thomson and had paid a little extra for a balcony, but did not expect one of the best rooms in the hotel on the top floor overlooking the sea. Hotel Xaloc only has 47 rooms on three floors, so we knew it would not be one of those noisy high-rise hotel blocks that caters for the masses. The hotel is right on the sea front, with only a few steps down to the beach and is located in a very quiet spot at the end of a fairly small shingle beach. The beach does get fairly crowded, particularly at weekends, but the hotel has a small pool that is 1.4 metres deep throughout with a Jacuzzi at one end and sun terrace with sunbeds and umbrellas, where we happily retreated to on most days. It was quite reassuring to watch the pool being cleaned daily, the sides scrubbed and water tests done. In fact the whole area of the hotel was well maintained and very clean.
Our room was quite small but adequate and everything was in good order with an air conditioner and flatscreen TV, but all channels are in Spanish, so it was pretty useless.
We went half-board, as we didn’t want the hassle of finding somewhere to eat every evening and were not disappointed. The food was buffet style and very good, with about 6 hot dishes and a huge salad bar each evening and a similar number of sweet dishes to follow. Being buffet, you not only had multiple choices but could eat as much as you liked, which was great! Breakfast was also adequate with hot and cold choices and a self-service coffee machine that dispensed coffee to die for! Wednesday night is barbecue night with an excellent live Spanish show on the terrace with Flamenco dancers, a guitarist and singer, all of which were very good.
Platja D’Aro is a small town which was geared for tourism and is clean and well maintained and literally riddled with restaurants if you chose to only go B&B. It only takes about 15 minutes to walk into the town, which has a beach running behind it the whole length. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Xaloc, with the only complaint being that the beds and pillows were rather hard. Our only disappointment was that Thomson had no rep in the area and no excursions, which we always enjoy. In fact, there was only one other British couple staying there during our week, the majority of residents being French or Spanish, so it appears to be not so well known by us Brits. The only excursions the hotel offered were some rather expensive ones to Barcelona, which we didn’t go on but booked a couple of boat trips on the sea front, to Sant Feliu and Tosse-del-Mar along the coast. On returning from visiting both, we decided that Pladja D’Aro was much nicer!

If you want a nice quiet and relaxing Spanish holiday on the Costa Brava, look no further than the Hotel Xaloc (the name apparently means a wind).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adrian&Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Xaloc, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Xaloc in Platja d'Aro and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Platja d'Aro hotels
0.4 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
#12 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#4 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
842 reviews
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Caleta Palace
H.TOP Caleta Palace
#20 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#9 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel GHT Xaloc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GHT Xaloc

Address: Cala Rovira 9, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range: £42 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel GHT Xaloc 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, quiet and cosy hotel in one of the spots on the Costa Brava, on the beach of Cala Rovira, with wonderful and unforgettable sea views. Hotel Xaloc is ISO 9001 -certified. Here, you can enjoy the peace and quiet of this lovely area while getting some rays on the beach and taking a dip in the Mediterranean. Its friendly atmosphere will make your stay truly pleasurable. You will wish that time could stop, so that you can enjoy this experience just a little longer. Hotel Xaloc accepts dogs (up to 10 kg in weight) at a moderate cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel GHT Xaloc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel GHT Xaloc Platja D'Aro, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing