We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Shambles”
Review of Hotel GHT Xaloc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel GHT Xaloc
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Total Shambles”
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Having read the reviews of other visitors to this hotel we drove 850+ miles looking forward to staying at this hotel for 2 weeks, big mistake!!!!!!! Trying to check in there was an argument ensuing between a french family and the manageress, more about that later, when we checked in we were told that we would have to pay for parking which was 12euros per day which wasn't mentioned in any of the descriptions, eventually we checked in and walking down the corridor was the most disgusting smell, like someone had mopped the floor with dirty water and tried to cover it up with bleach. We entered our room which had an overpowering smell of cigarettes, the toilet moved when you sat on it, the bedspread was dirty and smelt of smoke, after pulling this back the sheets were dirty and ripped with hairs, air conditioning was not working, we informed the manageress of our issues and nothing was done, she didnt seem interested at all as she was on her way home at 4.30pm!! she even thought the whole situation was funny saying it was a cheap hotel what do we expect, what we expect from anywhere we have stayed is cleanliness and helpfulness and friendliness which was certainly lacking in all departments, we asked about a remote control for the TV and was told there would be a daily charge(have you ever heard the like) we then asked in the bar for 2 glasses of water with ice and was told the ice was only for alcoholic drinks and to go down to the local supermarket and buy our own!! barman informed us there was a fridge behind reception we could use but again we were told that there would be a charge of 3euros per item to use it, by this time we had had enough and swiftly found another hotel and moved there, which we can recommend, Hotel San Jorge was everything Xaloc was not and nothing was too much trouble, not that we had any complaints at all. As with other people we do not usually write reviews but the hotel was so bad we wouldn't like others to experience what we did.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sasidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Xaloc, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
When this clients arrived to our Hotel Xaloc, the manageress was attending (not arguing) with a french family and afterwards the receptionist was attending them as usual we do with clients to do the check-in. It is very funny this clients only stayed in the hotel for few minutes and they are trying to disparage more than 40 years of work in a good way as so many clients confirmed coming to our house year after year (between a 15% and a 25% every season).
In our opinion this clients supposed all the extras (parking, fridge, etc., etc.) should be free and as soon as they knew it should be paying all the rest was disgusting. This clients reserved our hotel through a travel agency so we are not responsible if they got a wrong information about our free and paying services. We try to be kind with all our clients
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    70
    21
    4
    11
See reviews for
43
73
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, Wilts.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We always check Trip Advisor, when choosing a holiday and we felt because of the reputation some of Spain’s resorts have through being ruined by ‘certain elements’ of tourists, it would be difficult to find a nice quiet area that had a smallish hotel that had good reviews. On reading the reviews for Hotel Xaloc in Platja D’Aro, we decided this could be ’the’ one and we were not disappointed. The flight from Gatwick to Gerona took 1 ½ hours and we expected to join a transfer coach and be dropped off at our resort. However, the area we had chosen was not well known by British tourists (mosty French and Spanish) so we were surprised to be transferred in our own chauffer-driven Mercedes, arriving at the hotel 30 minutes later, which has the site of a historic Roman Villa right in front.
Andy greeted us at Hotel Xaloc’s reception desk with a smile and spoke excellent English. Most of the staff spoke English to some degree and were all very pleasant and helpful during our stay, explaining where to go and what to see. We booked a package deal through Thomson and had paid a little extra for a balcony, but did not expect one of the best rooms in the hotel on the top floor overlooking the sea. Hotel Xaloc only has 47 rooms on three floors, so we knew it would not be one of those noisy high-rise hotel blocks that caters for the masses. The hotel is right on the sea front, with only a few steps down to the beach and is located in a very quiet spot at the end of a fairly small shingle beach. The beach does get fairly crowded, particularly at weekends, but the hotel has a small pool that is 1.4 metres deep throughout with a Jacuzzi at one end and sun terrace with sunbeds and umbrellas, where we happily retreated to on most days. It was quite reassuring to watch the pool being cleaned daily, the sides scrubbed and water tests done. In fact the whole area of the hotel was well maintained and very clean.
Our room was quite small but adequate and everything was in good order with an air conditioner and flatscreen TV, but all channels are in Spanish, so it was pretty useless.
We went half-board, as we didn’t want the hassle of finding somewhere to eat every evening and were not disappointed. The food was buffet style and very good, with about 6 hot dishes and a huge salad bar each evening and a similar number of sweet dishes to follow. Being buffet, you not only had multiple choices but could eat as much as you liked, which was great! Breakfast was also adequate with hot and cold choices and a self-service coffee machine that dispensed coffee to die for! Wednesday night is barbecue night with an excellent live Spanish show on the terrace with Flamenco dancers, a guitarist and singer, all of which were very good.
Platja D’Aro is a small town which was geared for tourism and is clean and well maintained and literally riddled with restaurants if you chose to only go B&B. It only takes about 15 minutes to walk into the town, which has a beach running behind it the whole length. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Xaloc, with the only complaint being that the beds and pillows were rather hard. Our only disappointment was that Thomson had no rep in the area and no excursions, which we always enjoy. In fact, there was only one other British couple staying there during our week, the majority of residents being French or Spanish, so it appears to be not so well known by us Brits. The only excursions the hotel offered were some rather expensive ones to Barcelona, which we didn’t go on but booked a couple of boat trips on the sea front, to Sant Feliu and Tosse-del-Mar along the coast. On returning from visiting both, we decided that Pladja D’Aro was much nicer!

If you want a nice quiet and relaxing Spanish holiday on the Costa Brava, look no further than the Hotel Xaloc (the name apparently means a wind).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adrian&Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Xaloc, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Xaloc in Platja d'Aro and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Hotel Xaloc is situated at the northern end of Playa D'aro on the smaller Rovira Beach. The hotel is about 500 metres from the start of the town centre, shops and restaurants. It is about 35km from Gerona Airport.

On arrival we were met by helpful staff who understood English but struggled occasionally, a change to simpler words always helped the situation. A few words of spanish from us also helped bring down barriers and we were quickly given our room.

This is where we hit a slight problem. I did not book a sea view with balcony. The room we were given was overlooking the car park with no balcony. A dark and dismal affair, So back to Reception flash the visa card and we were given a good room with balcony looking over the hotel terrace, small pool and onward towards the Beach and blue inviting sea. It was not an expensive upgrade.

The room was very well air conditioned, which in July was very welcome. The beds were a little hard on our backs. TV is available but only in Spanish and one two channels in French.

You pay a E10 returnable deposit for the TV handset and E27 for the safe key (inc a E10 returnable deposit.) The safe is a essential for any holiday. The hotel bedroom doors have only got poor locks with no dead lock or chain, something that I believe needs upgrading.

The whole hotel is extremely clean and well looked after. The staff are attentive and care for the hotel and its guests.

We went half board but only ate breakfast and 2 dinners during our stay as we prefer to eat out in local restaurants. The breakfast were full of the usual and a bit of the unusual fayre that will be familiar to Spaniards. The breads were fresh, varied and delicious.

Dinners buffet style with a nice but relatively limited selection. The Wednesday night Barbeque during the summer are worth attending. The food was better than some of the local restaurants again displaying the familar chicken and pork with things like Boudin Noir, Chirizo, Salt cod, octopus and other salads. A flamenco cabaret added a little spanish favour to the evening along with few glasses of Rioja on the hotel terrace. On a warm summer evening who could ask for more.

The hotel bar has internet access a big TV and a good stock of brandy. The coffee is good as well. There is also a pool table.

The Beach is just out the back of the hotel it couldnt be any closer. The pool is small but with the sea 50m away who cares. The Beach is blue flag status. 2 Sunloungers and a parasol E15.

This hotel is hidden gem. If the owners invested a few thousand euros they could turn this into a 5 star boutique hotel and charge the earth for its location and ambience.

Bravo Hotel Xaloc you deserve 5 stars not 3 stars

I would recommend this hotel to people who do not want some tour operators idea of fun - bad entertainers, unruly kids and a non stop selling of their excursions.

It is peaceful. You are left alone to make your own entertainment and enjoy the Costa Brava summer glories.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank selwob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Xaloc, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. Your kind words fill us of joy and satisfaction. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

Please note that in the rooms TV you can choice the number of following channels: 2 in English, 2 in French, 2 in German, 1 in Italian and many others in Spanish. It is possible you did not found the way to get the English ones but you could always ask at the reception desk.

In the Hotel Xaloc in Platja d'Aro and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hailsham, east sussex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We arrived at the Xaloc Hotel and were greeted by friendly, English-speaking staff who couldn't have been more helpful if they tried. All week they were happy to offer advice and information on the local area, bus destinations and times,etc and really went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one. Our room had fantastic views over the bay - beautiful. It was spotlessly clean, if a little on the small side. Didn't notice a problem with noise from neighbouring rooms at all. Towels changed daily, sheets twice a week. Lovely 'singing' chambermaid! The hotel is very good for 3* - small and typically Spanish, really charming - much better than some of the nearby high-rise style. Food selection and quality was fine and we didn't feel we had to eat out in the evenings at all. Location-wise, the hotel is situated on a lovely sand/shingle beach - spacious, with a beach bar. The swimming pool is small but with all that sea on the doorstep it's not a problem! The hotel is in a quiet location, on the outskirts of Playa D'Aro which has a long promenade and lots of shopping facilities and restaurants. An upmarket feel with very few tacky souvenir shops etc. A mix of mostly French, Spanish and very few English in the resort. Buses to neighbouring resorts and Gerona. Recommend the coastal walk from S'Agaro to Playa D'Aro - stunning! No complaints about our holiday whatsoever..... (PS: Remote control for tv is a deposit of 10 euro's which you get back at the end of the week, and yes, you do pay to use the safe in the room, but this happens everywhere and was worth the small fee to us!)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Xaloc, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear guest,

We are very glad to thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Xaloc in Platja d'Aro and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

The hotel was basic and generally clean. The location was at the far end of Platja D'Aro and right on a small beach. My main complaint about the hotel was that it is an older building and has no soundproofing and it meant the rooms are very noisy. I could hear everything from next door rooms, and presumably they could hear me. This is completely unacceptable in modern hotels which have very good soundproofing. Also, the hotel advertises English speaking reception but they only spoke English when they wanted to and sometimes thay claimed they didn't understand. Also, the room facilities that they list are charged extra and they should make this clear. The phone in my room did not work and it was never fixed properlt. Also, the aircon didn't work and they claimed it was because I wasn't operating it correctly but they couldn't get it to work either. Al together, it was a bit of a Fawly Towers kind of a place.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotlandaboraod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Xaloc, responded to this review, 17 June 2010
First of all, we are very sorry if the receptionist didn't understand you, but you need to understand that there are language barriers and it's normal that they didn't understand some things. And, also, machines breaks sometimes, and they need a time to be fixed, specially for the aircon machines in the hotels, because they're very big and complicated to fix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

we have just returned from a week at the impressive xaloc hotel in the exclusive resort of platja d'aro.
the hotel is located on the edge of a very busy (expensive) resort.
you access one of the many lovely beaches via a few steps and a few yards away you find yourself on a busy, but very nice small sand/shingle beach.
to the left of the beach there are some steps witch take you on a wonderful coastal walk through some of the best scenery you could hope to find.
the hotel itself was clean ,and the staff were very friendly.
there is a small pool and a sunbed area where you can just chill and top up your tan whilst admiring the view of the beach and sea.
the only thing we found disappointing was the food.
sometimes you felt that the quality of the meat was poor.
and the same ingredients seem to appear in another format the following day.
there are a lot of restaurants in the town which is not far away.
if you want a resort that is cosmopolitan, where you can walk around without hearing, or seeing lots of British holiday makers.
this is the place for you.
for a nice evening out, stroll along the prom ( they have beach party's some nights) head into town and if you do want to just have a drink, try the bar oasis( run by a manchurian indian lass & her french partner) footy & curry.
or try the Irish bar set back of the main road.
all in all we had a great time and would recommend this hotel and resort

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank onionbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Xaloc, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Xaloc in Platja d'Aro and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Director of GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Platja d'Aro hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Els Pins
Hotel Els Pins
#6 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,704 reviews
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Caleta Palace
H.TOP Caleta Palace
#24 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#4 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
792 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
#15 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel GHT Xaloc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GHT Xaloc

Property: Hotel GHT Xaloc
Address: Cala Rovira 9, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel GHT Xaloc 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, quiet and cosy hotel in one of the spots on the Costa Brava, on the beach of Cala Rovira, with wonderful and unforgettable sea views. Hotel Xaloc is ISO 9001 -certified. Here, you can enjoy the peace and quiet of this lovely area while getting some rays on the beach and taking a dip in the Mediterranean. Its friendly atmosphere will make your stay truly pleasurable. You will wish that time could stop, so that you can enjoy this experience just a little longer. Hotel Xaloc accepts dogs (up to 10 kg in weight) at a moderate cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel GHT Xaloc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel GHT Xaloc Platja D'Aro, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing