We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 star hotel at the most”
Review of H.TOP Platja Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H.TOP Platja Park
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“2 star hotel at the most”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Okay, I know it is cheap, but people , believe me , you do not want to come to this place. Food - horrid, manager - super rude , literately called me names and send me to f...myself. Massive queues at the bar , to go for dinner, yes people you will queue for good half an hour to get into the restaurant. What they serve is horrible and the same everyday. All around is dull too, I honestly was happy only when we went to barcelona for a 2 day trip. Everything dies at midnight - no night life , only kids and moms and grandparents.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Tomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    190
    151
    88
    96
See reviews for
247
187
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Me my partner and my two children aged 2 and 8 stayed at this hotel in June 2013. I'm keeping this review short and sweet.
Our room was immaculate, nicely furnished, serviced every day bed linen changed every second day.

The bar served a wide selection of drinks for all inclusive a and a very small extra charge for baileys etc. The main bar is indoors but they do have a pool bar outside.

The restaurant is immaculate, there is a bar in there to get your drinks from while you are eating. Always lots of choice for every meal time, lots of fresh fruit, veg, bread, meat and fish my children are quite picky eaters but looked forward to meal times and we all ate well!!

The pool area is very well maintained. Their were plenty of sun loungers while we were there but we left towards end of June and it was starting to get busier. If you can't get a sun lounger you will defo get a chair to sit in as you will see on the pics inhave uploaded there is a big seating area between the restaurant and the pool and this is where you will enjoy your night time entertainment.

Entertainment was on every night we were there for one week and didn't see the same thing twice. They have a little kids disco on before the main entertainment which all the children there enjoyed, the girls who done the kids disco also run the kids club which was a god send. They have a seperate room for the kids during the day with books, activities and loads more, later in the afternoon they done arts and crafts in the outside seating area. The hotel staff stack up the sun loungers at about 7.30 and block the pool off with them to make more room in seating area and to keep you safe from the pool... Obviously :)

The hotel staff were all great. Really friendly and polite and happy to help with anything you needed. This hotel is a really great place especially for families it's about ten mins from the bars, restaurants and shops and 15-20 mins from the beach there's also a fun fare next to the hotel which made a nice trip out for a few hours. The hotel also has a massive gym and some of us do still like to work out... Even on holiday!!

I'd totally recommend this hotel iv just booked up to return here bin 4 weeks so happy days!!

Hope this helps and I hope you enjoy... I did!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank samxxoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights in July, all inclusive.

Pros:
- Food was plentiful and tasty. Lots of Spanish food.
- I thought most of the staff working with the kids tried hard to entertain them and did a good job
- I found the staff on the whole to be polite and professional. Cleaners were the most friendly.
- Good location, near town and 10 mins from beach.
- Can visit other H-Top hotel and drink for free [if all inclusive]
- Its got a gym! [needs updating a bit though]

Cons:
- My brother visited the sister hotel and noticed this was closed in April for a referb. What they actually fixed or painted i am not sure as they hotel is very dated.
- Aircon was rubbish.
- Rooms very dated and desperately in need of updating
- Pool small [funny to read on their website that they advertised this hotel as having a large pool].
- Totally mental in and around the pool as too many kids / parents jumping, chucking stuff about
- The lady at the poolbar needs special mentioning. We called her Speedy Gonzalis. She would take an age to do anything, often messing around with bottles instead of serving the long line of customers. Never a smile. Class act!
- The kids out door play area was very basic and again needed some investment.

All in all for the price it was ok. I've never done all in before, and found it a bit boring after about 5 days. I think next time I would spend more and get a better hotel. But this hotel is perfectly fine for a cheap deal.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel on the 3rd floor. This was fine as it was away from the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jez W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just home today after a week full board at this hotel, was nervous having read previous reviews but was pleasantly surprised. Its not four star as we know it BUT it is super clean ( rooms cleaned daily with fresh sheets and towels supplied), there were two adults and two children ( aged 10 and 12) in one room which was small but quiet so we all slept like logs. The staff in the restaurant could not be nicer and the food was superb at breakfast, lunch and dinner. My top tip would be to go all inclusive as full board does not get you any drinks whatsoever ( not even water). The area is lovely and plenty to do, 50 minutes to Barcelona and only 2 hours to France - super holiday but don't go expecting luxury rooms but food and staff wonderful !

Room Tip: No need to pay for parking as plenty of free parking on the streets outside !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just got back from 2 weeks at the Platja Park. We went half board...(breakfast/dinner).

Positives: Very clean and tidy. Quiet so got a good nights sleep. Shower is very powerful. Food is very plentiful and varied. Lovely 5 min walk to a huge central street which is buzzing with bars restaurants and boutiques. 10 min walk to beach which had the clearest water I have ever seen!
Beach bars which were lovely to sit at in the evening with some sangria and watch all the people go by! Very affluent place...never seen so many porches in 1 car park! Staff very helpfull!

Negatives: Was given a room that resembled a cell at first! Luckily had a balcony request on booking form so was moved straight away! Hotel rooms very dated/air con very poor. Lots of extra charges....safe/fridge/carparking. Drinks were very expensive both in and outside of hotel. No info given at all regarding pool times etc. Pool very small....people playing with footballs that always hit you on the head! No atmosphere in the evenings because staff never engaged with the children to encourage them to take part...which ment the adults didnt either! Long wait to buy drinks.

Conclusion: Great location and excellent value for the price. Not a place to go is you are looking for a lively time but great for relaxing! Hotel is very clean so a good base but it is what it is...quite down market. Beach is not sandy but found this to be ok because you didnt get covered in sand!
Would go again but maybe pay more for an upgraded hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 212 which over looked the pool. Dont take a room without a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Arrived back 25th July 2013 after 1 week all inclusive stay. Fantastic value for money, food excellent. Great choice available, put it this way, after returning home 7lbs heavier and at a loss to what to cook each day. I would definately go back.
I went with my mum and her friend and 3 kids, ages 18,12 and 8. The staff were all nice and friendly, rooms cleaned daily, quite basic but plenty of clean towels and hot water. What more do you want, we were hardly in the room. The beds were comfy, only noise first few nights were the seagulls flying over. We did not have a pool view, when we enquired it was 20 euros a night extra.
It is a classy resort, not many English, fantastic for shopping, my girls loved the many boutiques on the main road. We were amazed how big the resort actually was. The promenade is wide and flat, with fabulous views. We walked about 15 mins every day up to the other sister hotel Caleta Palace, and stayed there all day as it was on the beach. This is a better location, but at least we could use the facilities, and the lunchtime meal was second to none. You could not fault it, good local beer and wine and drinks and snacks all day long. It was quite nice to walk back to our hotel to get ready for evening dinner and light entertainment. There was a slight wait at the small bar, but this was part of the fun, chatting to people in the que.
If you want to hire a bike, you can pay a returnable deposit and so the kids hired bikes for free, this was good. The only thing is shop around for the shuttle bus prices, the service is excellent door to door, no waiting and a short transfer. I have never been on all inclusive before but would definatley return and also try htop hotels again. Great value for money in July.

Room Tip: When we arrived we asked to change rooms for a pool view but that was a extra 20euros per night, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YMK95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just got back from a 4 night all inclusive stay . Room décor dated but cleaned daily . Our room had a small balcony overlooking the pool . A small pool , very deep at one end , with sunbeds all around . Need to be quick to get a towel on them , doors open at 8am . 2 bars , one poolside and one inside . Poolside open 10am - 7pm , inside one 10am - 12am . Inside one gets busy in the evening but I could get 4 drinks with 2 cards at a time , so a little queue isn't too bad . Branded drinks not included in the all inclusive , there's an extra cost ( not too expensive ) but the drinks available are fine . There's a cocktail of the day which changes every 24hrs and the blue lagoon is highly recommended ! The restaurant is large and meals are of a good quality . Normal all inclusive fayre , lots of chicken ; fish , pork . Plenty of choice , certainly no chance of going hungry . Kids catered for : pasta , chips etc . Can have a bottle of red wine or water with dinner and can take it to the room after if you wish , nice touch . Breakfast is a mixture of continental and English . Pancakes and omelettes are wonderful , and 5 different sausages too .
Evening entertainment is interesting ! Not great but still funny . Majority of guests are Spanish followed by a large amount of French . English are definitely in the minority and it's all the better for it . No rowdiness or drunken idiots , just lots of families and couples having a good time .Friendly staff , ask for drinks in Spanish and they like that you're trying even if it is with a terrible accent !
Hotel is a 10 min walk from the beach . Loads of small shops , nice restaurants and bars . Not at all tacky . The H Top Calleta Palace , a sister hotel , is directly on the beach and we spent a lovely day on the shingle beach which is great for snorkelling with the added bonus of free drinks ( take your card ) just yards away !
I'd never heard of the resort before but would definitely recommend it and the hotel for a cheap break in a lovely area . We flew to Barcelona and had a hire car for the 1.5 hr trip to the hotel , cheaper than the transfers that were on offer and more fun .
So if you fancy a break in a less well known area with lots of local food and beautiful scenery try Platja D'aro , I'm glad we did .

Room Tip: Arrived quite late 6:30 , was given room 313 . Pool view , small balcony . Air con not brilliant but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platja d'Aro
0.7 mi away
H.TOP Caleta Palace
H.TOP Caleta Palace
#24 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
1,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#4 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
363 reviews
14.1 mi away
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
#90 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bell Repos
Hotel Bell Repos
#3 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
636 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
1,653 reviews
14.4 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#68 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Platja Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Platja Park

Property: H.TOP Platja Park
Address: Avda Estrasburg 10, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Platja Park 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star H·TOP Platja Park hotel is a family oriented hotel, located in the lively city of Platja d’Aro, Costa Brava (north-east coast of Spain), and it is just 550 metres from a sandy beach. It is situated at 110 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 32KM from Girona Airport. Platja d’Aro is a fairly small town that attracts many tourists as it has many things to do for the entire family: shops, colorful cafes, traditional Catalan restaurants, and entertainment attractions including water parks (Aqua Diver), funfairs and playgrounds. The modern 208-rooms offer plenty of fun activities and relaxation comforts for adults and children. FACILITIES Rooms • Social room (ping pong, billard, etc. • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pool • Sun terraces Children • Miniclub (really is children's activity room ) • Baby cots and chairs Spa area • Sauna • Fitness room Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff Others • Facilities for guests with disabilities • Meeting & banqueting spaces • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service* • Medical service (external service) • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room) • Wi-Fi • TV plasma • Luggage storage (coin lockers) • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles* • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your H.TOP Platja Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Platja Park
H.TOP Platja Park Platja D'Aro, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing