We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honest review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of H.TOP Platja Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
H.TOP Platja Park
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Honest review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Right, if you pay £200 pp including flights for a 7 night 4 star All Inclusive break, go with realistic expectations.

There is always something to eat & drink, the variety of food is very very good (I put on 1/2 stone in just one week!) and you can get just about any type of drink you can ever want.

The rooms are kept clean and tidy on a daily basis and have everything you need. The beds and pillows are hard but if thats a problem, take your own pillows and that'll solve half the problem.

All the staff are great and always ready to help with anything.

The hotel is perfectly placed with a supermarket just a 1 minute walk turning left out of the front door. Do yourself a favour and buy the bottled water from the supermarket at 0.37c per 2l bottle rather than pay the hotels 2 euro charge for 1.5l (the only drink you have to pay for).

There are two amusements perfect for kids just a two minute walk turning right out the door. The first amusements you come across (indoor & outdoor) costs 1 euro a ride and PP's park (outdoor) just further along costs 2 euros a ride. PP's park is more exciting with bigger rides.

Platja has a water park (Aqua Diver) but if you are going to go here be aware that you cannot go down the slides with your kids - we have a two year old and apart from the really little slides we were not about to let her flee down the slides by herself. Because of this, we didnt enjoy the park as much as we should have. Saying that if you do decide to go, make sure you book online the day before you go for a 50% discount which is significant when 1 x adult costs 26.50 euro full price. Also, book a picnic at hotel reception or buy some snacks before you go otherwise you will be paying 12 euro for a single burger and 4 euros for a 330ml can of coke (we didnt pay this).

The hotel entertainment is a bit hit and miss, the Brasil Show is a must see and great fun, as is the lone singer (we forget his name) but we saw the man and woman guitar/singing combo twice as the hotel hasnt worked out how to rotate their acts so that guests dont have to see the same thing twice during their stay. Some of the live music was a bit rubbish. When they put a pants pulled upto his nipples piano playing guy on stage by himself, not singing just hitting the wrong notes of some really olde tune, we ran down to PP's park (cant believe this guy ended up being on for 3 hours!). Feedback was given so lets hope no one else has to endure this.

Every night there is a kids disco which is fab and they also do face painting once this finishes.

There was supposed to be a free shuttle bus running between all of the HTop hotels but we found out that this didnt include either HTop hotel in Platja D'Aro. Quite disappointing as we were looking forward to using the AI facilities in all of other HTop hotels along the Costa Brava. Saying that we did take a walk along the beach to the Calleta Palace which was nice although the food wasnt as varied as our hotel. The kids club in the Platja Park is also better than the one in the Calleta Palace with the staff more friendly and engaged.

The beaches in Platja are pebble beaches so it does hurt to walk on them but when you're finished a couple of brushes of your feet and they are clean.

This is a great hotel & a great place for a great price - dont hesitate, just book it and go!

Room Tip: Get room that is not pool facing unless you dont mind the entertainment just below your balcony unti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nick-Worboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    182
    143
    85
    94
See reviews for
240
180
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Well if I'm honest we had an amazing week. The staff are super friendly and couldn't do enough. The room was always spotless and the food surpassed my expectations. We went knowing it was a budget holiday and weren't expecting much, but we were blown away with the service and the stuining town and views. Would definitely go back there. At the end if the day, it's a cheap get away, with free food and ridiculously strong drinks. If you go expecting fine dining and 5 star luxury, this isn't the place for you and you should shell out a bit more, or go to Barbados lol. It's cheap, cheerful and just good fun. My only criticism is the pool is a bit chilly and the in house entertainment is a bit hit and miss, other than that, great fun had by all and made some lovely new friends.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danbob100545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Whilst I find reviews on this website helpful, when it comes to this hotel, I wonder what planet some people live on! For the price I paid, this hotel far exceeded my expectations. The building was Modern & clean with cheerful & helpful staff. No rubbishy tourist food - all good authentic Spanish. Not on the beach, but you could visit their other hotel that was and enjoy the All Inclusive facilities there, if you fancied a change. A lovely stay and would recommend to anyone looking for a good quality budget break.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dewdr0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

After reading the reviews on here about this hotel needless to say I was petrified however have been pleasantly surprised when I arrived

The hotel itself is around a 40 drive from girona airport

The hotel has a small pool and is freezing cold but the hotel itself and pool area is clean and tidied daily

The food and restaurant is basic but the food is of a good quality ( and I am usually really fussy )

My only criticism would be that if you are on all inclusive you can only eat at certain time i.e 8-10 for breakfast 1-3 for lunch 8-10 for tea and they don't do things like burgers and nuggets for kids

The staff are always friendly and are great with all the different languages.

Overall I was happy with this hotel
And the price I paid

4* it is not but value for money and overall satisfactory it was too.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafferty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Unfortunately we only spent 3 days at this hotel before being moved to the Caleta Palace due to this hotel closing. We found this hotel to be extremely comfortable with a lovely pool area with ample sunbeds and attractive bar and reception areas. The food was good with lots of choice and the waiting staff were very attentive. We had a large room over looking the pool with a very nice bathroom. Even though we enjoyed our stay at the Caleta Palace we preferred this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank staddon20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We got put here as our first hotel was closed, they tried there best to accomadate us as best as possible with a family of four, 2 twin beds put into a double bedroom, which is great if you have small children, on the other hand it's very clean, pool is great with a hotspot for sun and there is games room and kids club, we stayed for 3 days before moving to the right hotel, I don't think this hotel has family room but it was full when we arrived. The food is excellent and drinks and tapas at bar was great.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Klgray15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here in June 2011 all inclusive we had a great time, just right if you want a quiet holiday. The staff were very helpful rooms were cleand daily. I was worried about the food as I'm fussy but not once did I starve always something to eat. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chelbell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platja d'Aro
0.7 mi away
H.TOP Caleta Palace
H.TOP Caleta Palace
#26 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#3 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#72 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bell Repos
Hotel Bell Repos
#4 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
14.1 mi away
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
#85 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Platja Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Platja Park

Property: H.TOP Platja Park
Address: Avda Estrasburg 10, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#8 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Platja Park 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star H·TOP Platja Park hotel is a family oriented hotel, located in the lively city of Platja d’Aro, Costa Brava (north-east coast of Spain), and it is just 550 metres from a sandy beach. It is situated at 110 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 32KM from Girona Airport. Platja d’Aro is a fairly small town that attracts many tourists as it has many things to do for the entire family: shops, colorful cafes, traditional Catalan restaurants, and entertainment attractions including water parks (Aqua Diver), funfairs and playgrounds. The modern 208-rooms offer plenty of fun activities and relaxation comforts for adults and children. FACILITIES Rooms • Social room (ping pong, billard, etc. • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pool • Sun terraces Children • Miniclub (really is children's activity room ) • Baby cots and chairs Spa area • Sauna • Fitness room Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff Others • Facilities for guests with disabilities • Meeting & banqueting spaces • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service* • Medical service (external service) • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room) • Wi-Fi • TV plasma • Luggage storage (coin lockers) • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles* • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your H.TOP Platja Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Platja Park
H.TOP Platja Park Platja D'Aro, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing