We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap cherful but enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H.TOP Caleta Palace
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
City of London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cheap cherful but enjoyable”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Ok so here we go again, when we first arrived thought we had hit Butlins at feeding time. Our room was facing the car park but we did not stay there for long, there was a strong must smell so a trot along to reception for a room change, they had smiles but you could see this upset their routine. well the next room( OH yes there is more) we found out in the middle of the night was directly above the entrance to the bar/club so was kept awake by music and loud noise. so in the morning we went again to reception and they promised they would sort us out while we went to breakfast. well when we went to our new room on the top floor we where pleasantly surprised, they had given us a suite that overlooked the beach and pool and had a balcony. so for starters if you are persistent you will get the room that you paid for.
Food ! now this was all inclusive and of course if in Rome etc. some of the food was quite specialized ( I wouldn't eat it ). However the majority of the food was of a very acceptable nature and you will never starve. as with all hotel pools you have to fight to get a poolside lounger, it has big signs saying "No Reserving" however I saw it going on a 6 in the morning from our balcony. cannot understand why, as you have a brilliant sandy beach and the sea. Nice walk into the town along the beach and rocks or along the main street, lots of restaurants on the main drag and promenade, however beware of McDonald not sure if they saw me coming but two burger meals came to 23 Euro. Transport, the buses are not that often but they do run to the time table from the bus station about a 20 minute walk from the hotel. out of the main entrance turn left and keep walking you will see it on the right eventually. trains are just as reliable however keep an eye on your wallet, mine went missing on the train!. lots to see if you wander, we went to the Dahli museum and his wife's castle. each is a day trip. So if you keep an open mind, enjoy trying different food you will certainly enjoy this hotel, I would go back there for another two week trip.

Room Tip: As I always say, look at the room before accepting it, if you are not happy asked to be moved it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TeslaCityofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    302
    279
    150
    179
See reviews for
460
330
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We booked a last minute deal with icecreamholidays for myself, partner our toddler and my in laws. Four adults and 1 child flew from Leeds Bradford all inclusive with transfers and 2 hold bags 1,214. A very good deal.
When we arrived the staff was very friendly. We had requested ground floor as my mother in law has trouble walking far but we were on a higher level. The hotel had lifts so this was fine.
The pool was ok in size but was absolutely freezing I only got into it on the very last day.

We all thought the food was fine their was always plenty of choice and for one of us travelling a fussy eater had no problems at all. Breakfast were the best, fresh bread, meats, cheeses, omelettes. Plus cereals and all the usual cooked breakfast stuff.

We'd take something with us for little one during the day and it was never a problem.
The staff in the restaurant were lovely and my little boy was calling one of the waiters his friend, they really took what time they had to make a fuss of him and they were always super busy.

There was is a kids club but didn't think much to it at all we took him in one day to do crafts ect but was only two other children in there, Spanish and the young lady running it didn't really acknowledge we were then. My son enjoyed drawing ect so suppose can't complain.

Our room was good, good size and kept clean every day.

My only real issue was the evenings, the entertainment was ok but the seating area was horrid. If you hadn't skipped tea and got a decent seat out of around 20 by 6 o clock you were stuck behind a wall inside or stuck outside. The bar was a joke in the evenings we would que for around 20 minutes no lie. But if a rude French or Spanish person were to jump straight to the bar they were served. Knowing all of this we were still only allowed one drink at a time which was gone fast from their thin cups. I am a big drinker but we were there as a family so we weren't interested in drinking a lot or I would of played hell.


All in all we had a lovely holiday as a family and were well fed and relaxed. Definitely worth the money

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toni n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a cheap week for half term and found it through on the beach £1100 for a family of four!!
When the other family travelling with us got their room we were pleasantly surprised doors separated a bedroom from the main area and big balcony!

Then we went into our room..... It was like a school form 4 beds in a row one of which I had to move to get the door open to the balcony! I stood on the balcony and could touch either wall with my hands when stretching my arms out it was like a match box!!

The restaurant well that's another matter food was inedible veal pork fish and more fish either under cooked or cooked to death!! The so called snack bar was clearly food left over from lunch and dinner( we saw them take from restaurant to snack area) dried out and cremated and covered in flies free of charge.
The drinks at the bar were served in awful plastic beakers and queues were often 10-15 mins long I'm not a big drinker and even I could drink from morn till night with no effect it was like dish water!!! The bar staff thru the day were sociable till the night time and you got the two miseries off the muppets who made the rules up about drinks quantities per person to suit themselves!!
I have never written a review before but felt the need this time this is the second time I've stayed in this chain of hotels and deffo won't be a third they are dire to say the least. If the weather is good the kids were fine as pool area was lovely fab location but we had 3 days cold and they were bored to tears. Kids club was garbage as was the entertainment on an evening !! The noise in the hotel was horrendous several times we had to get up and ask people to be quiet which didn't make for a restful half term I'm not picky I usually go self catering so I'm used to basic but this was the pits!!!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Claireivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Platja d'Aro hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

From the start to finish of our 5 day trip the staff were excellent. We went for an end of summer break and on arrival were instantly impressed by the hotel. The large, clean marble floored reception area, with sofas and tables looked great.

We were checked in quickly and as request had sea views and a balcony. The rooms were within an apartment which was clean and basic.

The food was always fresh with a good choice on offer. The staff in the restaurant do not stop! As soon as plates were emptied they cleared them and as soon as a table was empty the cloth was changed and relayed for the next people.

The pool area was pretty clean, although as it was the end of the season was looking a bit tired. I certainly don't envy the cleaners though, with the falling leaves, food left and empty glasses left by people!

All in all, despite the not-so-great weather, it was a lovely few days, I would definitely recommend the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank louise1981000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Well, where do I start in no way is this hotel a 4 star hotel,we booked for a week in half term myself my partner two kids and the mother in law. Our family room was ok, quite big, sea view no complaints there.Mother in law had to change due to her toilet not working, she was moved to a room that had faulty electrics (light not working) she said it was very noisy where she was kids running in corridors till early hours. Rooms look quite dated. We booked through on the beach website which lists amenities at the hotel that don't exist ! hair dressing salon,zen garden,library,supermarket art gallery and tennis courts, which were being used as a car park.Asked at reception about these missing amenities to be told they were taking the matter up with on the beach. Not a lot for the kids to do pool table out of order all week,arcade machines not really suitable for kids (punching game and arm wrestling game).Also excursions listed on website not being run during winter.
Now as for the food it is disgusting, I have never seen such a horrible pile of rubbish in all my life. Breakfast consisting of horrible fatty bacon, tinned hot dog sausages, stone cold fried eggs selections of cooked meat and cheap cereals.Dinner and evening meals also disgusting Veal,Shark Venison, Pork all either overcooked,under cooked or covered in a vile salty cold sauce dodgy stomachs all round all week. Nothing for the kids to eat all week they survived on chip butties,thank god for the McDonald's down the road.As for the snack bar it looked like it had been there all week the freshest thing on there was the flies! Honestly I think prisoners get better food than that crap. Location is good nice area plenty of restaurants (you will need them) it's about a 2 hour coach drive into Barcelona.Overall this hotel spoiled what was otherwise a good holiday never stay there again in fact i'ts made me feel sick just recalling the experience to write this review,i've never left reviews for hotels before but felt the need to if it stops at least one person from staying there.I am also going to report on the beach to abta for false advertising.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

we arrived here, been relocated as other hotels had shut for the winter,the room was excellent size for 4 adults, cleaned everyday, staff always willing to help , hotel was very clean, but a little dated, the hotel was full with all nationallities , and with meals and drinks, there was sometimes a que,food was hit and miss, but you could always find something, on the negitive side, if you had children, there was not much for them to do, there was a kids club, but again due to the season, pretty low key, entertainment was not very good, but overall if you want a cheap break, then this is the place, right on the beach,

Room Tip: room 424 great size, double bedrooms, pool and sea veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floydc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We booked this holiday for 4 adults and 2 children for a family break, there was myself and my husband and our two children then my parents. The location is fantastic for beach, shops, bars, marina, with plenty to do on your doorstep.
Good points of the hotel itself:
Clean, helpful friendly staff, rooms a good size, cleaned every day by friendly ladies, towels changed every day if you wish, hair dryer in bathroom, decent shower and full size bath, loo is in separate room which came in handy a few times with two children!
Food was lovely! A great selection and all labelled and cooked to a great standard. Always warm, a good choice for vegetarians as well as meat eaters, salad munchers and children alike! The puddings were to die for too!
Great size pool, fantastic beach front location.
Lots of outdoor seating areas and a little shaded area in the grounds too if the sun got too hot.
The snack bar was always a selection also and open plenty of hours per day to suit everyone.
Negative points are:
The hotel allows groups of teenagers to stay in rooms without adult supervision, which we found to be a little bit of a pain with noise and laser pens pointing down to families sitting outside enjoying themselves.
We asked for two rooms together, one for 4 people and one for 2 but they wanted us to take 2 rooms for 3 which would have meant the grandparents taking one child and splitting them up which we would not have so they eventually moved us to a bigger room which we should have been given first. We were told we could have two sea view rooms in an email from the hotel two days before arrival but this was not offered so we had to be split up from our family for the week, this did annoy us as we were holidaying together and after being told we could have two rooms together we asked for them to move them for 4 days but in the end we gave up.
The bar was a bit of a pain to be honest- they could never decide how many drinks you could get on a card! Sometimes it was 1 sometimes 2! Which did make the queue a lot longer than it needed to be as it doubled the people if they only allowed one drink each. At times you could queue for 10-15 minutes for your drinks, sometimes they would serve children but other times wouldn't. You could however get bottles of wine at meal times from the restaurant bar and big bottles of water, and there was one cocktail of the day which you could have as many of that one you wanted for the day!!

Overall we were very happy with the hotel and we would recommend to anyone who wanted a very good value hotel with lots locally for adults and children, and we would be happy to return next year!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckysumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Platja d'Aro hotels
0.7 mi away
H.TOP Platja Park
H.TOP Platja Park
#18 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bell Repos
Hotel Bell Repos
#4 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#3 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#8 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Caleta Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Caleta Palace

Property: H.TOP Caleta Palace
Address: Avinguda Del Cavall Bernat 122, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Caleta Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
H·TOP Caleta Palace hotel is located in the lively city of Platja d’Aro, Costa Brava (north-east coast of Spain) and has a direct access to the beach. The 300-room offer Mediterranean beach views and a relaxed environment perfect for singles, couples and families. It is situated 110 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 32 Km from Girona Airport. Platja d’Aro is a fairly small town that attracts many tourists as it has many things to do for the entire family: shops, colorful cafes, traditional Catalan restaurants, and entertainment attractions including water parks (Aqua Diver), funfairs and playgrounds. FACILITIES (COMPROBAT x Montse) Rooms • Social room (ping pong, billard, etc.) • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pool • Sun terraces Children • Miniclub • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Facilities for guests with disabilities • Car hire* • Fax & copy service* • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes* • Wi-Fi* • TV plasma • Fridge • Luggage storage • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles* • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your H.TOP Caleta Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Palace Hotel Platja d`Aro
Caleta Palace Platja d Aro
H.TOP Caleta Palace Platja D'Aro, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing