We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H.TOP Caleta Palace
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“better than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

After reading some of the reviews was very apprehensive .On appearance of the hotel when we arrived I thought oh no all the bad reviews were true but I soon found out that its 50/50 .the hotel is 3 star our room was 1 star overlooked the car park and was very cramped and dated .the pool area was good and had a beautiful view of the beach, the staff are really really friendly and helpful .the entertainment was absolute rubbish .the food was actually ok better that I had hoped the beer estrella damn was very nice in fact all the soft drinks aswell were ok so if you are all inclusive you will get your monies worth the coffee was really nice as well. we went first week in june a week or two before the season really starts and the hotel was full of old Spanish. Queues at the bar was ok but can imagine waiting along time in peak.yes the beach is full of tiny little pebbles which you do get used to and great for getting all the dead skin of ur feet nice and smooth now .we did have a good week but will not be returning . two things saved this holiday from being not very good was the snorkelling this was amazing and the fact the kids met a couple on nice kids to play with .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frank l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    293
    272
    147
    177
See reviews for
450
322
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just returned from an 8 day stay with the family at the Caleta Palace and will definitely be returning again in the future. Ignore the posts from people who pay next to nothing and expect everything.

This was the second time that we have stayed at this hotel, and £700 for 7 days all inclusive (not inc flights) for a family of 4 during May half term you certainly get a great deal.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, and all the staff in reception / bar and dinning room were very friendly and helpful.

There was always plenty of things to eat at breakfast lunch and dinner, and although its mainly a hot buffet there is also a chef cooking fresh fish / meat at the grill section. We didn't experience any queuing issues that people mention either at the restaurant or the bar.

The location is right on the beach (not sand more shingle so take swim shoes) with lovely coves that were great to swim and snorkel in. We never had an issue getting a sun lounger no matter what time we went down to the pool which is another plus point.

The room we had (428) was a large 2 bed which overlooked the car park, and although basic it was perfect for what we needed. It was cleaned every day and fresh towels supplied.

Room Tip: High floors are quieter and if a family ask for a 2 bed as much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BarryBoy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friend and i wanted a cheap relaxing week away in the sunshine so decided to book a week at the H TOP Caleta Palace. After reviewing the previous reviews on here i was not looking forward to it at all due to all of the negative reviews!! We arrived lunch time on the Saturday and couldn't believe how nice the place was! It was spotlessly clean and the staff were ever so friendly and we checked in straight away. Our room was very clean and spacious, bathroom was massive!! The balcony was huge too.

It is right on the beach, which is fine shingle and easy to walk on and comfortable to lie on with a towel. The pool is massive but not heated so quite cold but that's exactly what you need when its boiling hot!

The food was your typical all inclusive which could get samey but it was edible and if you fancy a change or are just plain fussy then there are plenty of food places within walking distance of the hotel which are cheap. There was no que whatsoever for the bars and they served wine by the bottle.

If your looking for a cheap, quiet, relaxing week away in the sunshine then i would defiantly recommend this place. Please do not listen to the previous negative reviews. For what we paid it was exactly what we wanted! People have really expected a champagne stay on a beer budget!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LucyHodges86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Rooms are very shabby, parking is 7 euros a day wifi is 5 euros a day which is a rip off, nothing to do if the weather is bad, food is ok, same old every day.some of the staff are nice most of them aren't, asked reception to get us a taxi back to the airport for the morning, when we got there it was a man in a standard silvery vauxhall car with no taxi sign or meter inside I wasn't happy at all he wasn't registered, when we got to the airport he said he was charging us 60 not 50 otherwise he was taking out bags back, absolute rip off!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saaaaam5557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Platja d'Aro hotels

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We found & booked this hotel because of the beautiful pics on the net. Well, it is situated right by the coast and the view from our balcony was simply fantastic! Parking cost of €7 per day wasn't too bad either. The reception area was very nice and posh (real 4 star quality). We didn't use the pool area which actually looked quite nice. Unfortunately our room was old and very dusty. Their white shower curtain had turned brown as it had not been changed (for years?). Also the disco downstairs kept going louder and louder until midnight which wasn't ideal to put children asleep. The dirtiness/dust on the rooms also gave me slight asthma attacks/breathing problems. Internet was also payable (first 15 mins free).. C'mon, it's 2014 and it should be free, no!?!? Breakfast was ok. There were plenty of junky options but nothing too tasty/fresh apart from fruits. This was the most expensive and also the worst hotel during our 10 day holiday at Catalonia. Unfortunately definitely NOT recommended by us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leon u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just returned from a one week stay in this hotel with my friend. We picked this hotel as it was nice and cheap and the flights were perfect. Looking at the reviews before we left we were a bit apprehensive. We need not have worried, everything was spotless, clean towels and sheets each day. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was nice and quiet for our week which is what we enjoyed. The hotel has it's own pool and beach and we spent most of our time between the both. There was always plenty of food on offer but like most all inclusive it can get a bit repetitive but the town had plenty of restaurants to choose from including a McDonalds if you fancy a change.
The bar was well stocked and we had no wait to get a drink at all. The wine was served in bottles so many a night we would take the bottle back to our room and finish off on the rather large balcony. Had a great relaxing time which was definite value for money. I would recommend it and I will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 800Anna800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here 5 - 9th may 2014. The welcome we received was superb room was ready by midday. The room was admittedly a little bit tired however very clean and tidy. With ample toiletries etc provided. Restaurant can get very busy so good idea to choose the time you eat wisely. The food was plentiful typical buffet style with an extra grill section. We were all inclusive also a good supply of daytime snacks.
The food can be bit repetitive but for sure you will not starve. The quality of beer wine etc was fine the all inclusive included named brand spirits. The pool was very good and the beach terrific it's not sand but very small stones the drop into the sea quite sharp so watch your kids on that one.
The resort of platja d ora is beautiful lots of quality stores and restaurants this really was a stunning place.easy to walk around from the well located hotel. We read reviews of this hotel prior to travel and in summary hotel staff were friendly and helpful location great we took a taxi from Girona airport it costs Approx 50 euro each way takes about half hour so easy. Would go back and will recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pool/beach view would be lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank colinbfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Platja d'Aro hotels
0.7 mi away
H.TOP Platja Park
H.TOP Platja Park
#18 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bell Repos
Hotel Bell Repos
#4 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#3 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#8 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Caleta Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Caleta Palace

Property: H.TOP Caleta Palace
Address: Avinguda Del Cavall Bernat 122, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Caleta Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
H·TOP Caleta Palace hotel is located in the lively city of Platja d’Aro, Costa Brava (north-east coast of Spain) and has a direct access to the beach. The 300-room offer Mediterranean beach views and a relaxed environment perfect for singles, couples and families. It is situated 110 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 32 Km from Girona Airport. Platja d’Aro is a fairly small town that attracts many tourists as it has many things to do for the entire family: shops, colorful cafes, traditional Catalan restaurants, and entertainment attractions including water parks (Aqua Diver), funfairs and playgrounds. FACILITIES (COMPROBAT x Montse) Rooms • Social room (ping pong, billard, etc.) • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pool • Sun terraces Children • Miniclub • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Facilities for guests with disabilities • Car hire* • Fax & copy service* • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes* • Wi-Fi* • TV plasma • Fridge • Luggage storage • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles* • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your H.TOP Caleta Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Palace Hotel Platja d`Aro
Caleta Palace Platja d Aro
H.TOP Caleta Palace Platja D'Aro, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing